Question
Reply
 
Highlighted
Honor Student
Posts: 3
Member Since: ‎09-22-2009
Message 1 of 8 (8,227 Views)

Can I change OS on t510 from Windows Embedded CE to ThinPro?

I've got som t510's running Windows Embedded CE 6.0, which doesn't suit my purpose that well. Can I change OS to ThinPro on these clients just by "flashing"  a new image to the client, or are there any licensing issues that will prevent this? Do I have to buy ThinPro from somewhere?

 

Best regards,

John Martin

 

Reply
0
Teacher
Posts: 111
Member Since: ‎05-13-2013
Message 2 of 8 (8,209 Views)

Re: Can I change OS on t510 from Windows Embedded CE to ThinPro?

For ThinPro, you shouldn't have any licensing issues. You can just download the image and flash. The image can be downloaded from the Support & Drivers section of hp.com
Tutor
Posts: 14
Member Since: ‎09-24-2012
Message 3 of 8 (8,192 Views)

Re: Can I change OS on t510 from Windows Embedded CE to ThinPro?

You should be able to flash these without issue to either ThinPro or Smart Zero.  If you wanted to move towards WES7 or another flavor of WES, then the licensing from MS may get a little tricky. 

Teacher
Posts: 104
Member Since: ‎11-20-2008
Message 4 of 8 (8,188 Views)

Re: Can I change OS on t510 from Windows Embedded CE to ThinPro?

You can flash one unit with ThinPro for the t510 from hp.com and capture it via HP DM 4.5 SP-2 to deploy it to the other units without issues. It only doesn't work when you want to go to WES 7/8 because of licensing issues.
I am an HP Employee.
My opinions are my own and do not express those of HP.
**Click the Thumps Up Button on the right to say Thanks**
Honor Student
Posts: 2
Member Since: ‎11-27-2013
Message 5 of 8 (7,770 Views)

Re: Can I change OS on t510 from Windows Embedded CE to ThinPro?

I have some t510 units that have WES, and I want to change them to ThinPro.  I see that I can download the image.  What is the process?  My apologies, but I am new to the thin client environment.  

Thanks!

Teacher
Posts: 104
Member Since: ‎11-20-2008
Message 6 of 8 (7,542 Views)

Re: Can I change OS on t510 from Windows Embedded CE to ThinPro?

When you download the image it comes with a Installation routine on which you can choose deploy to a USB key for example.
When it deploys it on the USB key you can put the key into a Thin Client and boot it from there which flashes your unit to ThinPro. You can do the same to the other units. If you have many units you could flash one unit via the USB key and then capture and deploy this image via HP Device Manager from www.hp.com/go/hpdm
I am an HP Employee.
My opinions are my own and do not express those of HP.
**Click the Thumps Up Button on the right to say Thanks**
Honor Student
Posts: 4
Member Since: ‎10-05-2014
Message 7 of 8 (4,856 Views)

Re: Can I change OS on t510 from Windows Embedded CE to ThinPro?

There is possible to reflash and revert back to WinEmb from e.g. Smart Zero?

How do this?

Intern
Posts: 31
Member Since: ‎11-24-2014
Message 8 of 8 (4,852 Views)

Re: Can I change OS on t510 from Windows Embedded CE to ThinPro?

Hi Jarko,

 

of course you can.

Either do a Backup of the original OS to a USB Key using preinstalled HP Software or the "better" solution:

Install HP Device Manager (http://h20565.www2.hp.com/portal/site/hpsc/public/psi/home?sp4ts.oid=3646216&ac.admitted=14229770853... discover the Thinclient, backup the image and flash it using HPDM with ThinPro/Smart Zero.

 

If it doesn´t fit your needs simply flash it back to the previsously backed up Windows CE (or whatever).

 

 

Daniel

† The opinions expressed above are the personal opinions of the authors, not of HP. By using this site, you accept the Terms of Use and Rules of Participation