Information
    Windows update impacting certain printer icons and names. Microsoft is working on a solution.
    Click here to learn more
    Information
    Need Windows 11 help?
    Check documents on compatibility, FAQs, upgrade information and available fixes.
    Windows 11 Support Center.
  • post a message
    Information
    Windows update impacting certain printer icons and names. Microsoft is working on a solution.
    Click here to learn more
    Information
    Need Windows 11 help?
    Check documents on compatibility, FAQs, upgrade information and available fixes.
    Windows 11 Support Center.
  • post a message
Guidelines
The HP Community is where owners of HP products, like you, volunteer to help each other find solutions.
Archived This topic has been archived. Information and links in this thread may no longer be available or relevant. If you have a question create a new topic by clicking here and select the appropriate board.
HP Recommended

I'm studying for a business finance exam and need to know how to calculate the sample covariance in relation to securities on my calculator. I have entered the data necessary to calculate the mean return using the instructions from the

Mean, Standard Deviations, and Summation Statistics section of the manual. However i can't figure out how to use my calculator to quickly calculate the sample covariance. Any help or advice would be greatly appreciated. 🙂

6 REPLIES 6
HP Recommended

Let us take the following example:

http://www.wikihow.com/Calculate-Covariance

When all data is put into the calculator, you have MEAN(x), MEAN(y) and SUM(xy) provided by the calculator.

For the following (to help me type quicker) the "^" is blue upshift and "v" is orange downshift.

You can now calculate:

^ n - 1 = v 1/x * v ( ^ SUM(xy) - v ( ^ n * v MEAN(x,y) * v MEAN(x,y) v SWAP v ) v ) =

(you will actually get the answer -8.06944...  as n*mean(x)*mean(y) = 239.555' and not 239.41).

Key sequence as a picture:

Eq1.gif