Question
Reply
 
Student
picatinny
Posts: 1
Member Since: ‎08-23-2011
Message 1 of 9 (6,618 Views)
Accepted Solution

AMD Radeon 6450 with dual DVI monitors

just bought a new HP Pavilion p7qe with a AMD Radeon 6450 video card.  How do I run 2 DVI monitors? I tried a DVI digital dual link splitter, no dice. I ordered a multi monitor hub adapter, DP to DVI 3......that wont work.  HELP!

Provost
Big_Dave
Posts: 20,471
Member Since: ‎07-17-2009
Message 2 of 9 (6,607 Views)

Re: AMD Radeon 6450 with dual DVI monitors

Hi,

 

The Radeon 6450 on your PC has three ports; DVI, HDMI and VGA according to the configurator.  Please verify that information.

 

You can use a DVI  to HDMI cable. www.pccables.com You might want to consider an adapter (DVI-HDMI).  I don't recommend adapters as they add more points of failure.

 

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
HP e9280t, i7-960, 12GB, Vertex 3 120, ATI 4850
HP DV9700, t9300, Nvidia 8600, 4GB, Crucial C300 128GB SSD
HP Photosmart Premium C309G, HP Photosmart 6520
HP Touchpad
Custom i7-4770k,Z-87, 8GB, Vertex 3 SSD, Samsung EVO SSD, Corsair HX650,GTX 760
Custom i7-4790k,Z-97, 16GB, Vertex 3 SSD, Plextor M.2 SSD, Samsung EVO SSD, Corsair HX650, GTX 660TI
Windows 7/8 UEFI/Legacy mode, MBR/GPT
Student
thorntongl1
Posts: 1
Member Since: ‎12-02-2011
Message 3 of 9 (6,332 Views)

Re: AMD Radeon 6450 with dual DVI monitors

Hi,

 

I have the same issue that you responded back to the other user.  But the Radeon HD 6450 that HP installed in my PC does not have a VGA port.  But I'm not worried about that too much.  But my main monitor is a HP 2311x (which has a DVI, VGA and HDMI input) and my second monitor is a HP 2011x (which only has a DVI and VGA input).  How would you recommend that I connect these 2 monitors?  Can I use an HDMI for my main monitor connection and then a DVI for my second monitor?  I'm just so use to using video splitters, but the research that I've read thus far all seem to indicate that it will not work for me.  If anyone has any ideas as to how best to set this up, I would greatly appreciate your help.

 

Kind Regards,

Glenn

Provost
Big_Dave
Posts: 20,471
Member Since: ‎07-17-2009
Message 4 of 9 (6,323 Views)

Re: AMD Radeon 6450 with dual DVI monitors

[ Edited ]

Hi Glenn,

 

There have been problems reported with some models of the HP 2x11x and HDMI.    Check with HP Support if you have any issues using HDMI.

 

If the Radeon 6450 has DVI and HDMI then you should be OK.

 

Connect the HP 2311x via HDMI and make sure that it works before try the other monitor.

 

Connect the HP 2011x via DVI and make sure that it works.

 

The maximum resolution of the 2011x is only 1600 by 900 and the 2311x is 1920 by 1080. For a continuous extended desktop, you will need to set the resolution on the 2311x to that of the 2011x.

 

This dual monitor article should be helpful.

 

And yes, get rid of those splitters.

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
HP e9280t, i7-960, 12GB, Vertex 3 120, ATI 4850
HP DV9700, t9300, Nvidia 8600, 4GB, Crucial C300 128GB SSD
HP Photosmart Premium C309G, HP Photosmart 6520
HP Touchpad
Custom i7-4770k,Z-87, 8GB, Vertex 3 SSD, Samsung EVO SSD, Corsair HX650,GTX 760
Custom i7-4790k,Z-97, 16GB, Vertex 3 SSD, Plextor M.2 SSD, Samsung EVO SSD, Corsair HX650, GTX 660TI
Windows 7/8 UEFI/Legacy mode, MBR/GPT
Student
AuroraJeff
Posts: 1
Member Since: ‎02-24-2012
Message 5 of 9 (5,720 Views)

Re: AMD Radeon 6450 with dual DVI monitors

I recently upgraded my HP computer to a new hp provided AMD Radeon HD 6450.  It has a HDMI and DVI port, however I am unable to determine what type of hdmi cable it uses it is certainly not a standard one.  Upon reading the documentation from AMD, it appears that this card is capable of handling 4 monitors not just 2.  What kind of hdmi is the port and where can I get it from, and is there a splitter cable for the HDMI?

Provost
Big_Dave
Posts: 20,471
Member Since: ‎07-17-2009
Message 6 of 9 (5,583 Views)

Re: AMD Radeon 6450 with dual DVI monitors

Hi,

 

You need a AMD 6450 with a Display Port  that supports DisplayPort 1.2 Multi-Stream Transport to support four monitors.

 

Forget about using adapters and splitters with DVI and HDMI.  You can buy native DVI and HDMI cables here.

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
HP e9280t, i7-960, 12GB, Vertex 3 120, ATI 4850
HP DV9700, t9300, Nvidia 8600, 4GB, Crucial C300 128GB SSD
HP Photosmart Premium C309G, HP Photosmart 6520
HP Touchpad
Custom i7-4770k,Z-87, 8GB, Vertex 3 SSD, Samsung EVO SSD, Corsair HX650,GTX 760
Custom i7-4790k,Z-97, 16GB, Vertex 3 SSD, Plextor M.2 SSD, Samsung EVO SSD, Corsair HX650, GTX 660TI
Windows 7/8 UEFI/Legacy mode, MBR/GPT
Honor Student
MaeV
Posts: 2
Member Since: ‎06-04-2012
Message 7 of 9 (5,093 Views)

Re: AMD Radeon 6450 with dual DVI monitors

I am trying to setup my computer with dual monitor.  I have the AMD Radeon 6450.  I currently have my HPw2007 hooked up using the VGA port (although I do see that it also have a DVI port on the back).  I am wanting to hook up an old monitor that only has a VGA port.  I was told that I needed to get a new video card.  Based on what I've read the video card that I have should work.  So, what do I need to do to set up the dual monitors for extension view?  I mainly need it for work and no gaming.  Thanks!

Associate Professor
vnyga
Posts: 1,582
Member Since: ‎05-17-2011
Message 8 of 9 (5,080 Views)

Re: AMD Radeon 6450 with dual DVI monitors

> I have the AMD Radeon 6450
Well, which manufactorer?
Which outputs do you have?
A card with several outputs can run several monitors.
I would run the current vga cable with the old monitor (I think it's easy to check if it works) and use the other port to the dvi port of the w2007.

V.
*** Say 'Thanks' with Kudos ***
Honor Student
MaeV
Posts: 2
Member Since: ‎06-04-2012
Message 9 of 9 (5,066 Views)

Re: AMD Radeon 6450 with dual DVI monitors

I have a Dell XPS 8300.  There is a DVI-D, HDMI & VGA port on the video card.  I'll try what you suggested unless you have any other suggestions.  Thanks!

† The opinions expressed above are the personal opinions of the authors, not of HP. By using this site, you accept the Terms of Use and Rules of Participation