Re: Can I add a third monitor to my p6230y? (1274 Views)
Reply
Honor Student
Ksberrytrader
Posts: 3
Member Since: ‎12-13-2011
Message 1 of 14 (1,347 Views)
Accepted Solution

Can I add a third monitor to my p6230y?

Is it possible to add a third monitor to my HP Pavilion p6230y? I currently have two monitors connected to the computer via the ATI Radeon HD 4200 integrated display adapter that came with the computer but would like to add a third monitor to extend my desktop. One of the Geek Squad guys told me that an XFX One video card and an HP S2031 monitor would do what I want but I'm concerned that the additional video card will conflict with/disable the existing ATI display adapter. Also, the power supply is 300W and I'm wondering if I will need to upgrade that too. I don't know if it matters but I am running the 64-bit Windows 7 Home edition. Any help would be much appreciated.

Grad Student
MikeTechMan
Posts: 169
Member Since: ‎07-24-2011
Message 2 of 14 (1,343 Views)

Re: Can I add a third monitor to my p6230y?

Hello,

 

Yes that's correct if you upgrade your video card, you have to upgrade your power supply.

 

 

Example: XFX Radeon HD 6870, does support 3 monitors eyefinity.
to run 3 monitors (2 DP, 1 DVI-VGA)

 

Integrated Graphics Radeon HD 4200 is automatically disabled if a video card is installed thru pci express x16 slot.

 

 

 Hope this helps?

 


 



Clicking the "Kudos star" to the left is a great way to say thanks!

When your problem has been solved, accept the solution by clicking the "Accept as Solution" button to help other members in the future!

Honor Student
Ksberrytrader
Posts: 3
Member Since: ‎12-13-2011
Message 3 of 14 (1,338 Views)

Re: Can I add a third monitor to my p6230y?

Thanks for the fast reply Mike. Just to make sure I understand, there really isn't a way to run multiple monitors using the ATI HD4200 graphics card and adding an additional graphics card, correct? I think you're saying I need to install a new graphics card that has 3 connections itself (along with an upgraded power supply), right?

 

Now I'm wondering about future expandability - what if I wanted to add an additional monitor in the future? Would I be able to add another graphics card (configuration would be ATI HD4200 disabled, one graphics card running 3 monitors, and another graphics card running an additional 1, 2, or 3 monitors)? Am I just trying to do too much with my existing computer and need to get a different one that is intended to support 3 or more monitors?

 

Thanks again for your help!

Provost
Big_Dave
Posts: 19,820
Member Since: ‎07-17-2009
Message 4 of 14 (1,330 Views)

Re: Can I add a third monitor to my p6230y?

Hi,

 

Watch this video on the ATI 6870.  It will support four monitors as recommended from the previous post.

 

One video card is your answer.

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
HP e9280t, i7-960, 12GB, Vertex 3 120, ATI 4850
HP DV9700, t9300, Nvidia 8600, 4GB, Crucial C300 128GB SSD
HP Photosmart Premium C309G, HP Photosmart 6520
HP Touchpad
Custom i7-4770k, 8GB, Vertex 3 SSD, Samsung EVO SSD, Corsair HX650,GTX 760
Custom i7-3770k, 8GB, Vertex 3 SSD, Samsung EVO SSD, Corsair HX650, GTX 660TI
Windows 7/8 UEFI/Legacy mode, MBR/GPT
Top Student
jgottesmann
Posts: 5
Member Since: ‎12-26-2011
Message 5 of 14 (1,286 Views)

Re: Can I add a third monitor to my p6230y?

I am also trying to figure out the best way to run three monitors on this computer. The p6230y  i believe has a motherboard  that only has a pci X 16 slot and 3 pci x 1 slots and pci e X 1 mini card slot  and does  not have a  pcie x16 slot. So will it be capable of supporting an eyefinity video card because all of them seam to be running

through a pci e slot? I am trying to buy the right video card for this computer to support three monitors 

and dont want to buy the wrong card. Any help will be greatly appreciated thanks. 

Provost
lasvegaswireman
Posts: 8,138
Member Since: ‎07-16-2011
Message 6 of 14 (1,279 Views)

Re: Can I add a third monitor to my p6230y?

@jgottesmann...

 

Your p6230y uses a HP H-RS880-uATX (Aloe) motherboard and it does in fact have 1 PCIe x16 slot, 3 PCIe x1 slots, and 1 PCIe minicard slot. HP's specs tend to be filled with errors and you have read multiple documents and view several photos of the same item to guess what HP meant.

 

So, if you want to support 3 or 4 monitors as in the case of the OP, following the advice in this thread should work just fine for you. A nice new AMD/ATI HD series graphics card that supports 4 or so monitors and a new PSU to the cards power requirements.

 

Frank


Frank
{------------ Please click the "White Kudos" Thumbs Up to say THANKS for helping.
Please click the "Accept As Solution" on my post, if my assistance has solved your issue. ------------V

This is a user supported forum. I am a volunteer and I don't work for HP.

HP 15t-j100 (on loan from HP)
HP 13 Split x2 (on loan from HP)
HP Slate8 Pro (on loan from HP)
HP a1632x - Windows 7, 4GB RAM, AMD Radeon HD 6450
HP p6130y - Windows 7, 8GB RAM, AMD Radeon HD 6450
HP p6320y - Windows 7, 8GB RAM, NVIDIA GT 240
HP p7-1026 - Windows 7, 6GB RAM, AMD Radeon HD 6450
HP p6787c - Windows 7, 8GB RAM, NVIDIA GT 240
Top Student
jgottesmann
Posts: 5
Member Since: ‎12-26-2011
Message 7 of 14 (1,274 Views)

Re: Can I add a third monitor to my p6230y?

Thanks for the clarification, it seems the more research i do the more confusing it is. So right now according to what i understand i can buy a card supporting pci e 2.0 or 2.1 X 16 video card, but will have to up my psu to meet the cards requirements. Also just learned about the dvi splitter which seems like a cheap option for three displays but will the current video card on the motherboard support that or not. Again thanks for the help been trying to find the answers to these question for the past week thru google but seem to get more confused with the more knowledge i get.

Provost
lasvegaswireman
Posts: 8,138
Member Since: ‎07-16-2011
Message 8 of 14 (1,266 Views)

Re: Can I add a third monitor to my p6230y?

[ Edited ]

Any DVI splitter, be it passive (cable) or active (box), will only display the same image (clone) on each of the monitors. This defeats the purpose of having 3 or 4 monitors to spread (extend) your windows over. Using a spliiter means you have the same image on all 3 monitors, while using a graphics card and extending your desktop across 3 monitors allows you to have a speadsheet on one, a webpage on another, and say photo editing software on the last. This is just an example... it could be anything on those three monitors.

 

Frank


Frank
{------------ Please click the "White Kudos" Thumbs Up to say THANKS for helping.
Please click the "Accept As Solution" on my post, if my assistance has solved your issue. ------------V

This is a user supported forum. I am a volunteer and I don't work for HP.

HP 15t-j100 (on loan from HP)
HP 13 Split x2 (on loan from HP)
HP Slate8 Pro (on loan from HP)
HP a1632x - Windows 7, 4GB RAM, AMD Radeon HD 6450
HP p6130y - Windows 7, 8GB RAM, AMD Radeon HD 6450
HP p6320y - Windows 7, 8GB RAM, NVIDIA GT 240
HP p7-1026 - Windows 7, 6GB RAM, AMD Radeon HD 6450
HP p6787c - Windows 7, 8GB RAM, NVIDIA GT 240
Top Student
jgottesmann
Posts: 5
Member Since: ‎12-26-2011
Message 9 of 14 (1,263 Views)

Re: Can I add a third monitor to my p6230y?

[ Edited ]

Thanks for the help. So basically i can get 2.0 or 2.1 X16 video card and the proper psu and that will work on the comp. Also for the video cards does it need to have a display port or can u have three monitors using an hdmi dvi and vga. One of my monitors is display port and hdmi capable  but the others are older and have dsub ports only.

 

So would this card work

 

DIAMOND 6770PE51GB Radeon HD 6770 1GB 128-bit GDDR5 PCI Express 2.1 x16 HDCP Ready CrossFireX Support Video Card

 

seems to have a display port, hdmi and 2 dvi's. It looks like it takes up two pci spots physically but only uses one

so i can get this card and simply up my psu to support it?  Thanks for the help again.

 

Provost
lasvegaswireman
Posts: 8,138
Member Since: ‎07-16-2011
Message 10 of 14 (1,240 Views)

Re: Can I add a third monitor to my p6230y?

It appears that it should work. AMD requires the use of the DisplayPort to use more than two monitors. It would guess your setup would be 1 x DisplayPort, 2 x VGA (using 2 DVI-to-VGA adpters). You will need a 450 - 500watt power supply as recommended by both AMD and Diamond Multimedia. The Corsair CX500 and CX600 seem to be a forum favorite.

 

Frank


Frank
{------------ Please click the "White Kudos" Thumbs Up to say THANKS for helping.
Please click the "Accept As Solution" on my post, if my assistance has solved your issue. ------------V

This is a user supported forum. I am a volunteer and I don't work for HP.

HP 15t-j100 (on loan from HP)
HP 13 Split x2 (on loan from HP)
HP Slate8 Pro (on loan from HP)
HP a1632x - Windows 7, 4GB RAM, AMD Radeon HD 6450
HP p6130y - Windows 7, 8GB RAM, AMD Radeon HD 6450
HP p6320y - Windows 7, 8GB RAM, NVIDIA GT 240
HP p7-1026 - Windows 7, 6GB RAM, AMD Radeon HD 6450
HP p6787c - Windows 7, 8GB RAM, NVIDIA GT 240
† The opinions expressed above are the personal opinions of the authors, not of HP. By using this site, you accept the Terms of Use and Rules of Participation