Dual monitors on, connected, detected; but only the primary displays (33444 Views)
Reply
Intern
SunHiker
Posts: 27
Registered: ‎12-26-2010
Message 1 of 16 (33,444 Views)

Dual monitors on, connected, detected; but only the primary displays

HP Pavilion p6650z PC with NVIDIA GeForce GT 240, Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit.  Identical ViewSonic monitors, both work fine in dual mode on old XP box. 

 

On the HP box, though both monitors are connected (one directly to the DVI port and the other to the VGA port with an adapter), only the primary monitor (direct connection) displays.  Both monitors are detected, and both are set to Extend.  In other words, all the settings look fine, and according to the NVIDIA control panel, I have the latest graphics driver.  But the secondary monitor is completely blank.  Yes, it is turned on.  If I try to move a window to it, the window simply disappears off the primary monitor.

 

How can I get the second monitor to display?

Provost
Big_Dave
Posts: 18,848
Registered: ‎07-17-2009
Message 2 of 16 (33,426 Views)

Re: Dual monitors on, connected, detected; but only the primary displays

[ Edited ]

Hi Sunhiker,

 

Try the article and see if it helps.

 

Is it the secondary monitor using the adapter that is not working?  What is the input source in the monitor set to for input type?

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
HP e9280t, i7-960, 12GB, Vertex 3 120, ATI 4850
HP DV9700, t9300, Nvidia 8600, 4GB, Crucial C300 128GB SSD
HP Photosmart Premium C309G, HP Photosmart 6520
HP Touchpad
Custom i7-4770k, 8GB, Vertex 3 SSD, Samsung EVO SSD, Corsair HX650,GTX 760
Custom i7-3770k, 8GB, Vertex 3 SSD, Samsung EVO SSD, Corsair HX650, GTX 660TI
Windows 7/8 UEFI/Legacy mode, MBR/GPT
Intern
SunHiker
Posts: 27
Registered: ‎12-26-2010
Message 3 of 16 (33,410 Views)

Re: Dual monitors on, connected, detected; but only the primary displays

 


Big_Dave wrote:

Hi Sunhiker,

 

Try the article and see if it helps.

 

Is it the secondary monigor using the adapter that is not working?  What is the input source in the monitor set to for input type?


 

It is the secondary monitor that is not working.  I'm not sure how to determine what is the "input source in the monitor".  None of the quirky side buttons on the monitor itself function in the absence of a signal. 

 

IIRC, these monitors were supposed to be usable either in VGA or DVI mode; I bought them a couple of years ago.  Instead of an adapter, should I use a VGA cable?  There is a second port on each monitor, and it might well be a VGA port.  Hard to tell without standing them on their heads, a challenge for those of us with bad backs.  But it looks like the right size and shape.

 

--C

Provost
Big_Dave
Posts: 18,848
Registered: ‎07-17-2009
Message 4 of 16 (33,400 Views)

Re: Dual monitors on, connected, detected; but only the primary displays

Hi,

 

This is a VGA cable.

 

.VGA cable.jpg

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
HP e9280t, i7-960, 12GB, Vertex 3 120, ATI 4850
HP DV9700, t9300, Nvidia 8600, 4GB, Crucial C300 128GB SSD
HP Photosmart Premium C309G, HP Photosmart 6520
HP Touchpad
Custom i7-4770k, 8GB, Vertex 3 SSD, Samsung EVO SSD, Corsair HX650,GTX 760
Custom i7-3770k, 8GB, Vertex 3 SSD, Samsung EVO SSD, Corsair HX650, GTX 660TI
Windows 7/8 UEFI/Legacy mode, MBR/GPT
Intern
SunHiker
Posts: 27
Registered: ‎12-26-2010
Message 5 of 16 (33,394 Views)

Re: Dual monitors on, connected, detected; but only the primary displays

 


Big_Dave wrote:

Hi,

 

This is a VGA cable.

 

.VGA cable.jpg


 

Yes, that looks like the same connector.  Are you suggesting that to get the secondary monitor working I need to use its VGA port instead of the DVI port, and connect that to the VGA port on the graphics card?  In other words, using a VGA to DVI adapter on the graphics card was not the way to go?  I'll have to go buy a VGA cable.

 

--C

Provost
Big_Dave
Posts: 18,848
Registered: ‎07-17-2009
Message 6 of 16 (33,374 Views)

Re: Dual monitors on, connected, detected; but only the primary displays

[ Edited ]

Hi,

 

Are you running the latest NVIDIA driver?

 

Go into the Control Panel ---> Nvidia Control Panel then locate Setup up Multiple Monitors.  Is the second monitor shown? If no, then in the same window click on the blue link --> my display is not shown and try the Rigorous Display Detection.

 

If both monitors are detected then check the resolution settings for the second monitor.

 

Were you using a different video card or connection type on your old XP PC?

 

You might try a Viewsonic monitor reset. I don't know how Viewsonic does it but on a HP monitor you unplug the monitor power cord and hold down the power button for 30-60 seconds.

 

If your GT 240 has the HDMI port then you might want to consider a HDMI to DVI adapter or use a prebuilt HDMI-->DVI cable for your second monitor connection.

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
HP e9280t, i7-960, 12GB, Vertex 3 120, ATI 4850
HP DV9700, t9300, Nvidia 8600, 4GB, Crucial C300 128GB SSD
HP Photosmart Premium C309G, HP Photosmart 6520
HP Touchpad
Custom i7-4770k, 8GB, Vertex 3 SSD, Samsung EVO SSD, Corsair HX650,GTX 760
Custom i7-3770k, 8GB, Vertex 3 SSD, Samsung EVO SSD, Corsair HX650, GTX 660TI
Windows 7/8 UEFI/Legacy mode, MBR/GPT
Intern
SunHiker
Posts: 27
Registered: ‎12-26-2010
Message 7 of 16 (33,364 Views)

Re: Dual monitors on, connected, detected; but only the primary displays

 


Big_Dave wrote:

Hi,

 

Are you running the latest NVIDIA driver?

 

Go into the Control Panel ---> Nvidia Control Panel then locate Setup up Multiple Monitors.  Is the second monitor shown? If no, then in the same window click on the blue link --> my display is not shown and try the Rigorous Display Detection.

 

If both monitors are detected then check the resolution settings for the second monitor.

 

Were you using a different video card or connection type on your old XP PC?

 

You might try a Viewsonic monitor reset. I don't know how Viewsonic does it but on a HP monitor you unplug hte monitor power cord and hold down the power button for 30-60 seconds.

 

If your GT 240 has the HDMI port then you might want to consider a HDMI to DVI adapter or use a prebuilt HDMI-->DVI cable for your second monitor connection.


 

Yes, I had already downloaded the latest driver from NVIDIA and installed it:

 

Version: 266.58 WHQL Release Date: 2011.01.18

 

The second monitor is shown just fine in the NVIDIA control panel.  Both are detected, both show the same native resolution, though the choice of resolutions is a longer list for the secondary monitor.

 

The video card on my XP system has two DVI ports.  The GT 240 on my W7 system  has one DVI and one VGA port.  I was hoping I could get away with just using a VGA to DVI adapter on the VGA port, and continue using the DVI cable.

 

It was someone on this board who recommended the GT 240 when I inquired what video card with two ports would work with my nice new HP system.  I guess I should have been more specific.  Based on what's in my XP system, I just assumed the card would have two DVI ports. 

 

--C

Provost
Big_Dave
Posts: 18,848
Registered: ‎07-17-2009
Message 8 of 16 (33,360 Views)

Re: Dual monitors on, connected, detected; but only the primary displays

[ Edited ]

Sunhiker,

 

I have the EVGA GT 240 1GB DDR5 in one of my PCs and it's a card that I frequently recommend for PCs with 300+ watt power supplies.

 

www.pccables.com has cheap cables that work.

 

Your GT 240 has a total of three ports, right ? (DVI,HDMI and VGA)

 

 

Open up your PC and read the label on the PSU. What is the total wattage and the amperage on the 12+ volt bus?

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
HP e9280t, i7-960, 12GB, Vertex 3 120, ATI 4850
HP DV9700, t9300, Nvidia 8600, 4GB, Crucial C300 128GB SSD
HP Photosmart Premium C309G, HP Photosmart 6520
HP Touchpad
Custom i7-4770k, 8GB, Vertex 3 SSD, Samsung EVO SSD, Corsair HX650,GTX 760
Custom i7-3770k, 8GB, Vertex 3 SSD, Samsung EVO SSD, Corsair HX650, GTX 660TI
Windows 7/8 UEFI/Legacy mode, MBR/GPT
Intern
SunHiker
Posts: 27
Registered: ‎12-26-2010
Message 9 of 16 (33,349 Views)

Re: Dual monitors on, connected, detected; but only the primary displays

Um, no, the video card has only two ports: DVI and VGA.  Awkward to open the case right now; instead I'll try to check the specs for this model, the p6650z.

 

--C

 

Provost
Big_Dave
Posts: 18,848
Registered: ‎07-17-2009
Message 10 of 16 (33,345 Views)

Re: Dual monitors on, connected, detected; but only the primary displays

Hi,

 

I have never seen a two port GT 240.  Who made that card?

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
HP e9280t, i7-960, 12GB, Vertex 3 120, ATI 4850
HP DV9700, t9300, Nvidia 8600, 4GB, Crucial C300 128GB SSD
HP Photosmart Premium C309G, HP Photosmart 6520
HP Touchpad
Custom i7-4770k, 8GB, Vertex 3 SSD, Samsung EVO SSD, Corsair HX650,GTX 760
Custom i7-3770k, 8GB, Vertex 3 SSD, Samsung EVO SSD, Corsair HX650, GTX 660TI
Windows 7/8 UEFI/Legacy mode, MBR/GPT
† The opinions expressed above are the personal opinions of the authors, not of HP. By using this site, you accept the Terms of Use and Rules of Participation