How to Change the Resolution on the Monitor? Model HP 2011X- (20" flat screen monitor) (409 Views)
Reply
Student
IE_PC_User
Posts: 1
Member Since: ‎12-26-2012
Message 1 of 4 (409 Views)

How to Change the Resolution on the Monitor? Model HP 2011X- (20" flat screen monitor)

[ Edited ]

"input signal out of range, change settings to 1600 x 900 -60HZ" How to make this change?

 

I have a HP desktop PC and I recently purchased a HP 2011X  (20" flat monitor). Initially, I hooked it up to the pc and it worked and I did not have to install anything. But the other day, I ran the Microsoft's Fix-it-Center and ran the resolution problem detection even though I did not have any problem with the resolution. Within 5 seconds, a dark black screen appeared with the following message:

 

INPUT SIGNAL OUT OF RANGE

CHANGE SETTINGS TO

1600 X 900 - 60HZ

 

It displays this message and then the monitor goes to sleep. I press the buttons at the bottom of the monitor and from time to time, it displays a resolution screen that shows the monitor's resolution is not 1600 x 900 but that HP recommends that setting. However, I cannot change anything and that small screen with black background disappears in a few seconds. I cannot see anything else and I have tried the following:

 

- Turned the PC on and off several times and the message is still there

- Unplugged the power to the monitor and re-plugged it and no change

- Unplugges the video cable from the PC to the monitor and re-plugged it and nothing

 

Please help. I cannot see the PC screens at all even though the PC is on. All I see is the black background screen with white text with the above message. How do I fix this when I cannot see the Windows screen or from the monitor.

 

Thanks,

 

Bob

Distinguished Professor
HardBeatZ
Posts: 3,551
Member Since: ‎05-31-2012
Message 2 of 4 (375 Views)

HP 2011X- "input signal out of range, change settings to 1600 x 900 -60HZ" Cannot change resolution

Hello IE_PC_User,

Let's try to get your computer to the boot options and go into VGA mode to see if you can change the resolution then.

Start up your computer and start tapping away at the F8 key.

Once the computer presents you with the boot options choose the VGA mdoe.

It should boot up and everything look really out of place. Set the proper resolution and then reboot.
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
If I have helped you in any way click the Kudos button to say Thanks.
The community works together, click Accept as Solution on the post that solves your issue for other members of the community to benefit from the solution.
- Friendship is magical.
Distinguished Professor
HardBeatZ
Posts: 3,551
Member Since: ‎05-31-2012
Message 3 of 4 (363 Views)

HP 2011X- "input signal out of range, change settings to 1600 x 900 -60HZ" Cannot change resolution

Hello IE_PC_User,

Was the solution mentioned able to help resolve your issue?
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
If I have helped you in any way click the Kudos button to say Thanks.
The community works together, click Accept as Solution on the post that solves your issue for other members of the community to benefit from the solution.
- Friendship is magical.
Associate Professor
vnyga
Posts: 1,565
Member Since: ‎05-17-2011
Message 4 of 4 (351 Views)

Re: HP 2011X- "input signal out of range, change settings to 1600 x 900 -60HZ" Can

Boot in 'safe mode', then change resolution to the required one.
*** Say 'Thanks' with Kudos ***
† The opinions expressed above are the personal opinions of the authors, not of HP. By using this site, you accept the Terms of Use and Rules of Participation