How to have zr2740w running at higher resolution on one mac book air (intel 3000) under lion? (6536 Views)
Reply
Honor Student
Pierre9107
Posts: 4
Member Since: ‎10-28-2011
Message 1 of 12 (6,536 Views)

How to have zr2740w running at higher resolution on one mac book air (intel 3000) under lion?

[ Edited ]

Hello

I just got a brand new ZR2740W display wich have no OSD access. On my MacBook Air under the last Mac OSx Lion, i have only the choice between 800x600 and 1280x720

 

There is no mac driver on the delivered CD. And no "HP Display Assistant" too.

 

Please, how to get an higher resolution, or the full 2560 x 1440 pixels resolution?

 

Thanks.

 

Pierre

 

Add : Tried on a N61J Asus laptop with Windows and a GT320M : Same problem. It seems that if 2560 x 1440 can't be accepted, the ZR2740W  display can't take an intermediate resolution and falls until 1280x720 pixels resolution...

 

Trying now on a regular PC with an nvidia classic PCI card... and if it fail too, this beautiful display may return to the distributor...

Student
lpotgieter
Posts: 1
Member Since: ‎10-30-2011
Message 2 of 12 (6,514 Views)

Re: How to have zr2740w running at higher resolution on one mac book air (intel 3000) under lion?

Any luck with this yet? I'm having the same issue.

Honor Student
Pierre9107
Posts: 4
Member Since: ‎10-28-2011
Message 3 of 12 (6,502 Views)

Re: How to have zr2740w running at higher resolution on one mac book air (intel 3000) under lion?

[ Edited ]

I don't have time for the moment, but now i think i know why i have this problem: In fact, when you want more than 1920x 1200  pixels on a display, you need to have a card able to manage and agregate 2 TDMS emitters, up to 330 MHz. Dual-link cards do this.

 

For example, i think that the Apple cinema display or thunderbolt display have this dual controler inside, and it runs fine on an apple MacBook Air.

 

So to have the HP display running on my MacBook Air, i think i need an intermediate box like sonnet having a dual-link graphic card inside. Searching...

 

Pierre

atoosys.com

 

Honor Student
Pierre9107
Posts: 4
Member Since: ‎10-28-2011
Message 4 of 12 (6,500 Views)

Re: How to have zr2740w running at higher resolution on one mac book air (intel 3000) under lion?

Sonnet adapter box available in january 2012 : "http://www.sonnettech.com/product/thunderbolt/".

 

They says : Sonnet's Echo™ Express PCIe 2.0 Expansion Chassis with Thunderbolt™ Ports enable you to connect one high-performance PCI Express® 2.0 adapter card to any computer with a Thunderbolt port.

 

But if i add the HP display cost + This adapter cost (near 250$ ?) and the not too lazy graphic card (200$), it is like an Apple thunderbolt display cost. What is the advantage?

 

Note : Pay attention that this display dont have an OSD button, so you must use the HP soft to manage the display. The trick is that this soft runs only on Windows... Will HP code a macOSx tool?

Top Student
skizzee
Posts: 2
Member Since: ‎11-15-2011
Message 5 of 12 (6,405 Views)

Re: How to have zr2740w running at higher resolution on one mac book air (intel 3000) under lion?

I figured it out! (no thanks to HP support)

If you use a mini displayport to displayport cable, automatically more resolution options are given (up to full 2560 x 1140)!

You will NOT get these maximum resolution options using the included DVI cable.

Honor Student
anthony11
Posts: 3
Member Since: ‎11-28-2011
Message 6 of 12 (6,327 Views)

Re: How to have zr2740w running at higher resolution on one mac book air (intel 3000) under lion?

If the DVI cable used is single-link, then yeah that will limit you.  Would need dual-link DVI for larger pixel count.

 

Student
5Seat
Posts: 1
Member Since: ‎12-05-2011
Message 7 of 12 (6,260 Views)

Re: How to have zr2740w running at higher resolution on one mac book air (intel 3000) under lion?

[ Edited ]

mini DP to DP: that worked - maybe in order to provide a product that is truly competitive with the Apple cinema display, HP SHOULD PROVIDE THIS $5 CABLE IN THE BOX. DVI does not do the trick.

Honor Student
anthony11
Posts: 3
Member Since: ‎11-28-2011
Message 8 of 12 (6,253 Views)

Re: How to have zr2740w running at higher resolution on one mac book air (intel 3000) under lion?

You must be new to HP.  They have a decades-long history of nickle&diming the customer, and a demonstrated contempt for Apple.

 

Honor Student
Pierre9107
Posts: 4
Member Since: ‎10-28-2011
Message 9 of 12 (6,184 Views)

Re: How to have zr2740w running at higher resolution on one mac book air (intel 3000) under lion?

Ordered de miniDP to DP cable, thanks for your help, as it is written that DP drive this very high resolution as it does for a cinema display or a thunderbolt display.

 

Hi Anthony. HP build good products, as most of other brand. But for this display, no intermediate resolution and no OSD exist. This is a lack of work, but i think that this is the reason of the low price...

 

Pierre

tsmservice.fr

Student
Bananadan
Posts: 1
Member Since: ‎03-21-2012
Message 10 of 12 (5,399 Views)

Re: How to have zr2740w running at higher resolution on one mac book air (intel 3000) under lion?

It would help if Apple didn't change their display adapters every year or two . . . do you really expect HP to put three additional cables in there just to keep up with Mini DisplayPort, Thunderbolt, etc? Sure, contempt for Apple is there (or just plain resentment,) but I think Apple owners can spring for the extra $6-$10 it costs them for a cable.

† The opinions expressed above are the personal opinions of the authors, not of HP. By using this site, you accept the Terms of Use and Rules of Participation