Question
Reply
 
Top Student
kyhsiao
Posts: 5
Member Since: ‎06-14-2011
Message 1 of 10 (1,277 Views)

No display on monitor.

My HP Pavilion S3001f works fine until last week. The monitor display “No Signal”, then turning black.

 

Did following steps:

  1. Connected the flat panel monitor on the other computer, the monitor works fine.
  2. Add a new video card, Radeon Sapphire HD5450 (512MB memory) still the same.

Can anyone help?

Provost
Big_Dave
Posts: 20,328
Member Since: ‎07-17-2009
Message 2 of 10 (1,273 Views)

Re: No display on monitor.

[ Edited ]

Hi,

 

Please post your HP product number.

 

Some of the ATI 5450 video cards stipulate a power supply between 350 to 400 watts.

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
HP e9280t, i7-960, 12GB, Vertex 3 120, ATI 4850
HP DV9700, t9300, Nvidia 8600, 4GB, Crucial C300 128GB SSD
HP Photosmart Premium C309G, HP Photosmart 6520
HP Touchpad
Custom i7-4770k,Z-87, 8GB, Vertex 3 SSD, Samsung EVO SSD, Corsair HX650,GTX 760
Custom i7-4790k,Z-97, 16GB, Vertex 3 SSD, Samsung EVO SSD, Corsair HX650, GTX 660TI
Windows 7/8 UEFI/Legacy mode, MBR/GPT
Teacher
Andrew_P
Posts: 137
Member Since: ‎12-05-2010
Message 3 of 10 (1,260 Views)

Re: No display on monitor.

Hi,

 

Have you seected the PCI x16 as primary vidoe adapter  from BIOS ?

Top Student
kyhsiao
Posts: 5
Member Since: ‎06-14-2011
Message 4 of 10 (1,189 Views)

Re: No display on monitor.

Thank you for the information. Sorry for the late reply. Just finish the 2010 tax return. (With 2 extensions)

My PC is HP Pavilion Slim Line S3300t with build-in Graphic card, one VGA output only.

Below are the steps I did:

  1. Clean out all the dust. Remove and replace all the cables going to the motherboard one at a time.
  2. Test the LCD monitor at another computer and it works fine.
  3. Test the hard drive at another computer and it works fine.
  4. Bought a new GALAXY G-Force 8400 GS for $39 after rebate. Still, the monitor displays "no input signal". May be build-in Graphic card have default setting with the Mother Board?
  5. To mgilcrist , in your case: “Our computer had a VGA/DVI card inserted in the motherboard and a covered mother board intergrated VGA video output on the back of the computer.  We found the cover on-board Analog connection on the back of the computer, uncovered it and connected the LCD monitor to it and it worked fine. “. Is there any similar steps I can apply to my PC?
  6. Did the reset BIOS from HP website:

 

Step 4: Reset and update the BIOS

 

Reset BIOS Version 7 or greater

  1. Turn on the computer and repeatedly press the F10 key for eight seconds.
  2. Press the Down arrow three times.
  3. Press the Enter key two times.
  4. Restart the computer.

 

Reset BIOS Version 6 or less

  1. Turn on the computer and repeatedly press one of the following keyboard keys. Press the key about once every second for 5 seconds after turning the computer on.
  • For HP and Compaq computers that came with Windows 7 or Windows Vista, press F10 .
  • For HP and Compaq computers that came with Windows XP, press F1.
  • For Compaq Presario desktop computers built prior to 2002, press F10 .
  1. Wait another 5 seconds.
  2. Press the F5 key. This restores the default settings of the BIOS.
  3. Press the Enter key. This accepts the changes.
  4. Press the F10 key. This saves the changes.
  5. Press the Enter key. This saves the changes and exits from the BIOS.
  6. The monitor should display the first screens received from the computer (the logo screens). If not, find and download the latest BIOS update if one is available for your computer.
  7. If a BIOS update was not available or the monitor is still blank, continue to the next step.

 

Step 5: Reseat loose internal components

If the computer case was recently serviced or moved, a card, cable, memory module, or processor may have become loose. When this happens, the computer might make a beeping sound when turned on. Use the following steps to check for loose components:

 

  1. Questions: Is there is any default setting for the build-in graphic card? How can I set the add-on graphic card as the default/alternate display device?

 

Provost
Big_Dave
Posts: 20,328
Member Since: ‎07-17-2009
Message 5 of 10 (1,182 Views)

Re: No display on monitor.

[ Edited ]

Hi,

 

The video cards that you are trying needs a bigger power supply.  The s3300t only has a 180 watt power supply. The Galaxy 8400 requires a 300 watt power supply.

 

The video card is not going to be recognized by the bios if it can't power up.

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
HP e9280t, i7-960, 12GB, Vertex 3 120, ATI 4850
HP DV9700, t9300, Nvidia 8600, 4GB, Crucial C300 128GB SSD
HP Photosmart Premium C309G, HP Photosmart 6520
HP Touchpad
Custom i7-4770k,Z-87, 8GB, Vertex 3 SSD, Samsung EVO SSD, Corsair HX650,GTX 760
Custom i7-4790k,Z-97, 16GB, Vertex 3 SSD, Samsung EVO SSD, Corsair HX650, GTX 660TI
Windows 7/8 UEFI/Legacy mode, MBR/GPT
Top Student
kyhsiao
Posts: 5
Member Since: ‎06-14-2011
Message 6 of 10 (1,175 Views)

Re: No display on monitor.

Thank you! Will get the video card with 180watts power supply and let you know. 

Tutor
allup12
Posts: 17
Member Since: ‎10-28-2011
Message 7 of 10 (1,155 Views)

Re: No display on monitor.

[ Edited ]

When this happens, the computer might make a beeping sound when turned on.

Top Student
kyhsiao
Posts: 5
Member Since: ‎06-14-2011
Message 8 of 10 (1,148 Views)

Re: No display on monitor.

It means:
If the power supply did not match the 180 watt power supply of the s3300t, "The computer will make a beeping sound when turn on", right?
Top Student
kyhsiao
Posts: 5
Member Since: ‎06-14-2011
Message 9 of 10 (1,148 Views)

Re: No display on monitor.

Would you please tell me how can I select the PCI x16 as primary vidoe adapter from BIOS ? It seems that the "Step 4: Reset and update the BIOS" from HP website set the BOIS to the default Build-in video card. Please advise.
Provost
Big_Dave
Posts: 20,328
Member Since: ‎07-17-2009
Message 10 of 10 (1,126 Views)

Re: No display on monitor.

Hi,

 

If the bios detects a card in the PCI-E x16 slot then the video card in the PCI-E x16 solt will become the primary video adapter.  If order to detect the video card, there must be enough power coming from the power supply to power up the card.

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
HP e9280t, i7-960, 12GB, Vertex 3 120, ATI 4850
HP DV9700, t9300, Nvidia 8600, 4GB, Crucial C300 128GB SSD
HP Photosmart Premium C309G, HP Photosmart 6520
HP Touchpad
Custom i7-4770k,Z-87, 8GB, Vertex 3 SSD, Samsung EVO SSD, Corsair HX650,GTX 760
Custom i7-4790k,Z-97, 16GB, Vertex 3 SSD, Samsung EVO SSD, Corsair HX650, GTX 660TI
Windows 7/8 UEFI/Legacy mode, MBR/GPT
† The opinions expressed above are the personal opinions of the authors, not of HP. By using this site, you accept the Terms of Use and Rules of Participation