Question
Reply
 
Top Student
Posts: 6
Member Since: ‎03-10-2012
Message 1 of 6 (385 Views)

Unable to choose proper resolution for monitor with Windows 7 64 bit system.

HP w2207h needs 1680 x 1050 resolution, but that's not an option with Windows 7 64 bit. Suggestions?

Reply
0
Provost
Posts: 22,961
Member Since: ‎07-17-2009
Message 2 of 6 (381 Views)

Re: Unable to choose proper resolution for monitor with Windows 7 64 bit system.

[ Edited ]

Hi Kevin,

 

What resolution are you using?  What happens when you try to change the resolution and what resolutions are available?

 

1680 by 1050 is available with W7 64 bit so its not basic the OS.

 

What PC or laptop are you using and what video card is installed?

 

Be sure to install the latest monitor driver then reboot.

 

Is the w2207h your only monitor attached to your PC or laptop?

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
HP DV9700, t9300, Nvidia 8600, 4GB, Crucial C300 128GB SSD
HP ENVY 17t Touch,i7-5500u,16GB, 256 GB SSD (on loan)
HP Photosmart 6520
HP Touchpad, HP Chromebook 11
Custom i7-5930k, X99, 16GB 2800 MHz DDR4, Intel 750 PCI-E SSD, (2)Samsung EVO 840 SSD, Corsair HX650, EVGA GTX 760TI
Windows 8.1 UEFI mode
Top Student
Posts: 6
Member Since: ‎03-10-2012
Message 3 of 6 (378 Views)

Re: Unable to choose proper resolution for monitor with Windows 7 64 bit system.

According to the "Adjust Screen Resolution" part of Control panel in Windows 7, my options for resolution are 1400x1050, 1280x 1024, 1280x960 (the one I'm using), 1152x864, 1024x768, and 800x600.  According to the HP web site, the native resolution for this monitor is 1680x1050.  I'm using a HP Pavillion Elite HPE desktop computer with whatever video card came on it.  I checked to see if there were any updated monitor drivers, and I'm using the most current one.  I have only this one monitor attached to the PC.

Top Student
Posts: 6
Member Since: ‎03-10-2012
Message 4 of 6 (377 Views)

Re: Unable to choose proper resolution for monitor with Windows 7 64 bit system.

According to the "Adjust Screen Resolution" part of Control panel in Windows 7, my options for resolution are 1400x1050, 1280x 1024, 1280x960 (the one I'm using), 1152x864, 1024x768, and 800x600. According to the HP web site, the native resolution for this monitor is 1680x1050. I'm using a HP Pavillion Elite HPE desktop computer with whatever video card came on it. I checked to see if there were any updated monitor drivers, and I'm using the most current one. I have only this one monitor attached to the PC.
Provost
Posts: 22,961
Member Since: ‎07-17-2009
Message 5 of 6 (373 Views)

Re: Unable to choose proper resolution for monitor with Windows 7 64 bit system.

[ Edited ]

Hi Kevin,

 

Try a monitor reset. Unplug the monitor’s power cord and hold down the monitor’s power button for 30-60 seconds. Plug the monitor back in and power it up.

 

What is the HP product number for you PC?

 

Are you using a digital connection to your monitor (DVI to HDMI) or VGA?

 

The Windows 7 Device Manager will tell you what video card is installed in you PC.

 

If you are using straight VGA cable, are you plugging the VGA cable into a native VGA port (no adapters)? If yes, then contact HP support. HP's support number is 800-474-6836 or 800-HPINVENT or online here.

 

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
HP DV9700, t9300, Nvidia 8600, 4GB, Crucial C300 128GB SSD
HP ENVY 17t Touch,i7-5500u,16GB, 256 GB SSD (on loan)
HP Photosmart 6520
HP Touchpad, HP Chromebook 11
Custom i7-5930k, X99, 16GB 2800 MHz DDR4, Intel 750 PCI-E SSD, (2)Samsung EVO 840 SSD, Corsair HX650, EVGA GTX 760TI
Windows 8.1 UEFI mode
Top Student
Posts: 6
Member Since: ‎03-10-2012
Message 6 of 6 (359 Views)

Re: Unable to choose proper resolution for monitor with Windows 7 64 bit system.

Your idea about the power reset got me looking at the buttons on the monitor.  I pressed and held the auto" button, and the resolution changed to what is needed.  I had been trying to change the resolution using Windows all this time, and the button right on the monitor is the one that did it!  I really appreciate your input, Dave!

† The opinions expressed above are the personal opinions of the authors, not of HP. By using this site, you accept the Terms of Use and Rules of Participation