Question
Reply
 
Top Student
DrGermanFreak
Posts: 6
Member Since: ‎04-15-2013
Message 1 of 12 (268 Views)
Accepted Solution

Where do I plug my microphone on my Windows Vista HP Touchsmart Computer

I have a Windows Vista HP Touchsmart Computer and I would love to be able to talk into my mic. I'm doing YouTube videos and I have to use the microphone built in which can not always pick up what I say. So if you can help that would be greatly appriciated! 

Provost
banhien
Posts: 35,428
Member Since: ‎01-29-2009
Message 2 of 12 (264 Views)

Re: Where do I plug my microphone on my Windows Vista HP Touchsmart Computer

Hi,

 

There are hundreds of Touchmart models around, which one is yours ? This is one of them (#5):

 

   

Figure 9: Left I/O ports
Image of left I/O ports
1 - Hard drive activity indicator
2 - Memory card reader activity indicator
3 - 6-in-1 Memory card reader
4 - Two USB 3.0 ports
5 - Microphone jack
6 - Headphone jack

 

Regards.

BH
***
**Click the KUDOS thumb up on the left to say 'Thanks'**
Make it easier for other people to find solutions by marking a Reply 'Accept as Solution' if it solves your problem.
Top Student
DrGermanFreak
Posts: 6
Member Since: ‎04-15-2013
Message 3 of 12 (261 Views)

Re: Where do I plug my microphone on my Windows Vista HP Touchsmart Computer

Okay Thanks! But mine looks a bit different....photo.JPG

Provost
banhien
Posts: 35,428
Member Since: ‎01-29-2009
Message 4 of 12 (259 Views)

Re: Where do I plug my microphone on my Windows Vista HP Touchsmart Computer

Hi,

 

What is the model of your machine ? As mentioned above, there are hundreds of models around.

 

Regards.

BH
***
**Click the KUDOS thumb up on the left to say 'Thanks'**
Make it easier for other people to find solutions by marking a Reply 'Accept as Solution' if it solves your problem.
Top Student
DrGermanFreak
Posts: 6
Member Since: ‎04-15-2013
Message 5 of 12 (256 Views)

Re: Where do I plug my microphone on my Windows Vista HP Touchsmart Computer

I think its a T5850

Provost
banhien
Posts: 35,428
Member Since: ‎01-29-2009
Message 6 of 12 (253 Views)

Re: Where do I plug my microphone on my Windows Vista HP Touchsmart Computer

Hi,

 

No, I can't see the your image. Most likely your machine is an IQ500 series, #1 on the following image:

 

  

Left side of the system
Figure 12: Left side of the system
1 - Headphone audio output
2 - Line-in audio input
3 - USB 2.0 ports
4 - Ambient light controller button (not available on some models)

 

Regards.

BH
***
**Click the KUDOS thumb up on the left to say 'Thanks'**
Make it easier for other people to find solutions by marking a Reply 'Accept as Solution' if it solves your problem.
Top Student
DrGermanFreak
Posts: 6
Member Since: ‎04-15-2013
Message 7 of 12 (250 Views)

Re: Where do I plug my microphone on my Windows Vista HP Touchsmart Computer

Yeah thats it, so where would I plug my microphone into?

Provost
banhien
Posts: 35,428
Member Since: ‎01-29-2009
Message 8 of 12 (242 Views)

Re: Where do I plug my microphone on my Windows Vista HP Touchsmart Computer

Hi,

 

What is your microphone ? It should have something like one of these:

 

  

 

Just plug to that hole. If it doesn't fit you need an adapter. You can buy it at a music/radio shop for around US$3.0 or cheaper.

 

Regards.

BH
***
**Click the KUDOS thumb up on the left to say 'Thanks'**
Make it easier for other people to find solutions by marking a Reply 'Accept as Solution' if it solves your problem.
Top Student
DrGermanFreak
Posts: 6
Member Since: ‎04-15-2013
Message 9 of 12 (233 Views)

Re: Where do I plug my microphone on my Windows Vista HP Touchsmart Computer

Are you trying to tell me to plug my mic into number 2 hole? If so when I plug it in there my computer does not pick up the microphone.

Provost
banhien
Posts: 35,428
Member Since: ‎01-29-2009
Message 10 of 12 (226 Views)

Re: Where do I plug my microphone on my Windows Vista HP Touchsmart Computer

Hi,

 

The line in and microphone sometimes interchageable but NOT always. By the way, based on the followinf information it has stereo microphone built-in:

 

    http://h20000.www2.hp.com/bizsupport/TechSupport/Document.jsp?objectID=c01485449&lang=en&cc=us&taskI...

 

 

Figure 9: Front of the system

1 - 22" LCD Touch Screen
2 - Event LED
3 - Webcam with array microphone

Why you need an external microphone ?

 

 

BH
***
**Click the KUDOS thumb up on the left to say 'Thanks'**
Make it easier for other people to find solutions by marking a Reply 'Accept as Solution' if it solves your problem.
† The opinions expressed above are the personal opinions of the authors, not of HP. By using this site, you accept the Terms of Use and Rules of Participation