Question
XFX Radeon 5770 1GB DDR5 HD Graphics Card failure
Replies (17)
Reply
 
Provost
Big_Dave
Posts: 20,034
Member Since: ‎07-17-2009
Message 11 of 18 (2,294 Views)

Re: XFX Radeon 5770 1GB DDR5 HD Graphics Card failure

[ Edited ]

It might be a motherboard bios issue.  The only way to find out is to try an older video card.  The NVIDIA GTX 260 or GTS 250 might be good alternatives.  Try the below utilities before trying another video card.

 

  1. Intel Driver Update Utility  Intel Driver Update Utility
  2. Intel Chip Set update  Intel chipset update utility
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
HP e9280t, i7-960, 12GB, Vertex 3 120, ATI 4850
HP DV9700, t9300, Nvidia 8600, 4GB, Crucial C300 128GB SSD
HP Photosmart Premium C309G, HP Photosmart 6520
HP Touchpad
Custom i7-4770k, 8GB, Vertex 3 SSD, Samsung EVO SSD, Corsair HX650,GTX 760
Custom i7-3770k, 8GB, Vertex 3 SSD, Samsung EVO SSD, Corsair HX650, GTX 660TI
Windows 7/8 UEFI/Legacy mode, MBR/GPT
Tutor
Kalstras
Posts: 24
Member Since: ‎03-08-2010
Message 12 of 18 (2,256 Views)

Re: XFX Radeon 5770 1GB DDR5 HD Graphics Card failure

the first link gave me this...

 

Graphics Driver

Product Detected

Radeon X1600 Series


Current Driver Installed (none) 
This device is unknown or unsupported. Please contact the manufacturer for possible updates. More information>>
Tutor
Kalstras
Posts: 24
Member Since: ‎03-08-2010
Message 13 of 18 (2,255 Views)

Re: XFX Radeon 5770 1GB DDR5 HD Graphics Card failure

and the second one looks more promising :smileyhappy:

 

it's installing a chipset update and it looks to be also including something for the PCI-E port 2771

Tutor
Kalstras
Posts: 24
Member Since: ‎03-08-2010
Message 14 of 18 (2,253 Views)

Re: XFX Radeon 5770 1GB DDR5 HD Graphics Card failure

chipset updated now I need to try again?

Tutor
Kalstras
Posts: 24
Member Since: ‎03-08-2010
Message 15 of 18 (2,237 Views)

Re: XFX Radeon 5770 1GB DDR5 HD Graphics Card failure

I went out and bought a GeForce GTS 250 with 512MB RAM and only DVI no HD or Direct x11 also it's only GDDR3 instead of GDDR5 which I thought might also have something to do with it all...

 

Thanks for all of your help BD I have Kudos'd the lot of answers m8

you have done HP proud :smileyvery-happy:

Provost
Big_Dave
Posts: 20,034
Member Since: ‎07-17-2009
Message 16 of 18 (2,232 Views)

Re: XFX Radeon 5770 1GB DDR5 HD Graphics Card failure

Let us know if that NVIDIA card works.

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
HP e9280t, i7-960, 12GB, Vertex 3 120, ATI 4850
HP DV9700, t9300, Nvidia 8600, 4GB, Crucial C300 128GB SSD
HP Photosmart Premium C309G, HP Photosmart 6520
HP Touchpad
Custom i7-4770k, 8GB, Vertex 3 SSD, Samsung EVO SSD, Corsair HX650,GTX 760
Custom i7-3770k, 8GB, Vertex 3 SSD, Samsung EVO SSD, Corsair HX650, GTX 660TI
Windows 7/8 UEFI/Legacy mode, MBR/GPT
Tutor
Kalstras
Posts: 24
Member Since: ‎03-08-2010
Message 17 of 18 (2,231 Views)

Re: XFX Radeon 5770 1GB DDR5 HD Graphics Card failure

Yessiree Bob (Dave) it does indeed work :smileyvery-happy:

 

I had to sacrifice an HDMI port and one other was looking at running TV through my computer.

Here's the Card http://www.pcworld.co.uk/gbuk/pny-nvidia-geforce-gts-250-pci-e-graphics-card-03017955-pdt.html

It runs and it DOES make a big difference to the card I was using, shame that HP doesn't support older computers with BIOS updates so we can enjoy a little upgrade before we move on to the next one.

 

Thanks again for all of your assistance through my rantings :smileyvery-happy:

 

Case closed... unless... nah it's done with lol

Tutor
Kalstras
Posts: 24
Member Since: ‎03-08-2010
Message 18 of 18 (2,196 Views)

Re: XFX Radeon 5770 1GB DDR5 HD Graphics Card failure

Oh man, I went through it again yesterday didn't I? I thought to myself, if I could make a GeForce card work why settle for the 512 when for 10pounds more I could have a 1GB?

 

I arranged for the Radeon card to be collected, uninstalled the new nVidia card, took it back and bought this card, the ZOTAC GeForce® GTS 250 Eco 1GB and brought it home, and nothing, no bloody screen so I thought there is one last thing I never tried before. On the back of my comp there is a small black plate that says “Do Not Remove” well removed it and there was a VGA port, A BLOOODY VGA PORT!!!!!

I put my old card back in>fired up my comp> switched to onbard graphics> turned on my comp (mind you I have two monitors) so this would not have been successful without two> so I powered down, installed the new card> powered up> installed the card with the onboard still working>installed the drivers but, Error> “there is a problem.....yadda yadda yadda, VGA not compatible” HMM

SO VGA means the onboard, so I powered down, turn off the onboard graphics and VOILA!!!!!!!!!

I am now a working graphics card owner STUPID STUPID STUPID!!!

If I had done this in the very beginning I would be running DDR5 and DX11 - maybe

so as a Sadist, do I try this system with the Radeon card?!?! NO

I am going to leave it lol if I had the 1GB card here I would so, happy happy joy joy :smileyvery-happy:

 

my Zotec card is amazing and after over 9000 forums and help pages, I myself have sorted it out :smileyvery-happy:

 

I am posting this as it is important to know there are work arounds for even the most seemingly difficult impossible problem...

 

† The opinions expressed above are the personal opinions of the authors, not of HP. By using this site, you accept the Terms of Use and Rules of Participation