Post new question
Question
Reply
 
Honor Student
Posts: 4
Member Since: ‎10-07-2011
Message 1 of 6 (5,891 Views)
Accepted Solution

HP 500b MT

Hi. I was considering buying hp 500b mt XP036EA#B1R with 4 gb or ram. The product comes with an integrated video only, so i would have to replace it with a dedicated one - however, i need to know whether this computer supports memory remapping, so when using 1 gb graphics for example, the 4 gb ram remains usable for 64bit os.

 

Please reply only if you know.

Thanks you.

Reply
0
Accepted Solution

Re: HP 500b MT

I just took a look at the preproduction BIOS simulator. It does not appear to have memory remapping support enabled. There actually are not many OEM manufactured PC motherboards that have it.

BIOS1.JPG 

 

Best regards,

erico

View solution in context
Provost
Posts: 41,677
Member Since: ‎01-07-2009
Message 2 of 6 (5,874 Views)

Re: HP 500b MT

If you install a video card that has 1 GB of video RAM installed and are using Windows 7 32-bit or 64-bit then the motherboard's BIOS will disable the use of shared memory on its own. That means the video card will use its own memory and not that which is installed in the motherboard's DIMM slots. 

 

Best regards,

erico

If I was able to help you resolve your issue, you can click on the purple Thumbs up + icon to say thanks.

If your problem is solved , please click the Accepted Solution button

I am not an HP Employee, I am a volunteer posting here on my own time
Honor Student
Posts: 4
Member Since: ‎10-07-2011
Message 3 of 6 (5,872 Views)

Re: HP 500b MT

Thank you, but that was not exactly what i was asking - you were talking about the integrated graphics chip on the board; however, i was asking whether, when i install an 1 gb video card, i can still use full 4gb ram if using 64 bit windows.

 

To clarify that, on my current machine, which is using intel 945cd chipset, i have 4 gb ram installed on it, but only 3,25 gb is usable by the 64 bit windows os, becouse i also have 512 mb video adapter and that motherboard only supports 4 gb total memory, and has no knowledge of "memory remapping" technology.

 

So i ant to know if the hp 500b computer i was referring to, has this "memory remapping" support and thus can use 4gb ram PLUS 1gb vide card memory.

 

Thanks.

Honor Student
Posts: 4
Member Since: ‎10-07-2011
Message 4 of 6 (5,861 Views)

Re: HP 500b MT

Anyone?

Provost
Posts: 41,677
Member Since: ‎01-07-2009
Message 5 of 6 (5,857 Views)

Re: HP 500b MT

[ Edited ]

I just took a look at the preproduction BIOS simulator. It does not appear to have memory remapping support enabled. There actually are not many OEM manufactured PC motherboards that have it.

BIOS1.JPG 

 

Best regards,

erico

If I was able to help you resolve your issue, you can click on the purple Thumbs up + icon to say thanks.

If your problem is solved , please click the Accepted Solution button

I am not an HP Employee, I am a volunteer posting here on my own time
Honor Student
Posts: 4
Member Since: ‎10-07-2011
Message 6 of 6 (5,851 Views)

Re: HP 500b MT

Thank you for your trouble. It means that this otherwise well-designed product does not fit my needs after all.

† The opinions expressed above are the personal opinions of the authors, not of HP. By using this site, you accept the Terms of Use and Rules of Participation