Post new question
Question
Reply
 
Honor Student
Posts: 3
Member Since: ‎07-27-2014
Message 1 of 6 (256 Views)
Accepted Solution

Should it fit? and do I need to replace the CPU? HP6200 + ASUS RADEON R9 280 TOP 3GB PCI-E

HI,

I have HP6200, Processor=i5 3.1Ghz, Memory= 4Gb,OS:  WIn7 32Bit

I think it's MicroTower and It have 320Watt PSU.

 

my questions is:

1) Will the Graphic card fit the case?

2) I need to to replace the PSU? If I do, what PSU I need? any brand will fit this case?

 

Thank you,

Guy

0
Accepted Solution

Re: Should it fit? and do I need to replace the CPU? HP6200 + ASUS RADEON R9 280 TOP 3GB PCI-E

Thank you for the additional information.

 

Here is the Maintenance and Servicing guide for the computer.

 

I don't believe that the video card will fit into the space provided.  It is 11.2" in length.  This would take a full size case for it to fit.

 

As for the power supply unit (PSU), I can't tell from the specs if it is a standard ATX.  You can measure the existing PSU and compare it to the one that you want to buy.  You will definitely need to upgrade it if you replace the video card.  Most newer mid-level cards require at least 400W to operate properly.

 

Please click the " Thumbs up + button" if I have helped you and click "Accept as Solution" if your problem is solved.

View solution in context
Provost
Posts: 16,879
Member Since: ‎11-21-2008
Message 2 of 6 (236 Views)

Re: Should it fit? and do I need to replace the CPU? HP6200 + ASUS RADEON R9 280 TOP 3GB PCI-E

Dor_guy, welcome to the forum.

 

What is the full model of the computer?  I need this information to review the specs.  Here is a guide to help you find it.

-----------------------------------------
Signature:

HP TouchPad - 1.2 GHz; 1 GB memory; 32 GB storage; WebOS/CyanogenMod 11(Kit Kat)

HP Phoenix 860-170VR; i7-6700K 4.0 GHz; 8 GB DDR4 memory; Samsung EVO 840 500 GB SSD; Radeon R9-390X video card; Win 10 Home

HP Elite x2 1012 G1 Tablet w/Travel Keyboard and Stylus; Core m3 processor; 4 GB DDR4 memory; Samsung 128 GB SSD; Audio by
Bang & Olufsen; Win 10 Home

HP Photosmart 7520 AIO


++++++++++++++++++
**Click the Thumbs Up+ to say 'Thanks' and the 'Accept as Solution' if I have solved your problem.**

Intelligence is God given; Wisdom is the sum of our mistakes!

___________________________
I am not an HP employee.
Honor Student
Posts: 3
Member Since: ‎07-27-2014
Message 3 of 6 (216 Views)

Re: Should it fit? and do I need to replace the CPU? HP6200 + ASUS RADEON R9 280 TOP 3GB PCI-E

Hi,

the model IS:

HP XL504AV

Thanks,

Guy

Provost
Posts: 16,879
Member Since: ‎11-21-2008
Message 4 of 6 (195 Views)

Re: Should it fit? and do I need to replace the CPU? HP6200 + ASUS RADEON R9 280 TOP 3GB PCI-E

Thank you for the additional information.

 

Here is the Maintenance and Servicing guide for the computer.

 

I don't believe that the video card will fit into the space provided.  It is 11.2" in length.  This would take a full size case for it to fit.

 

As for the power supply unit (PSU), I can't tell from the specs if it is a standard ATX.  You can measure the existing PSU and compare it to the one that you want to buy.  You will definitely need to upgrade it if you replace the video card.  Most newer mid-level cards require at least 400W to operate properly.

 

Please click the " Thumbs up + button" if I have helped you and click "Accept as Solution" if your problem is solved.

-----------------------------------------
Signature:

HP TouchPad - 1.2 GHz; 1 GB memory; 32 GB storage; WebOS/CyanogenMod 11(Kit Kat)

HP Phoenix 860-170VR; i7-6700K 4.0 GHz; 8 GB DDR4 memory; Samsung EVO 840 500 GB SSD; Radeon R9-390X video card; Win 10 Home

HP Elite x2 1012 G1 Tablet w/Travel Keyboard and Stylus; Core m3 processor; 4 GB DDR4 memory; Samsung 128 GB SSD; Audio by
Bang & Olufsen; Win 10 Home

HP Photosmart 7520 AIO


++++++++++++++++++
**Click the Thumbs Up+ to say 'Thanks' and the 'Accept as Solution' if I have solved your problem.**

Intelligence is God given; Wisdom is the sum of our mistakes!

___________________________
I am not an HP employee.
Honor Student
Posts: 3
Member Since: ‎07-27-2014
Message 5 of 6 (186 Views)

Re: Should it fit? and do I need to replace the CPU? HP6200 + ASUS RADEON R9 280 TOP 3GB PCI-E

Thank you for the detailed answers. 

Provost
Posts: 16,879
Member Since: ‎11-21-2008
Message 6 of 6 (174 Views)

Re: Should it fit? and do I need to replace the CPU? HP6200 + ASUS RADEON R9 280 TOP 3GB PCI-E

You are very welcome.  It is my pleasure.

-----------------------------------------
Signature:

HP TouchPad - 1.2 GHz; 1 GB memory; 32 GB storage; WebOS/CyanogenMod 11(Kit Kat)

HP Phoenix 860-170VR; i7-6700K 4.0 GHz; 8 GB DDR4 memory; Samsung EVO 840 500 GB SSD; Radeon R9-390X video card; Win 10 Home

HP Elite x2 1012 G1 Tablet w/Travel Keyboard and Stylus; Core m3 processor; 4 GB DDR4 memory; Samsung 128 GB SSD; Audio by
Bang & Olufsen; Win 10 Home

HP Photosmart 7520 AIO


++++++++++++++++++
**Click the Thumbs Up+ to say 'Thanks' and the 'Accept as Solution' if I have solved your problem.**

Intelligence is God given; Wisdom is the sum of our mistakes!

___________________________
I am not an HP employee.
† The opinions expressed above are the personal opinions of the authors, not of HP. By using this site, you accept the Terms of Use and Rules of Participation