Question
Reply
 
Tutor
Posts: 16
Member Since: ‎02-05-2013
Message 1 of 7 (807 Views)

newly installed ram not showing up

I have an hp pavilion m9400t. I recently had 1 gb ram in all 4 slots. Then  the number 1 slot quit working. I removed that one and the 3 slot as I was told to do and the computer ran like crap. I then went ahead and reinstalled the #3 slot ram and it ran fine again. I am upgrading to windows 8 so I bought 3- 2 gb ram sticks. After insalling them it kept showing only 4gb of ram. I tried reseating them and everything and nothing worked. It kept only recognizing 4 gb ram. Then I blew out the inside thinking it was dust and tried again. nothing. Now I reinserted one of the old 1 gb sticks into the 3 slot and tried one in the 1 slot. Funny thing is, Its still showing 4gb ram with the 1 and 3 slot working now. So maybe the 1 slot wasn't working properly due to dust I guess. Maybe. Problem is, only 1 of the 2 gb sticks is registering still in the 2 and 4 slots. Tried pulling 1 out and it doesn't change. I baffled and any suggestions would be greatly appreciated. Oh, by the way, it's running great but I just want to know why I cant get 6 gb ram to show. Thanks.

Reply
0
Provost
Posts: 16,358
Member Since: ‎11-21-2008
Message 2 of 7 (803 Views)

Re: newly installed ram not showing up

Rick, are you certain that you bought the correct memory?  Here is the memory supported by the motherboard:

 

  • Dual channel memory architecture
  • Four 240-pin DDR2 DIMM sockets
  • Supported DIMM types:
     
  • PC2-5300 (667 MHz)
  • PC2-6400 (800 MHz)
  • Non-ECC memory only, unbuffered
  • Supports 2GB DDR2 DIMMs
  • Supports up to 8 GB on 64 bit PCs
  • Supports up to 4 GB* on 32 bit PCs
*32-bit operating systems cannot address a full 4.0 GB of memory.

 

Also, unless you upgraded to a 64-bit OS, the 32-bit OS will only recognize 3.5 GB of memory.

 

If you don't fill all 4 slots with memory, it is best to use a matching set in either the black or blue slots.

 

Please click "KUDOS" if I have helped you and click "Accept as Solution" if your problem is solved.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

-----------------------------------------
Signature:

HP TouchPad - 1.2 GHz; 1 GB memory; 32 GB storage; WebOS/CyanogenMod 11(Kit Kat)

HP Phoenix 860-170VR; i7-6700K 4.0 GHz; 8 GB DDR4 memory; Samsung EVO 840 500 GB SSD; Radeon R9-390X video card; Win 10 Home

HP Elite x2 1012 G1 Tablet w/Travel Keyboard and Stylus; Core m3 processor; 4 GB DDR4 memory; Samsung 128 GB SSD; Audio by
Bang & Olufsen; Win 10 Home

HP Photosmart 7520 AIO


++++++++++++++++++
**Click the Thumbs Up+ to say 'Thanks' and the 'Accept as Solution' if I have solved your problem.**

Intelligence is God given; Wisdom is the sum of our mistakes!

___________________________
I am not an HP employee.
Tutor
Posts: 16
Member Since: ‎02-05-2013
Message 3 of 7 (797 Views)

Re: newly installed ram not showing up

I definelty bought the correct ram sticks. And I bought my pc as a 64 bit operating system. I'm baffelled. Like I said, I understand that your suppose to have the slots 1 and 3, and 2 and 4 working together. But, thats what I dont get. MIne is recognizing 1 and 3 which have 1 gb sticks in. It's also recognizing either 2 or 4 which have 2gb sticks in. No matter what I do though I can't get it to recognize both 2 and 4 at the same time.

Tutor
Posts: 16
Member Since: ‎02-05-2013
Message 4 of 7 (796 Views)

Re: newly installed ram not showing up

The sticks are 2 gb dd2 dimm.

Provost
Posts: 16,358
Member Since: ‎11-21-2008
Message 5 of 7 (794 Views)

Re: newly installed ram not showing up

The fact that it continues to show 4 GB of memory is what makes me suspicious that you have a 32-bit OS.  Please check in the Control Panel to make certain that it is 64-bit.

 

Also, did you buy three of the same sticks?  Which memory did you buy?  Give me the entire information on it.

-----------------------------------------
Signature:

HP TouchPad - 1.2 GHz; 1 GB memory; 32 GB storage; WebOS/CyanogenMod 11(Kit Kat)

HP Phoenix 860-170VR; i7-6700K 4.0 GHz; 8 GB DDR4 memory; Samsung EVO 840 500 GB SSD; Radeon R9-390X video card; Win 10 Home

HP Elite x2 1012 G1 Tablet w/Travel Keyboard and Stylus; Core m3 processor; 4 GB DDR4 memory; Samsung 128 GB SSD; Audio by
Bang & Olufsen; Win 10 Home

HP Photosmart 7520 AIO


++++++++++++++++++
**Click the Thumbs Up+ to say 'Thanks' and the 'Accept as Solution' if I have solved your problem.**

Intelligence is God given; Wisdom is the sum of our mistakes!

___________________________
I am not an HP employee.
Tutor
Posts: 16
Member Since: ‎02-05-2013
Message 6 of 7 (789 Views)

Re: newly installed ram not showing up

I am positive it is 64 bit. I've had this pc for 6 years now. I bought PNY @gb DDR2 PC2 6400. Like I said though. It keeps showing at least one working. I understand what you're saying about the 32 bit only allowing 3.5. But, Thats just not the case here. When I had all 3 installed in slots 2,3, and 4, Only 4 gb still showed up. However before I bought these, as I said before, I had 1 gb sticks in slots 2,3, and 4 because I thought the 1 slot was working, and they all showed up as 3 gb total ram. I dont get it either but this is what I need to upgrade to windows 8 for because I am taking some online college courses in the computer field. Thanks Again

Dean
Posts: 6,898
Member Since: ‎09-28-2010
Message 7 of 7 (777 Views)

Re: newly installed ram not showing up

What old_geekster is askling is somewhat simple. Walking into a store and purchasing generic PNY DDR2 is not purchasing modules that are compliant with HP.

This system is feedback driven thru Solution and Kudo flags. It's the only means of knowing if you have been served.
Please click Accept as Solution, if your problem is solved. To say THANK YOU, press the "thumbs up symbol" to render a KUDO. You can render both Solution and KUDO..

Loaner: Envy Omen Windows 10 Home 64 4th Gen Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-4720HQ + NVIDIA GeForce GTX 960M 2GB Discrete Graphics (8GB memory) 128GB SSD
Loaner: HP ENVY 8 5002 Tablet
HP Envy 8 5010 Tablet
(2) HP DV7t i7 3160QM 2.3Ghz 8GB
HP m9200t E8400,Win7 Pro, 4GB RAM, ASUS 550Ti 2GB, Rosewill 630W. 1T HD
Custom Asus P8Z87D, I7-4770k, 16GB RAM, WIN7 Pro 64bit, EVGA GTX670 2GB, 500GB HD SSD, Rosewill Blackhawk case and OCZ 750W.
Printer -- HP OfficeJet Pro 8620
† The opinions expressed above are the personal opinions of the authors, not of HP. By using this site, you accept the Terms of Use and Rules of Participation