Post new question
Question
Reply
 
Student
Posts: 1
Member Since: ‎04-03-2011
Message 1 of 6 (4,264 Views)

which slots for dual channel ram

[ Edited ]

Hello,

 

I'm the owner of a HP Pavilion Elite HPE 010be desktopcomputer .
It contains the following motherboard: http://support.hp.com/us-en/document/c01972272

 

I want to upgrade the RAM memory of the PC, but i can't find anywhere which of the 4 slots are for dual channel use.

Do I put the new ram (2x 4GB) in the same color slots or should I put the RAM in the slots next to each other?

 

Thanks for the help!

Pieter Dejaeger
www.jave.be
Reply
0
Provost
Posts: 44,104
Member Since: ‎09-24-2010
Message 2 of 6 (4,232 Views)

Re: which slots for dual channel ram

Hi,

 

Dual channel will work when you use identical sticks of RAM in slots of the same colour, so forinstance you would need to put your 4GB modules in just the Black slots or just the Blue.

 

Regards,

 

DP-K

---------------------------------------------------------------------------

****Click the White thumb to say thanks****
****Please mark Accept As Solution if it solves your problem****
****I don't work for HP****


Microsoft MVP - Windows Insider

Teacher
Posts: 81
Member Since: ‎01-14-2011
Message 3 of 6 (4,118 Views)

Re: which slots for dual channel ram

I have an HP p6710f with 4GB RAM and want to upgrade it.

But I’m confused about which slots to use. I thought in order to use dual channel memory that identical RAM has to be installed in each channel. And I thought each channel had its own color. IOW if there were 2GB in a black slot then there should be 2GB in a blue slot. And from this thread it states “Install these in "paired" slots - usually slots 1 & 3 or 2 & 4”.
http://h30434.www3.hp.com/t5/Desktop-Hardware/Upgrading-Memory/m-p/124

I opened up the case and there was a 2GB stick in each of the black slots & nothing in the blue slots. So I looked a bit further & this thread says to use identical RAM in slots of the same color.

If each channel is a different color then shouldn’t there be identical RAM in each color?

What am I missing here?

Dean
Posts: 7,102
Member Since: ‎09-28-2010
Message 4 of 6 (4,116 Views)

Re: which slots for dual channel ram

BNSFMike,

Just follow the color code.

This system is feedback driven thru Solution and Kudo flags. It's the only means of knowing if you have been served.
Please click Accept as Solution, if your problem is solved. To say THANK YOU, press the "thumbs up symbol" to render a KUDO. You can render both Solution and KUDO..

Loaner: Envy Omen Windows 10 Home 64 4th Gen Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-4720HQ + NVIDIA GeForce GTX 960M 2GB Discrete Graphics (8GB memory) 128GB SSD
Loaner: HP ENVY 8 5002 Tablet
HP Envy 8 5010 Tablet
(2) HP DV7t i7 3160QM 2.3Ghz 8GB
HP m9200t E8400,Win7 Pro, 4GB RAM, ASUS 550Ti 2GB, Rosewill 630W. 1T HD
Custom Asus P8Z87D, I7-4770k, 16GB RAM, WIN7 Pro 64bit, EVGA GTX670 2GB, 500GB HD SSD, Rosewill Blackhawk case and OCZ 750W.
Printer -- HP OfficeJet Pro 8620
Provost
Posts: 25,537
Member Since: ‎07-17-2009
Message 5 of 6 (4,106 Views)

Re: which slots for dual channel ram

BNSFMike,

 

See your other post.

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
HP DV9700, t9300, Nvidia 8600, 4GB, Crucial C300 128GB SSD
HP ENVY 17t Touch,i7-6500u,6GB, 256 GB SSD (on loan)
HP Photosmart 6520, HP Deskjet 1112
HP Touchpad, HP Chromebook 11
Custom i7-4790k, Z97, 16GB 2400 MHz DDR3, Intel 750 PCI-E SSD, (2)Samsung EVO 840 SSD, Corsair HX650, GTX 980TI, Corsair H75 water cooler
Windows 10 Pro in UEFI mode - production system
Windows 7 and 8 in UEFI mode - test systems
Teacher
Posts: 81
Member Since: ‎01-14-2011
Message 6 of 6 (4,098 Views)

Re: which slots for dual channel ram

Thank you.

 

† The opinions expressed above are the personal opinions of the authors, not of HP. By using this site, you accept the Terms of Use and Rules of Participation