Question

Student
kevinlol
Message 1 of 2 (11,952 Views)

1 short beep, 1 long beep. Resetting memory. Other solutions besides contacting HP support.

My HP Desktop was working fine last night. I just installed all expansions of Guild Wars and all the maps, so it was quite a bit of files. And that's on top of a whole bunch of games. This could be the problem.

It was playing perfectly, and my computer was running fast outside of the game. I go to sleep and turn off my computer. The next morning (today) I go to turn on my computer and it won't turn on. The monitor says no input (When the wires are clearly attached right) and my Tower is beeping. 1 short beep followed by 1 long beep. I researched this and it means a memory problem to my knowledge.

I'm pretty good with fixing computers, so I'm no novice. I believe if given the right steps, I can fix this myself without taking it in to a professional and paying money which I don't have.

I looked this up, and I found answers saying I should reset my memory. How would I go about doing that? Here is a picture of the inside of my computer: http://oi52.tinypic.com/2ibdpps.jpg

That is the best pic I could take, and it is not a virus ~ Tinypic is a legit site for hosting pictures.

Anyway. The computer is about 4 years old and hasn't been used in about 7 months. So it is quite dusty, is there any other method besides buying compressed air to clean out the dust on the fans and inside the computer?

And if it is not a memory problem where I have to reset the memory...what is the problem?

Again:

-I'm trying to reset my memory
-Computer won't start ~ it makes 1 short beep followed by 1 long beep.
-How would I go about fixing this to getting it back to normal?
-What caused this? It was running absolutely perfect last night
-Is there any other method to cleaning the dust out? It is very dusty on the fans in particular.

Thank you.

Provost
Big_Dave
Message 2 of 2 (11,921 Views)