Question

Top Student
PAPowers
Message 1 of 14 (1,839 Views)
Accepted Solution

2nd hard drive

I hope someone can help me before I return the computer.

I just purchased a HP Envy 700-074 from best Buy and I wanted to add a second hard drive.  I have been putting computers together for 30 years and have never had a problem till now.  I called HP tech support and they told me that to give me the information I needed, I had to pay them.  I will return the computer before I accept that as an answer.

Does anyone know why it may not be acknowleging the second HD

Computer info is:

HP Envy 700-074

Product H5Q09AA#ABA

It has 4 available connections, 2 are being used, one by the seagate 2 TB HD and one by the DVD drive.  I am trying to add another seagate 2 TB HD.  The operating system is windows 8.  I am probably missing something simple so I would apreciate help.  If I do not get an answer within a week I will just return the computer and purchase from another company.  I have purchased a lot of items from HP and this is the 1st time I have ever been so disappointed in them in helping out a person with a question. They can usually send you info or tell you where to look.

Associate Dean
wb2001
Message 2 of 14 (1,829 Views)

Re: 2nd hard drive

[ Edited ]

Installing a new hard drive is not a daunting task, and should be easy for a 30yr veteran of CPU's. You need to have purchased a Sata data lead first. Hook up Sata data lead between the motherboard Sata header, and hard dive. Then locate a Sata power plug from the PSU for the hard drive.

Partitioning a hard drive. You must create at least 1 partition.

When you create partitions on a basic disk using Disk Management, the first three volumes you can create will be formatted as primary partitions. Beginning with the fourth volume, each volume will be configured as a logical drive within an extended partition. For more information, see What are partitions and logical drives?

1. Press START button