cbair
Message 1 of 8 (437 Views)
Accepted Solution

Added memory, but PC doesn't see it

I have an HP m7350n desktop running WinXP SP2

The memory was still stock until my recent upgrade

Per the specs, it had 2GB memory. Confirmed with dxdiag

Also per specs, it has a max of 4GB

Specs: http://h10025.www1.hp.com/ewfrf/wc/document?docname=c00585745&cc=ad&dlc=en&lc=en&jumpid=reg_r1002_us...

I added two new 1GB sticks in the two open slots. I left the old memory where it was, so the old and new memory alternate slots.

I added 2xKingstonKVR400D2N3/1G 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 400 (PC2 3200)

(http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820134178)

This appears to match the specs (I'll admit Im a novice at this stuff).

Physically, the new memory was shorter then the old. I feel confident the new memory is seated and secured properly

After the upgrade, dxdiag still claims I have 2GB of memory (2048MB).

Any suggestions on what I may have done wrong, or what I should check? I'd like to get this to 4GB.

I assume it doesn't impact the memory issue, but I also upgraded the power supply and video card at the same time (sound no longer exists, but that will be a separate post)

Thanks for any pointers

Provost
banhien
Message 2 of 8 (409 Views)

Re: Added memory, but PC doesn't see it

Hi,

Can you see them in BIOS ? This tells the RAM is not the same:

http://www.crucial.com/upgrade/HP+-+Compaq-memory/Media+Center+PC/Media+Center+m7350n-upgrades.html

Regards.

BH
**Click the KUDOS thumb up on the left to say 'Thanks'**
Make it easier for other people to find solutions by marking a Reply 'Accept as Solution' if it solves your problem.
Regents Professor
Hanspuppa
Message 3 of 8 (407 Views)

[ Edited ]

Hellocbair, As banhien suggested, the memory you purchased appears to not be supported for your HP system.

The Crucial site does list the certified compatible memory for your system.