Question
Reply
 
Top Student
carlosthecat
Posts: 5
Member Since: ‎09-27-2013
Message 1 of 8 (371 Views)
Accepted Solution

Adding LightScribe DVD Writer to my Envy 700-060ea

I have opened my machine and had a quick look with a view to adding a LightScribe DVD burner and although I can see plenty of plugs to provide the power, I can't see any data (sata) connectors to plug into the second drive.

Provost
erico
Posts: 25,110
Member Since: ‎01-07-2009
Message 2 of 8 (339 Views)

Re: Adding LightScribe DVD Writer to my Envy 700-060ea

[ Edited ]

There are four sata ports on the Kalil motherboard of your desktop PC.

sata ports.png

 

You will have to buy a SATA cable to connect between your new LightScribe DVD Writer and an unused port. You can buy them at any electronics shop, including your local Walmart. 

 

 





Help others seeking a solution by clicking on the "Accept As Solution" button if my suggestion resolves the issue you were having
****I am a volunteer, I don't work for Microsoft or HP****


2014 Microsoft MVP - Microsoft Windows Expert - Consumer

Top Student
carlosthecat
Posts: 5
Member Since: ‎09-27-2013
Message 3 of 8 (336 Views)

Re: Adding LightScribe DVD Writer to my Envy 700-060ea

Thank you, I will take a cable from the old machine.

Top Student
carlosthecat
Posts: 5
Member Since: ‎09-27-2013
Message 4 of 8 (246 Views)

Re: Adding LightScribe DVD Writer to my Envy 700-060ea

Well I used a sata cable from the old machine.

It plays a DVD ok with sound.

It burns data to a CD-R disc ok

But, when I try to use the LightScribe function to label a disc, it just comes up with a communication error (4224).

I have installed the drivers for LightScribe etc :-(

 

Running Windows 8, i7, 16Gb etc.

Provost
erico
Posts: 25,110
Member Since: ‎01-07-2009
Message 5 of 8 (221 Views)

Re: Adding LightScribe DVD Writer to my Envy 700-060ea

[ Edited ]

Was this a new optical drive?

 

How to get started with LightScribe





Help others seeking a solution by clicking on the "Accept As Solution" button if my suggestion resolves the issue you were having
****I am a volunteer, I don't work for Microsoft or HP****


2014 Microsoft MVP - Microsoft Windows Expert - Consumer

Top Student
carlosthecat
Posts: 5
Member Since: ‎09-27-2013
Message 6 of 8 (204 Views)

Re: Adding LightScribe DVD Writer to my Envy 700-060ea

I took the drive out of a Dell Dimension E520, it was working fine in that?

Provost
erico
Posts: 25,110
Member Since: ‎01-07-2009
Message 7 of 8 (199 Views)

Re: Adding LightScribe DVD Writer to my Envy 700-060ea

[ Edited ]

Did the Dell have the same OS installed as in your Envy AIO Desktop PC?





Help others seeking a solution by clicking on the "Accept As Solution" button if my suggestion resolves the issue you were having
****I am a volunteer, I don't work for Microsoft or HP****


2014 Microsoft MVP - Microsoft Windows Expert - Consumer

Top Student
carlosthecat
Posts: 5
Member Since: ‎09-27-2013
Message 8 of 8 (192 Views)

Re: Adding LightScribe DVD Writer to my Envy 700-060ea

Sorry should have said, the Dell was running Vista, 32.

This machine is Windows 8, 64

† The opinions expressed above are the personal opinions of the authors, not of HP. By using this site, you accept the Terms of Use and Rules of Participation