Question
Reply
Top Student
Posts: 5
Member Since: ‎09-27-2013
Message 1 of 8 (466 Views)
Accepted Solution

Adding LightScribe DVD Writer to my Envy 700-060ea

I have opened my machine and had a quick look with a view to adding a LightScribe DVD burner and although I can see plenty of plugs to provide the power, I can't see any data (sata) connectors to plug into the second drive.

Reply
0
Accepted Solution

Re: Adding LightScribe DVD Writer to my Envy 700-060ea

There are four sata ports on the Kalil motherboard of your desktop PC.

sata ports.png

 

You will have to buy a SATA cable to connect between your new LightScribe DVD Writer and an unused port. You can buy them at any electronics shop, including your local Walmart. 

 

 

View solution in context
Provost
Posts: 34,443
Member Since: ‎01-07-2009
Message 2 of 8 (434 Views)

Re: Adding LightScribe DVD Writer to my Envy 700-060ea

[ Edited ]

There are four sata ports on the Kalil motherboard of your desktop PC.

sata ports.png

 

You will have to buy a SATA cable to connect between your new LightScribe DVD Writer and an unused port. You can buy them at any electronics shop, including your local Walmart. 

 

 

****Please click on Accept As Solution if a suggestion solves your problem or answers your question. Doing that will help others facing the same problem to find a solution easily, just because you shared it. ****

2015 Microsoft MVP - Windows Experience

Top Student
Posts: 5
Member Since: ‎09-27-2013
Message 3 of 8 (431 Views)

Re: Adding LightScribe DVD Writer to my Envy 700-060ea

Thank you, I will take a cable from the old machine.

Top Student
Posts: 5
Member Since: ‎09-27-2013
Message 4 of 8 (341 Views)

Re: Adding LightScribe DVD Writer to my Envy 700-060ea

Well I used a sata cable from the old machine.

It plays a DVD ok with sound.

It burns data to a CD-R disc ok

But, when I try to use the LightScribe function to label a disc, it just comes up with a communication error (4224).

I have installed the drivers for LightScribe etc :-(

 

Running Windows 8, i7, 16Gb etc.

Provost
Posts: 34,443
Member Since: ‎01-07-2009
Message 5 of 8 (316 Views)

Re: Adding LightScribe DVD Writer to my Envy 700-060ea

[ Edited ]

Was this a new optical drive?

 

How to get started with LightScribe

****Please click on Accept As Solution if a suggestion solves your problem or answers your question. Doing that will help others facing the same problem to find a solution easily, just because you shared it. ****

2015 Microsoft MVP - Windows Experience

Top Student
Posts: 5
Member Since: ‎09-27-2013
Message 6 of 8 (299 Views)

Re: Adding LightScribe DVD Writer to my Envy 700-060ea

I took the drive out of a Dell Dimension E520, it was working fine in that?

Provost
Posts: 34,443
Member Since: ‎01-07-2009
Message 7 of 8 (294 Views)

Re: Adding LightScribe DVD Writer to my Envy 700-060ea

[ Edited ]

Did the Dell have the same OS installed as in your Envy AIO Desktop PC?

****Please click on Accept As Solution if a suggestion solves your problem or answers your question. Doing that will help others facing the same problem to find a solution easily, just because you shared it. ****

2015 Microsoft MVP - Windows Experience

Top Student
Posts: 5
Member Since: ‎09-27-2013
Message 8 of 8 (287 Views)

Re: Adding LightScribe DVD Writer to my Envy 700-060ea

Sorry should have said, the Dell was running Vista, 32.

This machine is Windows 8, 64

† The opinions expressed above are the personal opinions of the authors, not of HP. By using this site, you accept the Terms of Use and Rules of Participation