Question
Reply
 
Top Student
carlosthecat
Posts: 5
Member Since: ‎09-27-2013
Message 1 of 8 (393 Views)
Accepted Solution

Adding LightScribe DVD Writer to my Envy 700-060ea

I have opened my machine and had a quick look with a view to adding a LightScribe DVD burner and although I can see plenty of plugs to provide the power, I can't see any data (sata) connectors to plug into the second drive.

Provost
erico
Posts: 26,529
Member Since: ‎01-07-2009
Message 2 of 8 (361 Views)

Re: Adding LightScribe DVD Writer to my Envy 700-060ea

[ Edited ]

There are four sata ports on the Kalil motherboard of your desktop PC.

sata ports.png

 

You will have to buy a SATA cable to connect between your new LightScribe DVD Writer and an unused port. You can buy them at any electronics shop, including your local Walmart. 

 

 





Help others by clicking on the "Accept As Solution" button if my suggestion resolves the issue you were having
****I am a volunteer, I don't work for Microsoft or HP****
You can say thanks by clicking on the Kudos thumbs up icon


2014 Microsoft MVP - Microsoft Windows Expert - Consumer

Top Student
carlosthecat
Posts: 5
Member Since: ‎09-27-2013
Message 3 of 8 (358 Views)

Re: Adding LightScribe DVD Writer to my Envy 700-060ea

Thank you, I will take a cable from the old machine.

Top Student
carlosthecat
Posts: 5
Member Since: ‎09-27-2013
Message 4 of 8 (268 Views)

Re: Adding LightScribe DVD Writer to my Envy 700-060ea

Well I used a sata cable from the old machine.

It plays a DVD ok with sound.

It burns data to a CD-R disc ok

But, when I try to use the LightScribe function to label a disc, it just comes up with a communication error (4224).

I have installed the drivers for LightScribe etc :-(

 

Running Windows 8, i7, 16Gb etc.

Provost
erico
Posts: 26,529
Member Since: ‎01-07-2009
Message 5 of 8 (243 Views)

Re: Adding LightScribe DVD Writer to my Envy 700-060ea

[ Edited ]

Was this a new optical drive?

 

How to get started with LightScribe





Help others by clicking on the "Accept As Solution" button if my suggestion resolves the issue you were having
****I am a volunteer, I don't work for Microsoft or HP****
You can say thanks by clicking on the Kudos thumbs up icon


2014 Microsoft MVP - Microsoft Windows Expert - Consumer

Top Student
carlosthecat
Posts: 5
Member Since: ‎09-27-2013
Message 6 of 8 (226 Views)

Re: Adding LightScribe DVD Writer to my Envy 700-060ea

I took the drive out of a Dell Dimension E520, it was working fine in that?

Provost
erico
Posts: 26,529
Member Since: ‎01-07-2009
Message 7 of 8 (221 Views)

Re: Adding LightScribe DVD Writer to my Envy 700-060ea

[ Edited ]

Did the Dell have the same OS installed as in your Envy AIO Desktop PC?





Help others by clicking on the "Accept As Solution" button if my suggestion resolves the issue you were having
****I am a volunteer, I don't work for Microsoft or HP****
You can say thanks by clicking on the Kudos thumbs up icon


2014 Microsoft MVP - Microsoft Windows Expert - Consumer

Top Student
carlosthecat
Posts: 5
Member Since: ‎09-27-2013
Message 8 of 8 (214 Views)

Re: Adding LightScribe DVD Writer to my Envy 700-060ea

Sorry should have said, the Dell was running Vista, 32.

This machine is Windows 8, 64

† The opinions expressed above are the personal opinions of the authors, not of HP. By using this site, you accept the Terms of Use and Rules of Participation