Question
Reply
 
Top Student
ruccc
Posts: 6
Member Since: ‎05-15-2014
Message 1 of 10 (151 Views)

Can't use 3TB hard disk on my HPE-002

Hi,

I am a proud owner of an HPE-002. I was using it with the 1TB hard disk, but recently I bought a 250GB Samsung 840 EVO SSD and two Seagate 3TB. What I want to do witht hem is:

  • 1x 250GB SSD for Windows 8.1
  • 2x 3TB HDD in RAID 1 for files
  • 1x 1TB HDD for files

Problem: my computer doesn't support 3TB HDD, and they are shown as if they were 746,5GB. This is a common problem, what I have to do is to update the Intel Rapid Storage Technology. I can download this software at the last version (version 13), and it recognizes the 3TB and I am able to use the 3TB from the OS.

But the problem is that I need to update the Intel Rapid Storage Technology component for the BIOS (ROM) in order to do the RAID. And I can not do it, because HP doesn't provide more updates for the BIOS than the last one (5.13) wich has the version 8.9 of Intel RST (which still doesn't support 3TB). And I can't install it from ROM file, because there is no way to do it on this MSI OEM BIOS...

 

So? What can I do? How can I solve this problem?

It seems that HP doesn't offer more support on this computer, and I am not able to use 3TB HDD...

 

Thank you!

Provost
Big_Dave
Posts: 20,506
Member Since: ‎07-17-2009
Message 2 of 10 (130 Views)

Re: Can't use 3TB hard disk on my HPE-002

[ Edited ]

Hi,

 

You can't RAID 3TB hard drives using the Intel hardware.

 

Since you have Windows 8.1, then try a storage space.

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
HP e9280t, i7-960, 12GB, Vertex 3 120, ATI 4850
HP DV9700, t9300, Nvidia 8600, 4GB, Crucial C300 128GB SSD
HP Photosmart Premium C309G, HP Photosmart 6520
HP Touchpad
Custom i7-4770k,Z-87, 8GB, Vertex 3 SSD, Samsung EVO SSD, Corsair HX650,GTX 760
Custom i7-4790k,Z-97, 16GB, Vertex 3 SSD, Plextor M.2 SSD, Samsung EVO SSD, Corsair HX650, GTX 660TI
Windows 7/8 UEFI/Legacy mode, MBR/GPT
Top Student
ruccc
Posts: 6
Member Since: ‎05-15-2014
Message 3 of 10 (122 Views)

Re: Can't use 3TB hard disk on my HPE-002

Thanks Big Dave, I didn't know that...

I just find that now it is possible (https://communities.intel.com/thread/22830), would there be a way of doing it in my HPe-002?

 

Thanks!

Top Student
ruccc
Posts: 6
Member Since: ‎05-15-2014
Message 4 of 10 (118 Views)

Re: Can't use 3TB hard disk on my HPE-002

Also,

I found there is a update for this BIOS that is not shown in the page of drivers updates for HPE-002.

http://h10025.www1.hp.com/ewfrf/wc/softwareDownloadIndex?cc=es&lc=es&dlc=es&softwareitem=cp-102174-1

 

I have version 5.13 (which is the last version for my BIOS that I can see in the website for my computer model), but there I see version 6.18. Should I update to this version? Or maybe not, if is not listed in my compuuter models updates?

Provost
Big_Dave
Posts: 20,506
Member Since: ‎07-17-2009
Message 5 of 10 (115 Views)

Re: Can't use 3TB hard disk on my HPE-002

[ Edited ]

Hi,

 

The BIOS update is not going to help from what I can tell.

 

The link to the Intel site is dead.

 

 

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
HP e9280t, i7-960, 12GB, Vertex 3 120, ATI 4850
HP DV9700, t9300, Nvidia 8600, 4GB, Crucial C300 128GB SSD
HP Photosmart Premium C309G, HP Photosmart 6520
HP Touchpad
Custom i7-4770k,Z-87, 8GB, Vertex 3 SSD, Samsung EVO SSD, Corsair HX650,GTX 760
Custom i7-4790k,Z-97, 16GB, Vertex 3 SSD, Plextor M.2 SSD, Samsung EVO SSD, Corsair HX650, GTX 660TI
Windows 7/8 UEFI/Legacy mode, MBR/GPT
Top Student
ruccc
Posts: 6
Member Since: ‎05-15-2014
Message 6 of 10 (112 Views)

Re: Can't use 3TB hard disk on my HPE-002

[ Edited ]
Provost
Big_Dave
Posts: 20,506
Member Since: ‎07-17-2009
Message 7 of 10 (108 Views)

Re: Can't use 3TB hard disk on my HPE-002

Nope.

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
HP e9280t, i7-960, 12GB, Vertex 3 120, ATI 4850
HP DV9700, t9300, Nvidia 8600, 4GB, Crucial C300 128GB SSD
HP Photosmart Premium C309G, HP Photosmart 6520
HP Touchpad
Custom i7-4770k,Z-87, 8GB, Vertex 3 SSD, Samsung EVO SSD, Corsair HX650,GTX 760
Custom i7-4790k,Z-97, 16GB, Vertex 3 SSD, Plextor M.2 SSD, Samsung EVO SSD, Corsair HX650, GTX 660TI
Windows 7/8 UEFI/Legacy mode, MBR/GPT
Top Student
ruccc
Posts: 6
Member Since: ‎05-15-2014
Message 8 of 10 (107 Views)

Re: Can't use 3TB hard disk on my HPE-002

Provost
Big_Dave
Posts: 20,506
Member Since: ‎07-17-2009
Message 9 of 10 (104 Views)

Re: Can't use 3TB hard disk on my HPE-002

Hi,

 

You still have the issue with the Intel option ROM per your first post.

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
HP e9280t, i7-960, 12GB, Vertex 3 120, ATI 4850
HP DV9700, t9300, Nvidia 8600, 4GB, Crucial C300 128GB SSD
HP Photosmart Premium C309G, HP Photosmart 6520
HP Touchpad
Custom i7-4770k,Z-87, 8GB, Vertex 3 SSD, Samsung EVO SSD, Corsair HX650,GTX 760
Custom i7-4790k,Z-97, 16GB, Vertex 3 SSD, Plextor M.2 SSD, Samsung EVO SSD, Corsair HX650, GTX 660TI
Windows 7/8 UEFI/Legacy mode, MBR/GPT
Top Student
ruccc
Posts: 6
Member Since: ‎05-15-2014
Message 10 of 10 (102 Views)

Re: Can't use 3TB hard disk on my HPE-002

Ok Big_Dave, thank for your support!

I will try to do it with the Windows tool.

† The opinions expressed above are the personal opinions of the authors, not of HP. By using this site, you accept the Terms of Use and Rules of Participation