Question
Guide for Selecting a Discrete Video Card
Replies (247)
Reply
 
Honor Student
X-Calibar
Posts: 3
Member Since: ‎07-14-2013
Message 171 of 248 (803 Views)

Re: Guide for Selecting a Discrete Video Card

Hi Speed,

I actually paid the full price of 289.99$ with free 2day shipping, but reading reviews of competing cards led me to believe that this was a solid choice, and I do load some extra large textures from time to time.

Have purchased EVGA cards in the past, and haven't been disappointed so far~

Tutor
Speed20103
Posts: 17
Member Since: ‎06-30-2013
Message 172 of 248 (789 Views)

Re: Guide for Selecting a Discrete Video Card

Hi Caliber,

wanna send me that spare HD7450? :
Student
tim_k
Posts: 1
Member Since: ‎07-27-2013
Message 173 of 248 (773 Views)

Re: Guide for Selecting a Discrete Video Card

Hi Dave,

 

I have a hp pavillion m9373 and its almost 5 years old now.

 

A couple of weeks ago my graphics card died and Im looking for a replacement.

 

I saw this:

http://www.amazon.co.uk/VTX3D-Graphics-128-Bit-PCI-Express-Architecture/dp/B0078XMRF8/ref=dp_return_...

 

and I was wondering if it will be compatible with my motherboard and psu.

 

The manufacturers site says that it needs a minimum of 400w.

http://www.vtx3d.com/products_features.asp?id=113

 

Hp's product page says that my psu is 460w, will that be ok for playing games?

http://h10025.www1.hp.com/ewfrf/wc/document?docname=c01510905&tmp_task=prodinfoCategory&cc=uk&dlc=en...

 

 

The hd7750 is pcie 3.0 and I cant tell from the hp support pages what my pcie port is (a 1.0 I suspect).

Will the card be compatible?

 

Or if you can recommend a card with similar or better performance for the same price or less I would be grateful.

 

Thanks in advance.

 

 

 

Tutor
Speed20103
Posts: 17
Member Since: ‎06-30-2013
Message 174 of 248 (764 Views)

Re: Guide for Selecting a Discrete Video Card

Hi Tim_k!

Your motherboard is PCI E 1.1 X16 ark.intel.com/m/products/31914/Intel-82G33-Graphics-and-Memory-Controller

I have a similar situation to yours. My motherboard is also 1.1 while the card I wish to purchase is 3.0 . I wasn't sure about compatibility. I emailed some GPU manufactures. Zotac and Palit said there Nvidia cards are backwards compatible. I read some the AMD 7000 seriea doesn't work in 1.1
Tutor
Speed20103
Posts: 17
Member Since: ‎06-30-2013
Message 175 of 248 (761 Views)

Re: Guide for Selecting a Discrete Video Card

Student
Laneg004
Posts: 1
Member Since: ‎08-01-2013
Message 176 of 248 (731 Views)

Re: Guide for Selecting a Discrete Video Card

[ Edited ]

Hi,

I'm trying to get the following video card to work in my H8-1020 (Windows 7)
NVIDIA Quadro K600

 

The chipset in the H8-1020 is Intel H61 so from what I can tell, I have a PCI-E 2.0 16x slot which is what the card calls for.

This PC shipped with a Radeon HD6570 installed so I removed that card and installed the Quadro.

 

When I turn on the computer, I get POST from BIOS but it won't go any further. It just sits on the screen telling me I can press ESC to enter setup but pressing ESC does nothing. No beeps either.

 

I reconnected the stock video card looking for an option to disable secure boot but the option does not exist in the BIOS.

 

Under 'boot order' in the BIOS, I tried disabling all the UEFI devices and leaving only legacy devices active but that did not help.

Bios is v7.16 which is the latest and I tried reflashing it but that didn't help either.

I also tried accessing the BIOS while using the onboard video but that also did not help. Under the security menu, there is still no option for 'Secure Boot Configuration'.

 

I tried pulling the battery on the mobo - didn't help.

I tried resetting BIOS to defaults - didn't help.

 

At this point, I am trying to figure out if the problem is that the card is simply incompatible or if there is some setting in the BIOS that is preventing the card from working. I don't think I need a larger power supply only because the HD6570 appears to consume more power than the K600 does.

 

Thanks!

Honor Student
stecina
Posts: 2
Member Since: ‎08-02-2013
Message 177 of 248 (689 Views)

Re: Guide for Selecting a Discrete Video Card

I've got an Envy 700xt Desktop which I have upgraded the PSU to 650 Watts and now I'm looking for a video card to replace the standard 1GB AMD Radeon HD 7670.  I noticed that the clips for RAM on this motherboard interfere with components on larger video cards.

 

I'm wanting to upgrade to an HD 7790 or a GTX660 or so and wonder if installation will be a problem.

 

The HD7790 I'm looking at can be seen here, and the GTX660 can be seen here.  Do you see a problem?  How does one install a larger discrete video card and have RAM cards installed simultaneously?

 

Student
moodybluetwo
Posts: 1
Member Since: ‎08-17-2013
Message 178 of 248 (622 Views)

Re: Guide for Selecting a Discrete Video Card

Hello. I have a HP PC a6110.uk desktop PC with integrated graphics. I would like to fit a graphics card and I have an available slot….my question is…if I fitted the card would it work straight away e.g.  plug and play….or do I have to alter the bios settings?

Bill

Student
FrancescoB
Posts: 1
Member Since: ‎09-12-2013
Message 179 of 248 (537 Views)

Re: Guide for Selecting a Discrete Video Card

I have just bought a HP desktop Pavilion p6-2440el, but I immediately noticed that the graphics card (GeForce GT 630) is underpowered.

 

Can I put a dual slot graphics card (like GeForce GTX560) on the motherboard (Joshua-H61-uATX)? Of course I'll have to change also the power supply.

 

Thanks in advance.

Honor Student
brcummi
Posts: 3
Member Since: ‎05-15-2013
Message 180 of 248 (460 Views)

Re: Guide for Selecting a Discrete Video Card

Hello,

I would just like to post the results of my upgrade so that it might benefit others.

I have an old HPE-171F. It came with a Geforce GTX 260 and a 460W power supply.

I upgraded about a month ago to use an ASUS Geforce GTX 660 (GTX660-DC2T-2GD5). I kept my power supply as is, because the 660 only requires a 450W and everything I have read says that the 660 has less power requirements than the older 260.

I had to remove the metal brace that kept the older card securely positioned, but otherwise the card fit fine. The lack of the metal brace means that it is not completely rigid, but it has not seemed to cause any problems.

The cooling pipes on the new card also caused me to have to snip the cable guide for all of the power cables and re-route them around the card instead of over.

And I am quite happy with the increased performance in all of my video games :smileyhappy:

† The opinions expressed above are the personal opinions of the authors, not of HP. By using this site, you accept the Terms of Use and Rules of Participation