Question
Reply
 
Honor Student
KellyJosh
Posts: 3
Member Since: ‎03-15-2010
Message 1 of 15 (8,657 Views)

HP Pavillion desktop computer will not power up.

[ Edited ]
 
Provost
Big_Dave
Posts: 20,186
Member Since: ‎07-17-2009
Message 2 of 15 (8,634 Views)

Re: HP Pavilion desktop computer will not power up.

[ Edited ]

Do you have some more information to share?  PC model?  Beeps when you power up? HP blue screen is visible?  Did you experience a power outage when you were running your PC?

 

Unplug your PC and open it up. Is there a lot of dust around the fans and the inside?

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
HP e9280t, i7-960, 12GB, Vertex 3 120, ATI 4850
HP DV9700, t9300, Nvidia 8600, 4GB, Crucial C300 128GB SSD
HP Photosmart Premium C309G, HP Photosmart 6520
HP Touchpad
Custom i7-4770k,Z-87, 8GB, Vertex 3 SSD, Samsung EVO SSD, Corsair HX650,GTX 760
Custom i7-4790k,Z-97, 16GB, Vertex 3 SSD, Samsung EVO SSD, Corsair HX650, GTX 660TI
Windows 7/8 UEFI/Legacy mode, MBR/GPT
Student
ranhood
Posts: 1
Member Since: ‎03-16-2010
Message 3 of 15 (8,605 Views)

Re: HP Pavilion will not power up. Reset switch or fuse???

I've got same problem.  a1647c HP Pav.  No power.  Small, green LED on back illuminates when plugged in. I've opened up, dusted out, pulled off front face panel.  Undone power button.  Disconnected and reconnected wire harness that connects to waferboard.  Still no LOVE! 

 

Even removed cooling fan, cleaned, replaced on back of motherboard.  Just no juice coming in!  Wire connections on back of power button, with black and red wires appear to be in good shape.  No illumination besides green LED on back right near where power cord plugs into system.

 

Is there a reset switch or fuse of some sort??  I very much appreciate any time and effort! 

tks!!

-r

Student
ledwon37
Posts: 1
Member Since: ‎03-17-2010
Message 4 of 15 (8,596 Views)

Re: HP Pavilion will not power up. Reset switch or fuse???

HP Pavilion A6602f.  Same issue.  A fuse blew in my place and upon replacing it, the computer was just dead.  Did everything through HP Support online, nothing.  Called in and the guy had me try a bunch of things and ultimately determined that my motherboard was fried.  Just outside of warranty and a replacement motherboard costs $448.  That's a little more than half of what i paid for the computer to begin with. 

 

I have seen motherboards on the market ranging from $65 to $500 and I'm not sure if a cheap-o motherboard wouldn't suffice for now.  I don't wish to spend 7 or 8 hundred dollars a year for a new computer. Does the motherboard HAVE to be from HP?  My warrantyis done anyway so it doesnt affect that.  I'm just looking for some honest answers here.  It's very frustrating and the only offered solution was to purchase a new computer.  Any thoughts?

Provost
Big_Dave
Posts: 20,186
Member Since: ‎07-17-2009
Message 5 of 15 (8,576 Views)

Re: HP Pavilion will not power up. Reset switch or fuse???

If you chose to not use a HP motherboard then your HP recovery disks will not work.  You might also encounter a Windows not being genuine issue but you can call Microsoft and solve that issue.

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
HP e9280t, i7-960, 12GB, Vertex 3 120, ATI 4850
HP DV9700, t9300, Nvidia 8600, 4GB, Crucial C300 128GB SSD
HP Photosmart Premium C309G, HP Photosmart 6520
HP Touchpad
Custom i7-4770k,Z-87, 8GB, Vertex 3 SSD, Samsung EVO SSD, Corsair HX650,GTX 760
Custom i7-4790k,Z-97, 16GB, Vertex 3 SSD, Samsung EVO SSD, Corsair HX650, GTX 660TI
Windows 7/8 UEFI/Legacy mode, MBR/GPT
Student
mcqueendonm
Posts: 1
Member Since: ‎10-19-2012
Message 6 of 15 (4,599 Views)

Re: HP Pavilion will not power up. Reset switch or fuse???

Is there a reset switch or fuse on the HP Pavillion a805n computer. Unit fails to power up when switch is pressed.

Honor Student
ShadyTidus
Posts: 2
Member Since: ‎10-25-2012
Message 7 of 15 (4,513 Views)

Re: HP Pavilion will not power up. Reset switch or fuse???

Just to have you guys try something and im not promising it works, had the same issue on an older tower, for the heck of it i pulled the HDD and put it into my main desktop THEN the main desktop had the same error till i disconnected, Try a different HDD, was told the HDD power was fried and pulling too much from the power supply to boot the comp.
Associate Dean
wb2001
Posts: 4,942
Member Since: ‎09-28-2010
Message 8 of 15 (4,500 Views)

Re: HP Pavilion will not power up. Reset switch or fuse???

mcqueendonm,

You have unforunately hi-jacked a 2 yr old post/reply,

 

Please post as a new item, and you will be better served.

The Law of Effect states that positive reinforcement increases the probability of a behavior being repeated. (B.F.Skinner). You toss me points, and I perform better.

To say THANK YOU, press the white "thumbs up" on the left, to render a KUDO.
Please click Accept as Solution, just to the right of my reply if your problem is solved.
You can render both Solution and KUDO

(2) HP DV7t i7 3160QM 2.3Ghz 8GB
HP m9200t CTO,Win7 Pro 32 bit. 4GB RAM, ASUS 550Ti 2GB, Rosewill 630W. 1T HD SATA 3Gb/s
Custom Asus P8P67 board, I7-2600k, WIN7 Pro 64bit, GTX670 2GB, 16GB RAM, 750W OCZ, 1T HD SATA 6Gb/s
Printer -- OfficeJet Pro 8600 Plus



Student
apaul
Posts: 1
Member Since: ‎04-17-2013
Message 9 of 15 (3,725 Views)

Re: HP Pavillion desktop computer will not power up.

I was plugging into the USB port in a desk top tower in attempt to recharge a small portable speaker when the tower lost all power.  Cannot power it up.  Is there some sort of fuse mechanism preventing a power up?

Professor
npw05001
Posts: 2,472
Member Since: ‎02-19-2013
Message 10 of 15 (3,716 Views)

Re: HP Pavillion desktop computer will not power up.

Hello apaul,

 

I see that you have a start up problem with your HP computer. I would like to help with this issue but I need some information.

 

Can you provide the model and product number of the computer? Here is a link that shows how to find that information.

Signature
↙-----------How do I give Kudos?| How do I mark a post as Solved? ----------------↓


† The opinions expressed above are the personal opinions of the authors, not of HP. By using this site, you accept the Terms of Use and Rules of Participation