Question

Tutor
DeiDoDei
Message 1 of 18 (11,572 Views)

HP Simplesave WILL NOT RUN! {Read!}

So, I bought my 320 gb HP Simplesave portable about a year ago, It's always worked! and I have saved about 23 GB worth of media on it, And as it usually starts up as soon as its plugged, Today...I plug it in, and it does NOTHING! This is a tragedy! I am a professional video creator and now I don't have my media? What to do?????
I plug it in and I click on , start>computer and usually it says "HP Simplesave" under my standard drives ((local disc c and presario rp-d)) And now it says "DVD RW Drive (E)" I dunno if that was there before...But I know my Simplesave isn't working!!
Not sure if this makes a difference...but, In the past,like when I first bought it, I dropped it from a short range,and about 3 months ago,I was getting it out of my drawer and it fell,on my carpet floor...And today it fell on my carpet floor...:smileyindifferent:  

What is wrong?
Any solutions,Thanks!
((Please, I cannot take solutions that require me to completely start a-new with this drive!))
~DeiDoDei

Provost
DavidPK
Message 2 of 18 (11,569 Views)

Re: HP Simplesave WILL NOT RUN! {Read!}

Hi,

Try plugging it in to a different USB port on your PC.  Then from the Start Menu, click the Control Panel, open Administrative Tools, Computer Management, Storage and then Disk Management.  Does the drive show up here?

Regards,

DP-K

---------------------------------------------------------------------------

****Click the White thumb to say thanks****
****Please mark Accept As Solution if it solves your problem****
****I don't work for HP****

Microsoft MVP - Microsoft Windows Expert - Consumer

Associate Dean
wb2001
Message 3 of 18 (11,562 Views)

The fall has either damaged your hard drive mechanism, or the circuit board connection. The only way to determine is to put your ear to the case, and power up the drive.