Question

Top Student
deadHPPavilion
Message 1 of 6 (11,303 Views)

HP won't let me use DMI utility for tattooing new components to lemon 4 month old Pavilion!

I just had a Pavilion d5000t Core 2 Quad go down on me big time.  I have spent over three weeks researching options to fix and get my data back on components that HP knew were bad but sold them anyway.  I had a mobo, Seagate Barracuda 500gb 7200.11 drive, and one stick of RAM go bad all at once.  After repeated contacts with HP tech support no one will allow me access to the DMI Utility to tattoo the info to be able to use the OS I purchased with this system even after I purchased all the components I needed.  $200-250 for 5 minutes of work is ridiculous.  I have been working on my own computers for 28 years until I get to this roadblock of HP starting to extort money from me for doing my own repair. 

I will get the DMI Utility from someone and the passwords to open them to use on my computer.  If HP does not help in this option to help me, I will let folks know in all my outlet options to disseminate info that does HP no good......I suggest that you email me to assist in this fix.  I am not pleased with HP -- you used to be a good company....... 

Associate Professor
c0rnel
Message 2 of 6 (11,300 Views)

Re: HP won't let me use DMI utility for tattooing new components to lemon 4 month old Pavilion!

Only HP Technicians do the tattooing part as far as I know.

I believe there might be a way last I checked but It may not work as I haven't tested this. Besides Recovery may not work if motherboard/hard drive are changed from the original one.

I believe you can write the dmi information to the hard drive by putting in Recovery Disc 1 for that pc and at boot up hold down or press Control+ backspace for advanced menu then option 1 or 2 should be write dmi information.

Not sure about the motherboard tattoo info being flashed to bios or what not since I've never done this myself.