Question

Tutor
wesleylee99
Message 1 of 13 (1,897 Views)

Issue if using only SATA port 0 and 1 of flawed Sandy Bridge chipset

I've confirmed that I indeed have the flawed Sandy Bridge Chipset as looked at the "system devices" in the device manager (i.e. I have the Intel 6 Series /C200 chipset. 

Now the questiion:  I have the p6780t system with one 1TB hard drive and one DVD drive.   I would assume that only SATA ports 0 and 1 are used.  Now from my understanding of the issue, it is the 3Gbs SATA ports from the H67/P67 chip that is problematic.   Ports 0 and 1 which are the "6 Gbps" ports (but only used at 3Gbs) are OK --the reason being that the clock tree driver for the 6Gbs ports (0 and  1) are OK.   

So if I never use SATA ports 2 to 5, then I would never have a problem. (Obviously, my system is limited).  Appreciate anyone in the know that can respond to this.  Thanks.   (I'm an engineer, so you can get technical with me)

Tutor
wesleylee99
Message 2 of 13 (1,841 Views)

Re: Issue if using only SATA port 0 and 1 of flawed Sandy Bridge chipset

Hi,

Can anyone answer this question?  DaniW got your ears up?

Provost
Big_Dave
Message 3 of 13 (1,837 Views)

Hi Wesley,

My advice is to not play with fire.  Send the PC back.  Your needs may change in the future.

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
HP DV9700, t9300, Nvidia 8600, 4GB, Crucial C300 128GB SSD
HP Photosmart Premium C309G, HP Photosmart 6520
HP Touchpad, HP Chromebook 11
Custom i7-4770k,Z-87, 8GB, Vertex 3 SSD, Samsung EVO SSD, Corsair HX650,GTX 760
Custom i7-4790k,Z-97, 16GB, Vertex 3 SSD, Plextor M.2 SSD, Samsung EVO SSD, Corsair HX650, GTX 660TI
Windows 7/8 UEFI/Legacy mode, MBR/GPT
Top Student
TomTahoe
Message 4 of 13 (1,793 Views)

You can use this utility to see what ports your SATA devices are using and the SATA level of your ports:

http://gigabytedaily.blogspot.com/2011/02/gigabyte-6-series-sata-check.html

Tutor
AySz88