Question
Reply
 
Student
jcarlton2
Posts: 1
Member Since: ‎01-05-2009
Message 1 of 6 (2,355 Views)

Pavilion A1510n won't boot

Pavilion a1510n won't boot.  Black screen with this messages:

BIOS v1.0

OS ROM CheckSum error

 

Can you point me in the right direction?

Thanks

JCarlton

Master's Graduate
Bill_Hicks
Posts: 343
Member Since: ‎11-11-2008
Message 2 of 6 (2,345 Views)

Re: Pavilion A1510n won't boot

[ Edited ]

Try the steps in this hp article:

http://h10025.www1.hp.com/ewfrf/wc/document?lc=en&dlc=en&cc=us&product=3184138&rule=5435&lang=en&doc...

 

 

But Checksum errors are usually bad news.....could be a failed hard drive......or it could be a failed Windows Update or something else like that.

 

Here is another article on Checksum errors:

http://h10025.www1.hp.com/ewfrf/wc/document?docname=c01368145&lc=en&dlc=en&cc=us&lang=en&rule=10238&...

Message Edited by Bill_Hicks on 01-05-2009 12:59 PM
"A riot is the language of the unheard." - Dr. Martin Luther King Jr.
Teacher
Chandu
Posts: 139
Member Since: ‎11-17-2008
Message 3 of 6 (2,342 Views)

Re: Pavilion A1510n won't boot

Hi,

 

The read-only memory (ROM) containing the BIOS program is protected by a checksum value as a double-check that the ROM code is correct. This checksum is compared against the values in the ROM each time the PC is booted and if there is a mismatch, this code is generated.

 

 

The BIOS ROM chip on the motherboard is probably faulty. It could also be another component on the motherboard.

This can also happen if there is any new hardware added to the PC.

Chandu
+Hp Everything is Possible.
Top Student
Docster54
Posts: 6
Member Since: ‎01-26-2009
Message 4 of 6 (2,204 Views)

Re: Pavilion A1510n won't boot

Would adding a new cpu require the BIOS to be reset to prevent an error? My a1540n stays in black screen with a new AMD 64 X2 5600 replacing the X2 4200 originally installed. No beeps, no boot, but put the 4200 back and all is well. BIOS reset needed?
Professor
1badGuard
Posts: 2,491
Member Since: ‎12-09-2008
Message 5 of 6 (2,200 Views)

Re: Pavilion A1510n won't boot

Believe it or not I had a checksum error and by some fluke I had someone mention they replaced their cmos battery so I replaced the cmos battery and all was well.
Student
Caletalley
Posts: 1
Member Since: ‎04-01-2009
Message 6 of 6 (1,808 Views)

Re: Pavilion A1510n won't boot

My good buddy just had this problem with his pavilion a1540n.  He went out and bought a new stick of 2g pc4200 ram to add to the mobo (had 2x1g pc4200 from store). Booted up fine but after about 10 or so mins it crashed.  Kept doing it, he took the memory out and then it boots to a black screen with the BIOS ROM CMOS error.  Put the ram back in and it will boot back up, but crash again after a bit.  We tried switching that with two 1g sticks of the pc4200 hoping that the slots were paired (4 slots on mobo, 2 blue, 2 black) and that was prob; but to the same results.  I've looked around and can't seem to find much to help.  ANy advice/tips would be appreciated.

Thanks,

Cale

† The opinions expressed above are the personal opinions of the authors, not of HP. By using this site, you accept the Terms of Use and Rules of Participation