Question
ProLiant ML350 G6 power problem
Replies (15)
Reply
 
Honor Student
Olsorrows
Posts: 4
Member Since: ‎05-27-2010
Message 11 of 16 (4,925 Views)

Re: ProLiant ML350 G6 power problem

I am having the same problem.  We did troubleshoot the main issue as being an overloaded APC UPS1500.  Server has been plugged into a surge suppressor without any UPS and we have had no lockups that require manual powering on of the server.

 

We had nothing in our event logs that stated there was a power issue.  It was like the server just shot off without a proper powerdown. 

Honor Student
pstacks
Posts: 3
Member Since: ‎06-01-2010
Message 12 of 16 (4,885 Views)

Re: ProLiant ML350 G6 power problem

Also having the same issue on two servers in different locations.  Speaking with support now and am being informed that the ML350 G6 series of servers will not function properly with ANY UPS from APC.  That seems way off-base, especially since there is no documentation indicating such a major issue.

Top Student
Titomahawk
Posts: 6
Member Since: ‎08-12-2009
Message 13 of 16 (4,883 Views)

Re: ProLiant ML350 G6 power problem

I'm on a APC Smartups-1000.

Works perfectly.

Honor Student
pstacks
Posts: 3
Member Since: ‎06-01-2010
Message 14 of 16 (4,882 Views)

Re: ProLiant ML350 G6 power problem

Just hung up with support.  He stated that there is known issues with all APC UPSs.  As of now, there is no official paper stating as such.  He said there should be a bulletin in the near future informing buyers of this gotcha. 

 

I have a customer that doesn't feel like spending a bunch of dough on more than one UPS (he already bought a Back-UPS NS 1250 before I could tell him otherwise).  He pointed me to this site (http://h18004.www1.hp.com/products/quickspecs/13241_div/13241_div.HTML) for specs on supported UPS.  Looks as though they have their own, probably manufactured by a third-party.  Cost is actually better than APC.

Honor Student
pstacks
Posts: 3
Member Since: ‎06-01-2010
Message 15 of 16 (4,859 Views)

Re: ProLiant ML350 G6 power problem

Check out the type of power supply in your server.  Some of the 350s have a high efficiency power supply that has the issue with the APC units.

Student
babu11280
Posts: 1
Member Since: ‎10-23-2011
Message 16 of 16 (2,685 Views)

Re: ProLiant ML350 G6 power problem

You have to check this

1. Your power supply total power consume 450 watt, 750 watt or 1250 watt

2. 1000 VA ups in not proper for the i think

 

That's all

† The opinions expressed above are the personal opinions of the authors, not of HP. By using this site, you accept the Terms of Use and Rules of Participation