Question
Reply
 
Intern
AlbertoHG1
Posts: 35
Member Since: ‎12-08-2012
Message 1 of 13 (216 Views)
Accepted Solution

Processor upgrade for Hp Pavilion p6607c desktop

Hello. I have an Hp Pavilion p6607c desktop with an amd athlon ii x2 220 processor atm and a 500w corsair psu. i was wondering if i could upgrade to an amd phenom ii x4 processor with out problems or if there are any other better processors that i could upgrade to. Only changes that iv made on it are that iv added a Radeon HD 5670. Thanks in advance for any help. 

Provost
erico
Posts: 25,188
Member Since: ‎01-07-2009
Message 2 of 13 (210 Views)

Re: Processor upgrade for Hp Pavilion p6607c desktop

Hi,

 

Yes. You can upgrade to a Phenom II x4 Ensure that the one you choose is  socket AM2+ \  95W TDP and not a Black Edition.

AMD_CPU_Upgrades.jpg

 

 





Help others seeking a solution by clicking on the "Accept As Solution" button if my suggestion resolves the issue you were having
****I am a volunteer, I don't work for Microsoft or HP****


2014 Microsoft MVP - Microsoft Windows Expert - Consumer

Intern
AlbertoHG1
Posts: 35
Member Since: ‎12-08-2012
Message 3 of 13 (194 Views)

Re: Processor upgrade for Hp Pavilion p6607c desktop

well i was thinking of getting the folloing :http://www.ebay.com/itm/FREE-SHIP-AMD-Phenom-II-X4-Processor-965-3-4GHz-AM3-OEM-WITHOUT-FAN-IN-STOCK...

 

but im not sure if this would work. thanks for the help .

Intern
AlbertoHG1
Posts: 35
Member Since: ‎12-08-2012
Message 4 of 13 (191 Views)

Re: Processor upgrade for Hp Pavilion p6607c desktop

and i was also wondering if i had to get a new fan for the phenom x4, or if i could just use the one that cools the amd athlon ii x2 220 for this processor:  http://www.ebay.com/itm/FREE-SHIP-AMD-Phenom-II-X4-Processor-965-3-4GHz-AM3-OEM-WITHOUT-FAN-IN-STOCK...

Provost
lasvegaswireman
Posts: 8,417
Member Since: ‎07-16-2011
Message 5 of 13 (184 Views)

Re: Processor upgrade for Hp Pavilion p6607c desktop

The AMD Phenom II X4 965 Black Edition will not work in your system. The first issue is that it has a TDP rated at 125 watts and the motherboard has a max TDP rating of 95 watts. The second issue is that the AMD Phenom II X4 965 Black Edition has an unlocked clock multiplier for overclocking and your computer doesn't support this feature.

 

Please send KUDOs


Frank
{------------ Please click the "White Kudos" Thumbs Up to say THANKS for helping.
Please click the "Accept As Solution" on my post, if my assistance has solved your issue. ------------V

This is a user supported forum. I am a volunteer and I don't work for HP.

HP 15t-j100 (on loan from HP)
HP 13 Split x2 (on loan from HP)
HP Slate8 Pro (on loan from HP)
HP a1632x - Windows 7, 4GB RAM, AMD Radeon HD 6450
HP p6130y - Windows 7, 8GB RAM, AMD Radeon HD 6450
HP p6320y - Windows 7, 8GB RAM, NVIDIA GT 240
HP p7-1026 - Windows 7, 6GB RAM, AMD Radeon HD 6450
HP p6787c - Windows 7, 8GB RAM, NVIDIA GT 240
Intern
AlbertoHG1
Posts: 35
Member Since: ‎12-08-2012
Message 6 of 13 (181 Views)

Re: Processor upgrade for Hp Pavilion p6607c desktop

ok, do you think you could give me a link of a amd phenom that i could get that is compabitble with my computer? thanks
Provost
erico
Posts: 25,188
Member Since: ‎01-07-2009
Message 7 of 13 (178 Views)

Re: Processor upgrade for Hp Pavilion p6607c desktop


AlbertoHG1 wrote:

well i was thinking of getting the folloing :http://www.ebay.com/itm/FREE-SHIP-AMD-Phenom-II-X4-Processor-965-3-4GHz-AM3-OEM-WITHOUT-FAN-IN-STOCK...

 

but im not sure if this would work. thanks for the help .


It will not work.

The motherboard in your PC only supports Socket AM2+ CPU's.

 

 

Best regards,

erico





Help others seeking a solution by clicking on the "Accept As Solution" button if my suggestion resolves the issue you were having
****I am a volunteer, I don't work for Microsoft or HP****


2014 Microsoft MVP - Microsoft Windows Expert - Consumer

Provost
lasvegaswireman
Posts: 8,417
Member Since: ‎07-16-2011
Message 8 of 13 (172 Views)

Re: Processor upgrade for Hp Pavilion p6607c desktop

[ Edited ]

erico,

 

This is obviously incorrect, as the original AMD Athlon™ II X2 220 CPU in the OP's computer is listed by AMD as an AM3 CPU. This is also confirmed by the fact that HP specs page for the HP Pavilion p6607c Desktop Computer reads;

 

AMD Athlon II X2 220

Operating speed: Up to 2.8 GHz

Number of cores: 2

Socket: AM3

Bus speed: 4000 MHz HT3

 

Based on this information and the fact that HP's listed CPU upgrades for this computer include the AMD Phenom II Quad-Core and AMD Phenom II Triple-Core CPUs, which both appear to be AM3 CPUs, I would feel safe recommending the installation of many of these 95 watt AMD AM3 "C2" stepping CPUs and 95 watt AMD AM3 "C3" stepping CPUs.

 

Please send KUDOs 


Frank
{------------ Please click the "White Kudos" Thumbs Up to say THANKS for helping.
Please click the "Accept As Solution" on my post, if my assistance has solved your issue. ------------V

This is a user supported forum. I am a volunteer and I don't work for HP.

HP 15t-j100 (on loan from HP)
HP 13 Split x2 (on loan from HP)
HP Slate8 Pro (on loan from HP)
HP a1632x - Windows 7, 4GB RAM, AMD Radeon HD 6450
HP p6130y - Windows 7, 8GB RAM, AMD Radeon HD 6450
HP p6320y - Windows 7, 8GB RAM, NVIDIA GT 240
HP p7-1026 - Windows 7, 6GB RAM, AMD Radeon HD 6450
HP p6787c - Windows 7, 8GB RAM, NVIDIA GT 240
Intern
AlbertoHG1
Posts: 35
Member Since: ‎12-08-2012
Message 9 of 13 (163 Views)

Re: Processor upgrade for Hp Pavilion p6607c desktop

could you please look for one that fits? the list gives many options that you posted, but im no expert (though i can install it).
Provost
erico
Posts: 25,188
Member Since: ‎01-07-2009
Message 10 of 13 (144 Views)

Re: Processor upgrade for Hp Pavilion p6607c desktop

[ Edited ]

lasvegaswireman wrote:

erico,

 

This is obviously incorrect, as the original AMD Athlon™ II X2 220 CPU in the OP's computer is listed by AMD as an AM3 CPU. This is also confirmed by the fact that HP specs page for the HP Pavilion p6607c Desktop Computer reads;

 

AMD Athlon II X2 220

Operating speed: Up to 2.8 GHz

Number of cores: 2

Socket: AM3

Bus speed: 4000 MHz HT3

 

Based on this information and the fact that HP's listed CPU upgrades for this computer include the AMD Phenom II Quad-Core and AMD Phenom II Triple-Core CPUs, which both appear to be AM3 CPUs, I would feel safe recommending the installation of many of these 95 watt AMD AM3 "C2" stepping CPUs and 95 watt AMD AM3 "C3" stepping CPUs.

 

Please send KUDOs 


That appears to be a mistake belonging to whomever edited  and published the document. I did not catch the error when I read the document.  With this conflicting information present I don't feel comfortable making any CPU recommendation since the desktop specifications state that only AM2+ processors are support while an AM3 CPU is the default CPU.  That is one document without conflicting information and the other document with conflicting information.

 

Desktop cpecifications

conflict.jpg

 

Motherboard specification document.

 

conflict 2.jpg

 

Best regards,

erico





Help others seeking a solution by clicking on the "Accept As Solution" button if my suggestion resolves the issue you were having
****I am a volunteer, I don't work for Microsoft or HP****


2014 Microsoft MVP - Microsoft Windows Expert - Consumer

† The opinions expressed above are the personal opinions of the authors, not of HP. By using this site, you accept the Terms of Use and Rules of Participation