Question

Student
Jack_Sadler_168
Message 1 of 5 (1,340 Views)

Product Key for Microsoft Word Applications

Hello, recently my mother bought a laptop and she is able to use microsoft applications without problems, without having to insert the product key which was on the bottom of her laptop (note this is not a trial version) (when i say mircosoft applications i mean word, presentation, excell ect) when I got my laptop It came preloaded with microsoft applications but It kept asking me for a product key so the product key (just like my mums did at first, she didnot purchase another product key) which was on the bottom it was not vallied I spoke to a mircosoft advisor who advised me to speak to the company that i bought the laptop from, my laptop is compaq and I'm wondering what to do, if anyone could help me that would be fantastic and as my laptop was advertised as free use of microsoft applications you expect to be able to use them for free & I am a student and in need to be able to complete coursework for studies. The question is how am I going to use it without having to purchase another product key? Thank you

Regents Professor
TheOldMan
Message 2 of 5 (1,331 Views)

Re: Product Key for Microsoft Word Applications

The product key on the laptop is the OS key, not one for any other application.  Microsoft word is not the same as Microsoft Office.(which has Excel, Presentation, etc) However, I think Microsft Works is a free apllication contained on many new computers.  If the features of Microsoft Office is what is needed but free alternative is OpenOffice: http://download.cnet.com/OpenOffice-org/3000-18483_4-10263109.html

Or LibreOffice: http://download.cnet.com/LibreOffice/3000-18483_4-75337651.html

{---------- Please click the "Thumbs Up" to say thanks for helping.
Please click "Accept As Solution" if my help has solved your problem. ----------}

This is a user supported forum. I am a volunteer and I do not work for HP.
PhD Student
WaseemW