Question
Reply
 
Top Student
i_r_humongous
Posts: 9
Member Since: ‎10-26-2011
Message 1 of 29 (12,189 Views)
Accepted Solution

RAM upgrade questions for Elite 8200 i7 Desktop SFF & CMT

[ Edited ]

Hi.

 

I recently purchased 2 Elite 8200 i7's.. lucky me.

The first is SFF, the second is a CMT. SFF as a desktop, CMT and a home ESX box.

 

This is my plan.

I will remove the current RAM from the CMT and put it into my SFF brining it up to 8GB.

Then, I will buy 16GB for the CMT..

1) What is the lowest CAS latency RAM I can buy for this machine? (240 pin DDR3 PC3-10600 1333MHz)

 

Secondly, when the 8GB sticks are priced reasonably, I will fully populate the CMT, moving the 16GB to the SFF.

Given that both boxes can use the same type of RAM..

2) What is the maximum RAM the CMT can take, I have seen 32GB and 16GB quoted in different places.

 

Thanks.

Provost
lasvegaswireman
Posts: 8,369
Member Since: ‎07-16-2011
Message 2 of 29 (12,153 Views)

Re: RAM upgrade questions for Elite 8200 i7 Desktop SFF & CMT

A link to the specs of all three form factors;

HP Compaq 8200 Elite Series Quick Specs

 

The above link gives you plenty of info about the Elite 8200 series but it doesn't spec the latency of RAM modules. I would match the latency of the existing modules or get somethingwith a little less latency. Remember that you want all matching memory for use in these dual-channel systems. 16GB is the listed max. for both the SFF and the CMT.

 

Frank


Frank
{------------ Please click the "White Kudos" Thumbs Up to say THANKS for helping.
Please click the "Accept As Solution" on my post, if my assistance has solved your issue. ------------V

This is a user supported forum. I am a volunteer and I don't work for HP.

HP 15t-j100 (on loan from HP)
HP 13 Split x2 (on loan from HP)
HP Slate8 Pro (on loan from HP)
HP a1632x - Windows 7, 4GB RAM, AMD Radeon HD 6450
HP p6130y - Windows 7, 8GB RAM, AMD Radeon HD 6450
HP p6320y - Windows 7, 8GB RAM, NVIDIA GT 240
HP p7-1026 - Windows 7, 6GB RAM, AMD Radeon HD 6450
HP p6787c - Windows 7, 8GB RAM, NVIDIA GT 240
Top Student
i_r_humongous
Posts: 9
Member Since: ‎10-26-2011
Message 3 of 29 (12,145 Views)

Re: RAM upgrade questions for Elite 8200 i7 Desktop SFF & CMT

Thanks, but I have already read everything on these desktops.

 

I did manage to find the CAS timing on the Samsung website;

http://www.samsung.com/us/computer/memory-storage/MV-3V4G4/US-features

CL9 CAS Latency

 

Found the following text here; http://h18000.www1.hp.com/products/quickspecs/13879_div/13879_div.HTML

  • 1GB, 2GB, and 4GB DDR3 DRAM technologies are supported. Using 4 GB device technologies, the largest memory capacity possible is 32 GB, assuming dual channel mode with four x 8 GB dual ranked unbuffered DIMM memory configuration.

I have also found reference to 32GB maximum RAM here;

http://www.edgetechcorp.com/ram/HP-Compaq/Elite-Desktop/Elite-8200-(SFF,-MT,-CMT)-Memory

http://www.mrmemory.co.uk/memory/product.asp?ProductID=69288

http://www.ht.com.au/part/Z3116-HP-Compaq-Elite-8200-Core-i7-2600-3.4-GHz/detail.hts

 

I understand the HP web site should be taken verbatim, but there is some confusion as can be seen.

 

Provost
Paul_Tikkanen
Posts: 41,414
Member Since: ‎07-13-2010
Message 4 of 29 (12,137 Views)

Re: RAM upgrade questions for Elite 8200 i7 Desktop SFF & CMT

[ Edited ]

See post on second page of this thread marked as Solved.

Top Student
i_r_humongous
Posts: 9
Member Since: ‎10-26-2011
Message 5 of 29 (12,127 Views)

Re: RAM upgrade questions for Elite 8200 i7 Desktop SFF & CMT

Hi Paul.

 

What RAM did you buy?

 

I just bought 16GB RipJaws X (4 x4 GB) F3-10666CL9D for the CMT and it would only boot when I installed 3 of the sticks. When I put in the 4th stick the machine would not boot. This is frustrating!

 

The CMT came with 2x 2GB sticks - these look different than the sticks in the SFF but they work fine together in the SFF which now has 8GB.

 

I will replace the RipJaws with some cheaper RAM (same specs) to see if that works.

Top Student
i_r_humongous
Posts: 9
Member Since: ‎10-26-2011
Message 6 of 29 (12,122 Views)

Re: RAM upgrade questions for Elite 8200 i7 Desktop SFF & CMT

Just went to Crucial website.. they have the 8200 CMT listed.

 

This is what i told me;

 

Memory:

DDR3 PC3-10600, DDR3 PC3-12800

Memory Type: DDR3 PC3-10600, DDR3 PC3-12800, DDR3 (non-ECC)
Maximum Memory: 32GB
Slots: 4
Each memory slot can hold DDR3 PC3-10600, DDR3 PC3-12800 with a maximum of 8GB per slot.*
*Not to exceed manufacturer supported memory.

 

http://www.crucial.com/store/listparts.aspx?model=HP%20Compaq%208200%20Elite%20Convertible%20Minitow...

 

I need a drink.

Provost
Paul_Tikkanen
Posts: 41,414
Member Since: ‎07-13-2010
Message 7 of 29 (12,120 Views)

Re: RAM upgrade questions for Elite 8200 i7 Desktop SFF & CMT

[ Edited ]

Hi:

 

I don't know why but you can't use PC10666. It has to be 10600.

 

This is the memory I used: Works great.

 

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820220480

 

Like you posted above...If 8 GB memory ever comes down in price I may buy a stick just to see what happens.

 

They make it, but I ain't paying that price!  :smileysurprised:

 

I'm surprised Crucial sells it for less than NewEgg. Nomally it is the other way around.

 

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820148465

 

Paul

Top Student
i_r_humongous
Posts: 9
Member Since: ‎10-26-2011
Message 8 of 29 (12,112 Views)

Re: RAM upgrade questions for Elite 8200 i7 Desktop SFF & CMT

Thanks for that link, I will check it out.

 

The RipJaw RAM was 10600 / 10666 so it should have worked.. anyway it has bee returned now.

 

No way I am going to experiment with 8GB sticks at the mo., the prices are crazy.

Top Student
i_r_humongous
Posts: 9
Member Since: ‎10-26-2011
Message 9 of 29 (12,099 Views)

Re: RAM upgrade questions for Elite 8200 i7 Desktop SFF & CMT

If anyone may be interested... bought the following RAM which works in the CMT;

 

4x GSkill F3-10600 CL9D-8GBNT

 

For a total of 16GB.

 

ESXi 5 has installed however the onboard Intel 82579LM NIC is not found.

There is a discussion going on here regarding that;

http://hardforum.com/showthread.php?t=1607992&page=4

 

Unable to determine if the CMT can take 32GB as yet.

Intern
ptichdown
Posts: 41
Member Since: ‎03-18-2012
Message 10 of 29 (11,062 Views)

Re: RAM upgrade questions for Elite 8200 i7 Desktop SFF & CMT

Anbody who knows what the max memory for the HP 8200 SFF (16 GB or 32GB).

 

I want to use my hp 8200 SFF for vmware vSphere. I hope i can use 32 GB.

 

 

† The opinions expressed above are the personal opinions of the authors, not of HP. By using this site, you accept the Terms of Use and Rules of Participation