Recovery disc too full. (2129 Views)
Honor Student
RonJay
Message 1 of 8 (2,129 Views)

Recovery disc too full.

Some jerks have been using my family Compaq without permission and have saved programs to the 'D' (recovery) disc.  It now is jam packed and I constantly get a warning window.  I'm a beginner and I have tried to access the drive to delete the additional programs with no success.  It won't let me into the drive to explore.  How can I clean up this drive by deleting the files that aren't necessary for recovery
Regents Professor
TheOldMan
Message 2 of 8 (2,128 Views)

Re: Recovery disc too full.

That is a scary thing especially if you are not a tech person.  The Recovery Partition "D:"  is set to be very limited on space other than what is really supposed to be there.  I do not have Vista, so if you do, then someone else will have to help you but on WinXP the Recovery Partition has very few files.  On My Computer,  bring up the screen where it showes C: and D: drives, then right click on D: and then "Explore"  When you see the next screen, there will be a padlock that says Recovery, another file that says configuration, and a USER file.  That should be all that is supposed to be there.  You should be able to move any other file to the C: drive.  Do not delete anything in case you may need the file.

Hope that helps

{---------- Please click the "White Kudos" to say thanks for helping.
Please click "Accept As Solution" if my help has solved your problem. ----------}

This is a user supported forum. I am a volunteer and I do not work for HP.
Provost
erico
Message 3 of 8 (2,081 Views)

Hi,

Take a read of this HP web document. You can remove some files from  the recovery partition. The following excerpt, taken from the document, is the section that pertains to your specific issue.

Delete files from the Recovery Partition
To reclaim the drive space on the Recovery Partition, locate and delete the unneeded folders and files, as follows: