Question

Honor Student
SkyOfAegis
Message 1 of 3 (199 Views)

Upgrading my HP Pavilion 6716f-b, and need lots of help...

[ Edited ]

I have had my same computer for a number of years, and finally my 4200 graphics card is crapping out on me. I am in college for computer programming and database management, but I am relatively new to upgrading hardware in PC's due to me never really having one until a couple of years ago. I've been doing a lot of research, and all sorts of different answers seem to keep popping up, so I figure I will bring it here to the experts, and get the best possible answers I can. Bare in mind, expenses for a great running PC is of course a concern but I won't go cheap. Let's say $750 is my absolute upgrade budget "basically the price of the pc" and I am settling on:

Corsair Builder Series CX 600 Watt ATX/EPS  80 PLUS (CX600)

With this as my power supply, what are my options for an awesome graphics card that can handle my needs, such as dual monitor support, great gaming graphics, video graphics ect? Also, I have settled on:

Crucial Ballistix Sport 16GB Kit (4GBx4) DDR3 1600 MT/s (PC3-12800) CL9 @1.5V UDIMM 240-Pin Memory BLS4KIT4G3D1609DS1S00

To upgrade my ram to the full  16GB. I have read that 12GB is enough to run things smoothly, but I go with the whole "Rather have it and not need it" concept. Currently, my system has 6GB, so it will be a major improvement. Another thing I am thinking about in the near future "After Graphics Card, RAM, and Power Supply get upgraded" is getting a 2nd disc drive. Any suggestions on that would be fantastic. So, I guess my questions are...

1. Is my chosen Power Supply a reliable choice?

2. What is the best graphics card that I can get with this type of power supply? "600W"

3. Is the crucial brand name a good choice for my RAM upgrade? "Sticking to the full 16 GB, needed or not"

4. Is there any way possible to install USB 3.0 into my hardware without the need of a whole new Processor?