Question

Top Student
leslieplomondon
Message 1 of 6 (140 Views)

What drivers do I need to uninstall on Pavilion Elite Desktop PC to replace my broken graphic board?

Hi Everyone, 

My graphics board just broke on my Pavilion Elite Desktop PC. I understand I need to uninstall its drivers before I install a new graphics board. 

I found four files that contain the word "Driver" in the title, but I'm not sure which one, if any, I need to uninstall. Their names are as follows: 

Windows Driver Package - NVIDIA 

Windows Driver Package - Ralink Technology, Corp

Windows Driver Package - Realtek (RTL8169) Net

Windows Driver Package - Realtek Semiconductor Corp. 

Can someone please advise me if these are the correct drivers to uninstall? If not, can you tell me the titles of the correct ones? 

I'm not very technical, so I really appreciate your expertise. 

With warm regards,

Leslie 

Grad Student
MikeTechMan
Message 2 of 6 (128 Views)

Re: What drivers do I need to uninstall on Pavilion Elite Desktop PC to replace my broken graphic bo

Hello leslieplomondon, welcome. Are you using integrated graphics?

What is the make and model of your computer?

Let us know,

Thanks!

Provost
lasvegaswireman
Message 3 of 6 (121 Views)

Re: What drivers do I need to uninstall on Pavilion Elite Desktop PC to replace my broken graphic bo

Without knowing the model and/or product number of your computer, I can only guess as to which driver is associated with your graphics sub-system. So, by eliminating those drivers that clearly belong to a different sub-system we can guess which driver you want to remove.

Wireless 802.11 b/g/n adapter = Windows Driver Package - Ralink Technology, Corp

Wired 10/100 ethernet adapter = Windows Driver Package - Realtek (RTL8169) Net

HD Audio codec = Windows Driver Package - Realtek Semiconductor Corp.

Most likely the graphics driver = Windows Driver Package - NVIDIA but could also be the chipset driver.

Frank

Frank