Question
Reply
 
Student
orvar
Posts: 1
Member Since: ‎02-12-2013
Message 1 of 5 (1,626 Views)

What is max RAM memory I can upgrade my Compaq Presario CQ5202SC desktop to?

Here is my system:

 

1.  Product name:   Compaq Presario CQ5202SC  desktop
      Product number:   VS250AA  
      Release date:  14-Oct-2009      (Sold in Scandinavia)

 

2.  Operating System installed:    Windows Home Premium Edition (64bit)      (Version number 7600, DirectX-

      version  11)

 

3.  Error messages:   Not applicable
   

4.  Any changes made to the system: Don't know of any changes except adding programs and updates. I have

      bought the system second hand. One owner.

 


The system has 3 GB of RAM at the moment. I think it is the  original memory and consists of:

  •     2GB DDR3-SDRAM (1333 MHz) from Samsung 2009.  Partnumber: M378B5673EH1-CH9
  •     1GB DDR3-SDRAM (1333 MHz) from Micron Technology 2009. Partnumber: 8JTF1286AZ-1G4F1

 

The BIOS version is  5.11



Motherboard: M2N68-LA (Narra 6)

 

  • Manufacturer's Motherboard name: Pegatron M2N68-LA
  • HP/Compaq name: Narra6-GL6


Front side bus speed:

 

  • 2000MT/s  (2.0 GT/s)


Memory upgrade info below is cut and pasted from the  Narra 6 specifications:

          --- BEGINNING OF CUT AND PASTE SECTION ---

 

  •     Dual channel memory architecture
  •     Two DDR3 DIMM (240-pin) sockets
  •     Supported DIMM types:

           PC3-8500 (DDR3-1066)


           PC3-10600 (DDR3-1333)

 

  •      Non-ECC memory only, unbuffered

   

  •      Supports 2GB DDR2 DIMMs

 

  •      Supports up to 4 GB* on 32 bit PCs   

         *32-bit operating systems cannot address a full 4.0 GB of memory.

 

         --- END OF CUT AND PASTE SECTION ---

 

 

What puzzles me with the memory upgrade info above is the bit about "Supports up to 4 GB on 32 bit PCs".

 

Is my system a 32 bit PC or a 64 bit PC ?
   

Since I have a 64-bit operating  system it seems I should be able to address a full 4 GB of memory (and much, much more for that matter).  But maybe  the system can only  handle a maximum of 4 GB anyhow. I am hoping for 8 GB and thinking of getting two 4 GB RAMS (preferably  with identical partnumbers) and replacing the two that are installed.


 I cannot from the motherboard info or any other info on the system tell how much memory my system can handle. I haven't seen any answer to it in this forum either so can someone tell for sure what the max is?


Also if 4 GB is the max, I'd really appreciate it if someone can explain why the system cannot handle more.
   

 

Regards
   

Orvar

Provost
erico
Posts: 25,453
Member Since: ‎01-07-2009
Message 2 of 5 (1,614 Views)

Re: What is max RAM memory I can upgrade my Compaq Presario CQ5202SC desktop to?

Hi,

 

PCs are not 32 or 64-bit. It is the installed operating system that is 32-bit or 64-bit. The maximum memory that is recommended is 4 GB. Only purchase guaranteed compatible  memory modules from a well know memory maker. 

 

Best regards,

erico





Help others by clicking on the "Accept As Solution" button if my suggestion resolves the issue you were having
****I am a volunteer, I don't work for Microsoft or HP****


2014 Microsoft MVP - Microsoft Windows Expert - Consumer

Teacher
Teacher
SGI
Posts: 115
Member Since: ‎02-05-2013
Message 3 of 5 (1,570 Views)

Re: What is max RAM memory I can upgrade my Compaq Presario CQ5202SC desktop to?

Hi,

 

Maximum memory capacity is 4 GB. Replace the 1 GB module with a 2 GB.

 

Click here for the upgrade link

Provost
lasvegaswireman
Posts: 8,526
Member Since: ‎07-16-2011
Message 4 of 5 (1,563 Views)

Re: What is max RAM memory I can upgrade my Compaq Presario CQ5202SC desktop to?

From your post above;

 

"System has 'Two DDR3 DIMM (240-pin) sockets' and 'Supports 2GB DDR2 DIMMs'"

 

and

 

"I cannot from the motherboard info or any other info on the system tell how much memory my system can handle. I haven't seen any answer to it in this forum either so can someone tell for sure what the max is?"

 

From the motherboard information listed in your post and reiterated above, the system has 2 DIMM sockets and each socket supports up to a 2GB DIMM.... 2 X 2GB = 4GB max.

 

Please send KUDOs


Frank
{------------ Please click the "White Kudos" Thumbs Up to say THANKS for helping.
Please click the "Accept As Solution" on my post, if my assistance has solved your issue. ------------V

This is a user supported forum. I am a volunteer and I don't work for HP.

HP 15t-j100 (on loan from HP)
HP 13 Split x2 (on loan from HP)
HP Slate8 Pro (on loan from HP)
HP a1632x - Windows 7, 4GB RAM, AMD Radeon HD 6450
HP p6130y - Windows 7, 8GB RAM, AMD Radeon HD 6450
HP p6320y - Windows 7, 8GB RAM, NVIDIA GT 240
HP p7-1026 - Windows 7, 6GB RAM, AMD Radeon HD 6450
HP p6787c - Windows 7, 8GB RAM, NVIDIA GT 240
Honor Student DQL Honor Student
Honor Student
DQL
Posts: 2
Member Since: ‎01-17-2013
Message 5 of 5 (1,536 Views)

Re: What is max RAM memory I can upgrade my Compaq Presario CQ5202SC desktop to?

Hello orvar,

 

to try and address your question:

"Also if 4 GB is the max, I'd really appreciate it if someone can explain why the system cannot handle more."

 

This is  normally limited by the Bios  and/or motherboard chipset.

 

-DQL

I work on behalf of HP
† The opinions expressed above are the personal opinions of the authors, not of HP. By using this site, you accept the Terms of Use and Rules of Participation