Question
Reply
 
Honor Student
BIGnewbieW7
Posts: 2
Member Since: ‎11-08-2009
Message 1 of 10 (5,692 Views)

error code:0x80070002 while attempting backup

Just purchased a 1TB personal media drive (hd10000x) for my pavilion elite e9140f desktop yesterday. I figured I would go Hp since it would fit perfectly into the personal media drive slot in the front of the pc tower.  Unfortunately, when I use windows backup, I get the error message 0x80070002 at around 70% towards completion.  I had just upgraded to windows 7 64bit home premium and had encountered  a lot of incompatiblity issues during the upgrade.  I fixed most of those problems, but now I find this purchase may be a waste of money.  I even tried using the pre-installed hp SureStore application from the personal media drive and it just freezes.  Forget about HP Easy Backup,  I think it got lost during the windows 7 upgrade.  I don't know if it is HP or Microsoft, but I am really disappointed with right now.  I need help in finding a solution to my dilemma.  Can anyone out there please help me
Provost
old_geekster
Posts: 10,073
Member Since: ‎11-21-2008
Message 2 of 10 (5,685 Views)

Re: error code:0x80070002 while attempting backup

Here is a guide to help you backup your data with Win7, while searcing for a solution to your problem.  You could contact Microsoft Customer Support to see if they can help you.  The problem with error codes is the only one who actually knows what it means in a particular situation, is the developer.  I found this this when I did research online.  There were many different examples of complete different situations where the same error code that you are experiencing was used.
___________________________
-----------------------------------
HP TouchPad
- 1.2 GHz; 1 GB memory; 32 GB storage; WebOS/CyanogenMod 9

HP Split 13 x2
- 1.6 Ghz; 4 GB memory; SSD 128 GB; Win 8.0

HP Phoenix ENVY 810-135qe
- i7-4770K (liquid cooled); 8 GB memory; GT 640 (4 GB), SSD (Samsung EVO 840-500 GB); 600W PSU; Win 7 Ultimate

HP Photosmart 7520 AIO


++++++++++++++++++
**Click the Thumbs Up on the left to say 'Thanks'**

Intelligence is God given; Wisdom is the sum of our mistakes!

___________________________
I am not an HP employee.
Grad Student
sclui56
Posts: 273
Member Since: ‎10-06-2009
Message 3 of 10 (5,660 Views)

Re: error code:0x80070002 while attempting backup

I have the same PMD and I use GFI Backup Up (Free). Works much better than the HP bundled Roxio stuff or native WIN ones.

 

http://www.gfi.com/backup-hm

Teacher
elchucko
Posts: 205
Member Since: ‎07-30-2009
Message 4 of 10 (5,643 Views)

Re: error code:0x80070002 while attempting backup

I have the same problem after upgrading my Elite e9105z from Vista 64 bit to W7. I called HP support. No answer there. This surely is commonplace. I'll keep looking. Right now I'm using Apricorn EZ GIGII backup software. It works well. It would be nice to know how to interface a backup application of your choice to the front panel button.
Grad Student
sclui56
Posts: 273
Member Since: ‎10-06-2009
Message 5 of 10 (5,640 Views)

Re: error code:0x80070002 while attempting backup

[ Edited ]

Take a look at the link below, it was for Vista 64

 

http://www.vistax64.com/general-discussion/130435-0x80070002-error-vista-backup-centre.html

 

Reason I prefer the GFI (not b/c it is free) is their use of the shadow copy, this becomes very useful when one is trying to backup files cuurently in use, e.g. PST in outlook.

Message Edited by sclui56 on 11-09-2009 08:41 PM
Honor Student
deacon8188
Posts: 2
Member Since: ‎12-08-2009
Message 6 of 10 (5,255 Views)

Re: error code:0x80070002 while attempting backup

I have same HP e9140f with 1tb pmd drive. Here is the fix: navigate to the device manager, find usb devices at bottom,expand the usb section. You now need to delete all usb Hubs and devices in section. After everything is deleted power down machine. After machine is powered down remove the pmd. Now power machine without PMD attached. After system installs all deleted usb devices and only after it has installed them insert the pmd drive and allow system to initialize it(this takes about 15-20 seconds) now run windows backup. I hope this helps.

PhD Student
PC_Tester
Posts: 1,475
Member Since: ‎05-23-2009
Message 7 of 10 (5,221 Views)

Re: error code:0x80070002 while attempting backup

Honor Student
BIGnewbieW7
Posts: 2
Member Since: ‎11-08-2009
Message 8 of 10 (5,189 Views)

Re: error code:0x80070002 while attempting backup

thank you all for your solutions to my problem with the personal media drive....all very helpful , but this message is for deacon8188, does your pmd run backups in its slot in the pavilion tower now with your posted solution with out any problems ?  I definitely need to know, because I am not computer savvy at all...

Honor Student
deacon8188
Posts: 2
Member Since: ‎12-08-2009
Message 9 of 10 (5,154 Views)

Re: error code:0x80070002 while attempting backup

yes it runs in my front slot

Top Student
jimpitch
Posts: 7
Member Since: ‎12-11-2009
Message 10 of 10 (5,144 Views)

Re: error code:0x80070002 while attempting backup

You say it runs in your front slot. Will it also do the automatic backups?

† The opinions expressed above are the personal opinions of the authors, not of HP. By using this site, you accept the Terms of Use and Rules of Participation