Question
Reply
 
Top Student
Finland611
Posts: 6
Member Since: ‎10-28-2013
Message 1 of 8 (213 Views)

h8-1061sc

Hello!
i have Hp pavillion h8-1061sc computer, Now Nvidia's GTX 550ti is broken. Could i buy EVGA's GTX 770sc? Or will the motherboard reject the new CPU?

-Finland611
Provost
banhien
Posts: 34,153
Member Since: ‎01-29-2009
Message 2 of 8 (210 Views)

Re: h8-1061sc

Hi,

 

The following link shows the new card:

 

   http://hothardware.com/Reviews/EVGA-GeForce-GTX-770-SC-with-ACX-Cooling-Review/

 

which says you need minimum 600W PSU and it needs TWO slots.

 

The following link shows specs of your machine:

 

   H8-1061sc

 

which show the PSU is 460W and the motherboard.

 

You have to upgrade the PSU to be able to use new card and you have to check PHYSICAL room on your case, you need one more spare slot after remove the old card (total 2):

 

Regards.

BH
***
**Click the KUDOS thumb up on the left to say 'Thanks'**
Make it easier for other people to find solutions by marking a Reply 'Accept as Solution' if it solves your problem.
Top Student
Finland611
Posts: 6
Member Since: ‎10-28-2013
Message 3 of 8 (207 Views)

Re: h8-1061sc

I have already upgrade my PSU to 550W 80+ gold. Why i need one more slot? But motherboard will work well with CPU.

-Finland611
Top Student
Finland611
Posts: 6
Member Since: ‎10-28-2013
Message 4 of 8 (192 Views)

Re: h8-1061sc

Oh.. What i ment to say was EVGA's GTX 760sc. Sorry my misstake.
Provost
banhien
Posts: 34,153
Member Since: ‎01-29-2009
Message 5 of 8 (180 Views)

Re: h8-1061sc

Hi,

 

It needs minimum 500W and also 2 slots:

 

   http://www.evga.com/Products/Product.aspx?pn=02G-P4-2765-KR

 

Regards.

BH
***
**Click the KUDOS thumb up on the left to say 'Thanks'**
Make it easier for other people to find solutions by marking a Reply 'Accept as Solution' if it solves your problem.
Top Student
Finland611
Posts: 6
Member Since: ‎10-28-2013
Message 6 of 8 (174 Views)

Re: h8-1061sc

[ Edited ]

Does GTX 550ti also need 2 slots? But if i have two slots. Will it work with my motherboard?

Provost
banhien
Posts: 34,153
Member Since: ‎01-29-2009
Message 7 of 8 (146 Views)

Re: h8-1061sc

Hi,

 

The GT 550ti also uses 2 slots as show:

 

   http://www.geforce.com/hardware/desktop-gpus/geforce-gtx-550ti/specifications

 

And you won't need new PSU for this card.

 

Regards.

  

BH
***
**Click the KUDOS thumb up on the left to say 'Thanks'**
Make it easier for other people to find solutions by marking a Reply 'Accept as Solution' if it solves your problem.
Top Student
Finland611
Posts: 6
Member Since: ‎10-28-2013
Message 8 of 8 (139 Views)

Re: h8-1061sc

Yes, i will buy new PSU.

 

Will  new CPU work with my old motherboard? Some people allege that the old motherboard and new GTX 760 doesn´t work together. Is this true?

 

Regards.

-Finland611

† The opinions expressed above are the personal opinions of the authors, not of HP. By using this site, you accept the Terms of Use and Rules of Participation