Question
Reply
 
Intern
gg202
Posts: 34
Member Since: ‎11-05-2012
Message 1 of 7 (330 Views)
Accepted Solution

upgradeing ram important question and other questions

i have a hp p6310f with stock mobo and ram of 6 gigs with a tests latancy or 7-7-7-20 if i upgrade to 16 gig ram with say 11-11-1127 latency will it work ?. also i and looking to change my case to something bigger to hold all my parts what would be the most effecient i need one that would be gamming grade high cooling fans vents ect and built in psu cable managment and also onboard case lighting. and i plan on upgradeding my psu to a modular one what wattage should i look for i want a upgrade in power but dont want to much lastly i plan on upgrading my cpu what is the best i can get that works on a stock hp p6310f mobo and i also plan on water cooling what sould i get for said new chip, id perfer a all in one as i am very new to water cooling. manythanks from a guy who has had a lot of love for hp and has gotten great support from you awesome people!

EDTII
Provost
lasvegaswireman
Posts: 8,677
Member Since: ‎07-16-2011
Message 2 of 7 (296 Views)

Re: upgradeing ram important question and other questions

Here are the specs for your HP Pavilion p6310f Desktop Computer and it's M2N78-LA (Violet6) motherboard. According to the specs, your computer will support the following upgrades;

 

CPU / Processor;

Max. TDP = 95 Watts

This motherboard only supports AM3 processors.

Memory support is limited to DDR3 modules only.

HyperTransport 3.0

AMD Phenom II X4 9xx/9xxe/8xx Quad-Core (Deneb)

<Don't attempt to use "Black Edition" CPUs or CPUs rated higher then 95 watts>

 

DIMM / Memory;

Four DDR3 DIMM (240-pin) sockets

Supported DIMM types: PC3-8500 (DDR3-1066) or PC3-10600 (DDR3-1333)

Non-ECC, unbuffered memory only

Supports 1GB, 2GB, and 4GB DDR3 DIMMs

Dual channel memory architecture

<Supports a max. of 16GB on a 64-bit operating system using 4 X 4GB DIMMs>

<Don't concern yourself with the latency... you can't control that... Just be sure to use the correct memory type>

 

Power Supply;

Any ATX12V v2.3 power supply about the same size as your original factory power supply. The wattage rating really depends on the requirements of the graphics card installed in the computer. Typically, the Corsair CX500 or CX600 are highly recommended and known to fit most HP consumer cases. It appears that Corsair recently expanded the CX line to include some modular power supplies.

 

Graphics Card;

Almost any PCIe x16 v2.0, v2.1, and v3.0 should work in your computer. The current and/or futures games you intend to play will dictate which graphics card you should install. As you intend this to be a "gaming rig", I would use a Nvidia GTX 550 Ti, GTX 650 Ti, or higher... or an AMD Radeon HD 6770, AMD Radeon 7770, or higher.

 

If you really want to use a new non-HP case and water cooling, I wouldn't bother upgrading your HP p6310f. Instead, I would build a new custom system from the ground up. This will allow you to use the most current technologies available.

 

Please send KUDOs


Frank
{------------ Please click the "White Kudos" Thumbs Up to say THANKS for helping.
Please click the "Accept As Solution" on my post, if my assistance has solved your issue. ------------V

This is a user supported forum. I am a volunteer and I don't work for HP.

HP 15t-j100 (on loan from HP)
HP 13 Split x2 (on loan from HP)
HP Slate8 Pro (on loan from HP)
HP a1632x - Windows 7, 4GB RAM, AMD Radeon HD 6450
HP p6130y - Windows 7, 8GB RAM, AMD Radeon HD 6450
HP p6320y - Windows 7, 8GB RAM, NVIDIA GT 240
HP p7-1026 - Windows 7, 6GB RAM, AMD Radeon HD 6450
HP p6787c - Windows 7, 8GB RAM, NVIDIA GT 240
Intern
gg202
Posts: 34
Member Since: ‎11-05-2012
Message 3 of 7 (282 Views)

Re: upgradeing ram important question and other questions

wow thanks so much that pretty much answered all my questions one last thing i have a ram set up of 3 sticks that are 2 gigs each, say if i replaces them all with 4 sticks of 4 gigs each will i run into problems at all ?
EDTII
Provost
lasvegaswireman
Posts: 8,677
Member Since: ‎07-16-2011
Message 4 of 7 (271 Views)

Re: upgradeing ram important question and other questions

[ Edited ]

You shoundn't encounter any problems using 4 X 4GB DDR3 (PC3-10600 / DDR3-1333MHz) DIMMs for a maximum of 16GB ram, as the system is design for that configuration. My only caution to you, is to not use cheap / no name DIMMs. Use a solid brand name like Corsair, Crucial, Kingston, OCZ, G. Skill, etc. and make sure to get a matched set of memory... that is all four DIMMs should be the same.

 

Please send KUDOs


Frank
{------------ Please click the "White Kudos" Thumbs Up to say THANKS for helping.
Please click the "Accept As Solution" on my post, if my assistance has solved your issue. ------------V

This is a user supported forum. I am a volunteer and I don't work for HP.

HP 15t-j100 (on loan from HP)
HP 13 Split x2 (on loan from HP)
HP Slate8 Pro (on loan from HP)
HP a1632x - Windows 7, 4GB RAM, AMD Radeon HD 6450
HP p6130y - Windows 7, 8GB RAM, AMD Radeon HD 6450
HP p6320y - Windows 7, 8GB RAM, NVIDIA GT 240
HP p7-1026 - Windows 7, 6GB RAM, AMD Radeon HD 6450
HP p6787c - Windows 7, 8GB RAM, NVIDIA GT 240
Intern
gg202
Posts: 34
Member Since: ‎11-05-2012
Message 5 of 7 (264 Views)

Re: upgradeing ram important question and other questions

awesome, and the ram i want to get is Corsair Vengeance Blue 16 GB DDR3 SDRAM Dual Channel Memory Kit CMZ16GX3M4A1600C9B. i been looking at the specs and it seems liek a perfect fit 

 

EDTII
Provost
lasvegaswireman
Posts: 8,677
Member Since: ‎07-16-2011
Message 6 of 7 (258 Views)

Re: upgradeing ram important question and other questions

The Corsair CMX16GX3M4A1333C9 4 X 4GB XMS dual/quad channel memory kit may be more compatible with your system as it is spec'ed at DDR3-1333MHz. The Corsair CMZ16GX3M4A1600C9B you are looking at is spec'ed at DDR3-1600MHz and is faster than the computer will operate. This doesn't mean they won't work, as the Vengeance should clock down to the system speed but there is no guaranty.

 

Please send KUDOs


Frank
{------------ Please click the "White Kudos" Thumbs Up to say THANKS for helping.
Please click the "Accept As Solution" on my post, if my assistance has solved your issue. ------------V

This is a user supported forum. I am a volunteer and I don't work for HP.

HP 15t-j100 (on loan from HP)
HP 13 Split x2 (on loan from HP)
HP Slate8 Pro (on loan from HP)
HP a1632x - Windows 7, 4GB RAM, AMD Radeon HD 6450
HP p6130y - Windows 7, 8GB RAM, AMD Radeon HD 6450
HP p6320y - Windows 7, 8GB RAM, NVIDIA GT 240
HP p7-1026 - Windows 7, 6GB RAM, AMD Radeon HD 6450
HP p6787c - Windows 7, 8GB RAM, NVIDIA GT 240
Intern
gg202
Posts: 34
Member Since: ‎11-05-2012
Message 7 of 7 (252 Views)

Re: upgradeing ram important question and other questions

wow thanks and to be on the safe side i will get the CMX16Gx3M4A1333C9. and also i dont wanan do any kind of over/under clocking with my rig unless its something to make the fans faster or slower
EDTII
† The opinions expressed above are the personal opinions of the authors, not of HP. By using this site, you accept the Terms of Use and Rules of Participation