Question
Reply
Student
Posts: 1
Member Since: ‎04-03-2011
Message 1 of 6 (2,566 Views)

which slots for dual channel ram

[ Edited ]

Hello,

 

I'm the owner of a HP Pavilion Elite HPE 010be desktopcomputer .
It contains the following motherboard: http://h10025.www1.hp.com/ewfrf/wc/document?docname=c01972272&tmp_track_link=ot_faqs/top_issues/nl_b...

 

I want to upgrade the RAM memory of the PC, but i can't find anywhere which of the 4 slots are for dual channel use.

Do I put the new ram (2x 4GB) in the same color slots or should I put the RAM in the slots next to each other?

 

Thanks for the help!

Pieter Dejaeger
www.jave.be
Reply
0
Provost
Posts: 36,661
Member Since: ‎09-24-2010
Message 2 of 6 (2,534 Views)

Re: which slots for dual channel ram

Hi,

 

Dual channel will work when you use identical sticks of RAM in slots of the same colour, so forinstance you would need to put your 4GB modules in just the Black slots or just the Blue.

 

Regards,

 

DP-K

---------------------------------------------------------------------------

****Click the White thumb to say thanks****
****Please mark Accept As Solution if it solves your problem****
****I don't work for HP****


Microsoft MVP - Windows Experience

Teacher
Posts: 75
Member Since: ‎01-14-2011
Message 3 of 6 (2,420 Views)

Re: which slots for dual channel ram

I have an HP p6710f with 4GB RAM and want to upgrade it.

But I’m confused about which slots to use. I thought in order to use dual channel memory that identical RAM has to be installed in each channel. And I thought each channel had its own color. IOW if there were 2GB in a black slot then there should be 2GB in a blue slot. And from this thread it states “Install these in "paired" slots - usually slots 1 & 3 or 2 & 4”.
http://h30434.www3.hp.com/t5/Desktop-Hardware/Upgrading-Memory/m-p/124

I opened up the case and there was a 2GB stick in each of the black slots & nothing in the blue slots. So I looked a bit further & this thread says to use identical RAM in slots of the same color.

If each channel is a different color then shouldn’t there be identical RAM in each color?

What am I missing here?

Associate Dean
Posts: 5,749
Member Since: ‎09-28-2010
Message 4 of 6 (2,418 Views)

Re: which slots for dual channel ram

BNSFMike,

Just follow the color code.

I am a volunteer. I am not an HP employee.
To say THANK YOU, press the "thumbs up symbol" to render a KUDO. Please click Accept as Solution, if your problem is solved. You can render both Solution and KUDO..

(2) HP DV7t i7 3160QM 2.3Ghz 8GB
HP m9200t E8400,Win7 Pro 32 bit. 4GB RAM, ASUS 550Ti 2GB, Rosewill 630W. 1T HD SATA 3Gb/s
Custom Asus P8P67, I7-2600k, 16GB RAM, WIN7 Pro 64bit, EVGA GTX660 2GB, 750W OCZ, 1T HD SATA 6Gb/s
Custom Asus P8Z77, I7-3770k, 16GB RAM, WIN7 Pro 64bit, EVGA GTX670 2GB, 750W OCZ, 1T HD SATA 6Gb/s
Both Customs use Rosewill Blackhawk case.
Printer -- HP OfficeJet Pro 8600 Plus
Provost
Posts: 22,744
Member Since: ‎07-17-2009
Message 5 of 6 (2,408 Views)

Re: which slots for dual channel ram

BNSFMike,

 

See your other post.

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
HP DV9700, t9300, Nvidia 8600, 4GB, Crucial C300 128GB SSD
HP ENVY 17t Touch,i7-5500u,16GB, 256 GB SSD (on loan)
HP Photosmart 6520
HP Touchpad, HP Chromebook 11
Custom i7-5930k, X99, 16GB 2800 MHz DDR4, Intel 750 PCI-E SSD, (2)Samsung EVO 840 SSD, Corsair HX650, EVGA GTX 760TI
Windows 8.1 UEFI mode
Teacher
Posts: 75
Member Since: ‎01-14-2011
Message 6 of 6 (2,400 Views)

Re: which slots for dual channel ram

Thank you.

 

† The opinions expressed above are the personal opinions of the authors, not of HP. By using this site, you accept the Terms of Use and Rules of Participation