Question
Reply
 
Top Student
LePaul
Posts: 6
Member Since: ‎12-19-2010
Message 1 of 6 (707 Views)

xw8400 specs show dual Quadro FX 3500 support....but how?

Hello

 

I have a HP xw8400 Workstation that I recently purchased when it came off-lease.  In many of my serarches here on HP and other resellers, the system lists as being capable of handling two of the nVidia Quadro FX 3500 video cards.  I have one installed now and the documentation seems a bit vague as to where a second card should be installed.

 

Also, I am running Windows 7 64-bit with 4GB of RAM.  It is running very nicely despite not seeing any "official" support for Windows 7.  Why might that be?

 

Thanks in advance.  These are really a nicely built system and can be had for an incredible price these days.  I plan to use mine for CAD software.

 

Paul

http://paulsr2d2.blogspot.com


Provost
Big_Dave
Posts: 20,447
Member Since: ‎07-17-2009
Message 2 of 6 (697 Views)

Re: xw8400 specs show dual Quadro FX 3500 support....but how?

[ Edited ]

Paul,

 

This Technical Reference may be helpful.  The motherboard shows two PCI-E x 16 slots and one is designated for video.  I have seen some workstation models where the second PCI-E slot is only x4 verses the primary slot being x16.

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
HP e9280t, i7-960, 12GB, Vertex 3 120, ATI 4850
HP DV9700, t9300, Nvidia 8600, 4GB, Crucial C300 128GB SSD
HP Photosmart Premium C309G, HP Photosmart 6520
HP Touchpad
Custom i7-4770k,Z-87, 8GB, Vertex 3 SSD, Samsung EVO SSD, Corsair HX650,GTX 760
Custom i7-4790k,Z-97, 16GB, Vertex 3 SSD, Plextor M.2 SSD, Samsung EVO SSD, Corsair HX650, GTX 660TI
Windows 7/8 UEFI/Legacy mode, MBR/GPT
Top Student
LePaul
Posts: 6
Member Since: ‎12-19-2010
Message 3 of 6 (693 Views)

Re: xw8400 specs show dual Quadro FX 3500 support....but how?

Thank you for your reply.

 

I have one card in the Slot 2 (PCI Expess x16) which is what that manual specifies for the video card

 

It looks like Slot 4 (PCI Express x16 (x4 performance) J31) is where the second would go, which was the hunch I had.

 

My worry was the power draw of two cards, since in one of the other PDFs I had read indicated caution with high powered cards

 

Since I found so many sales pamphlets indicating support for two cards, there HAD to be something indicating how two were setup   :smileyhappy:

Provost
Big_Dave
Posts: 20,447
Member Since: ‎07-17-2009
Message 4 of 6 (689 Views)

Re: xw8400 specs show dual Quadro FX 3500 support....but how?

[ Edited ]

The specifications for the xw8400 indicate a 800 watt power supply.:smileyhappy:

 

 

Personally if this were my system, I would consider one big video card.  Quadro has some extremely expensive video cards for professional applications.  For gaming, I would pick a consumer level video card.

 

Review the ATI and NVIDIA performance specifications. Look at the memory bandwidth specifications and the DirectX level support.

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
HP e9280t, i7-960, 12GB, Vertex 3 120, ATI 4850
HP DV9700, t9300, Nvidia 8600, 4GB, Crucial C300 128GB SSD
HP Photosmart Premium C309G, HP Photosmart 6520
HP Touchpad
Custom i7-4770k,Z-87, 8GB, Vertex 3 SSD, Samsung EVO SSD, Corsair HX650,GTX 760
Custom i7-4790k,Z-97, 16GB, Vertex 3 SSD, Plextor M.2 SSD, Samsung EVO SSD, Corsair HX650, GTX 660TI
Windows 7/8 UEFI/Legacy mode, MBR/GPT
Top Student
LePaul
Posts: 6
Member Since: ‎12-19-2010
Message 5 of 6 (679 Views)

Re: xw8400 specs show dual Quadro FX 3500 support....but how?

Two questions....

 

FX 3500 works great....Im curious if its worth going up a notch there (SolidWorks)

 

I have the Dual Xeon 3ghz CPUs.  To upgrade to two Quad Core processors would be close to $900, but 8 processors.  Wow.  Worth it?

 

 

Provost
Big_Dave
Posts: 20,447
Member Since: ‎07-17-2009
Message 6 of 6 (676 Views)

Re: xw8400 specs show dual Quadro FX 3500 support....but how?

[ Edited ]

Your application(s) need to take advantage of all those processors.  Start Task Manager --> resource monitoring and leave Task Manager running.  Then start your application(s) and run them hard for a while and then switch back to Task Manager.   What do you see for processor utilization across the four processors?  What about disk I/O activity when running your applications?

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
HP e9280t, i7-960, 12GB, Vertex 3 120, ATI 4850
HP DV9700, t9300, Nvidia 8600, 4GB, Crucial C300 128GB SSD
HP Photosmart Premium C309G, HP Photosmart 6520
HP Touchpad
Custom i7-4770k,Z-87, 8GB, Vertex 3 SSD, Samsung EVO SSD, Corsair HX650,GTX 760
Custom i7-4790k,Z-97, 16GB, Vertex 3 SSD, Plextor M.2 SSD, Samsung EVO SSD, Corsair HX650, GTX 660TI
Windows 7/8 UEFI/Legacy mode, MBR/GPT
† The opinions expressed above are the personal opinions of the authors, not of HP. By using this site, you accept the Terms of Use and Rules of Participation