Question

Honor Student
Zong
Message 1 of 7 (1,590 Views)
Accepted Solution

Re-activating Windows Defender in Windows 8

Hi All,

This is my first time here so please bear with me.

I bot a HP Pavilion desktop yesterday and everything was going smoothly until I tried to turn on WINDOWS DEFENDER. The message is "Windows Defender turned off by vendor". I don't want to use any other anti-virus, anti-blah blah...packages since I am an all-things-Microsoft kind of guy. Anyway, how do I go abt turning Windows Defender back ON again? I really, really appreciate anyone who can help me on this one.

Provost
lasvegaswireman
Message 2 of 7 (1,587 Views)

Re: Re-activating Windows Defender in Windows 8

When requesting assistance, please provide the complete product number of the HP computer in question. HP/Compaq makes thousands of models of computers that are all different. Without this information it may be difficult or impossible to assist you in resolving your issue.

The above requested information can be found on the side, back, or bottom of your computer.

HP may have included a third party anti-virus program. This program needs to be disabled and uninstalled before you can turn Windows Defender back on.

Please click the white KUDOS star to show your appreciation

Frank
{------------ Please click the "White Kudos" Thumbs Up to say THANKS for helping.
Please click the "Accept As Solution" on my post, if my assistance has solved your issue. ------------V

This is a user supported forum. I am a volunteer and I don't work for HP.

HP 15t-j100 (on loan from HP)
HP 13 Split x2 (on loan from HP)
HP Slate8 Pro (on loan from HP)
HP a1632x - Windows 7, 4GB RAM, AMD Radeon HD 6450
HP p6130y - Windows 7, 8GB RAM, AMD Radeon HD 6450
HP p6320y - Windows 7, 8GB RAM, NVIDIA GT 240
HP p7-1026 - Windows 7, 6GB RAM, AMD Radeon HD 6450
HP p6787c - Windows 7, 8GB RAM, NVIDIA GT 240
Honor Student
Zong
Message 3 of 7 (1,573 Views)

Dear Professor,