Script errors in IE 9. (1415 Views)
Top Student
Opoh
Posts: 20
Registered: ‎08-17-2012
Message 11 of 27 (507 Views)

Re: Script errors in IE 9.

http://markets.ft.com/Research/Markets/Tearsheets/Summary?s=RR.:LSE

 

I thought it was just the FT site but it has just appeared on the Land Rover site.

Rgds

Brian

Provost
DavidPK
Posts: 29,381
Registered: ‎09-24-2010
Message 12 of 27 (498 Views)

Re: Script errors in IE 9.

Hi Brian,

 

Try the following and let me know.

 

First, uninstall IE as follows.

 

Click the Start Menu and select Control Panel.  Open Programs and Features, Click 'Turn Windows features on or off' and remove the tick next to Internet Explorer 9  Click Yes then OK and then when done, restart the PC.

 

When windows has reloaded, click the Start Menu, open All Programs, open Accessories, right click the Command Prompt and select 'Run as Administrator'.  In to the prompt type the following command and hit enter.

 

sfc /scannow                 ( note that there is a space between sfc and the / )

 

Let the process complete, then type exit and hit enter.

 

Again, click the Start Menu and select Control Panel.  Open Programs and Features, Click 'Turn Windows features on or off' and re-enter the tick next to Internet Explorer 9.  Click Yes then OK and when this has finished installing, restart the PC again.

 

If you still get an script error on the site you linked to, is there a specific code associated with the error?

 

Regards,

 

DP-K

 

 

---------------------------------------------------------------------------

****Click the White Kudos star to say thanks****
****Please mark Accept As Solution if it solves your problem****
****I don't work for HP****


Microsoft MVP - Microsoft Windows Expert - Consumer

Top Student
Opoh
Posts: 20
Registered: ‎08-17-2012
Message 13 of 27 (489 Views)

Re: Script errors in IE 9.

Scan running.

Brian

Top Student
Opoh
Posts: 20
Registered: ‎08-17-2012
Message 14 of 27 (473 Views)

Re: Script errors in IE 9.

Scan result:

 

No integrity violations.

 

Unfortunately I still get the Script Error message as follows:

 

An error has occurred in the script on this page.

Line: 53

Char: 6

Error: Unable to get value of property ‘update’ object is null or undefined

Code: 0

URL: http://media.ft.com/js/Page.js

 

 

 

 

The message is not always identical but similar.

 

Just tried again and the identical message came up.

Rgds

Brian

 

Provost
DavidPK
Posts: 29,381
Registered: ‎09-24-2010
Message 15 of 27 (470 Views)

Re: Script errors in IE 9.

Hi Brian,

 

Open windows Control Panel, open Internet Options and click the General Tab.  Under the sub-heading 'Browsing history', click the Delete button. 

 

In the following window, remove the tick in the box next to 'Preserve Favourites Website Data' and then make sure there is a tick against each of the following:

 

Temporary Internet Files

 

Cookies

 

History

 

Then click the Delete button at the bottom.

 

Restart the PC and check the site(s) again.

 

Regards,

 

DP-K

---------------------------------------------------------------------------

****Click the White Kudos star to say thanks****
****Please mark Accept As Solution if it solves your problem****
****I don't work for HP****


Microsoft MVP - Microsoft Windows Expert - Consumer

Top Student
Opoh
Posts: 20
Registered: ‎08-17-2012
Message 16 of 27 (456 Views)

Re: Script errors in IE 9.

 

Hi Dave

Just the same again. The identical message is appearing each time within 5 seconds of opening site,( as forwarded.)

I have also tried typing the URL direct into browser.

 

The FT site works ok with my Dell laptop and IE 9.

 

Is their a Beta version out yet that I might try?

Rgds

Brian

Top Student
Opoh
Posts: 20
Registered: ‎08-17-2012
Message 17 of 27 (455 Views)

Re: Script errors in IE 9.

Script Error has now appeared on HP site:
Line: 1
Char: 1
Error: Access denied
Code: 0
URL: http://h30434.www3.hp.com/t5/forums/postsuccesspage/board-id/OSandSW/message-id/56593
Provost
DavidPK
Posts: 29,381
Registered: ‎09-24-2010
Message 18 of 27 (452 Views)

Re: Script errors in IE 9.

[ Edited ]

Hi Brian,

 

There's currently no beta for IE10 on Windows 7, but try the following.

 

Click the Start Menu, open All Programs, open Accessories, open System Tools and click Internet Explorer (No Add-ons) - do you still get script errors?

 

Could you also let me know if your version of Windows 7 is 32bit or 64bit.

 

Regards,

 

DP-K

---------------------------------------------------------------------------

****Click the White Kudos star to say thanks****
****Please mark Accept As Solution if it solves your problem****
****I don't work for HP****


Microsoft MVP - Microsoft Windows Expert - Consumer

Top Student
Opoh
Posts: 20
Registered: ‎08-17-2012
Message 19 of 27 (447 Views)

Re: Script errors in IE 9.

Bingo, that appears to have cured the problem. Have just been on site for 5 mins and no Errors,
Where do I go from here?
Thanks
Brian
Top Student
Opoh
Posts: 20
Registered: ‎08-17-2012
Message 20 of 27 (444 Views)

Re: Script errors in IE 9.

Windows 7 is 64 Bit.

Rgds

Brian

† The opinions expressed above are the personal opinions of the authors, not of HP. By using this site, you accept the Terms of Use and Rules of Participation