Question

Honor Student
jmcclellan
Message 1 of 3 (866 Views)

reactivate windows 7 after changing motherboard

I had to change out bad motherboard on a hp pavilion which was two weeks out of warranty. It has windows 7 oem and I reinstalled the same board, I know that I will probably have to get a new key from microsoft. When I start computer it begins opening startup window gives a massage that new hardware was found and starts rebooting again. Hard drive has a lot of important information which I could not back up so I do not want to reinstall. How do I proceed from here. Thanks very much for any help

Provost
Paul_Tikkanen
Message 2 of 3 (856 Views)

Re: reactivate windows 7 after changing motherboard

Hi:

I'm not a lawyer, but the below link from Microsoft seems to indicate that you can use the product key currently on the PC if you replaced the motherboard with a working version of the one that went bad.

Please see the link below and I have copied and pasted the answer.

Q. Can a PC with an OEM Windows operating system have its motherboard upgraded and keep the same license? What if it was replaced because it was defective?

A. Generally, an end user can upgrade or replace all of the hardware components on a computer—except the motherboard—and still retain the license for the original Microsoft OEM operating system software. If the motherboard is upgraded or replaced for reasons other than a defect, then a new computer has been created. Microsoft OEM operating system software cannot be transferred to the new computer, and the license of new operating system software is required. If the motherboard is replaced because it is defective, you do not need to acquire a new operating system license for the PC as long as the replacement motherboard is the same make/model or the same manufacturer's replacement/equivalent, as defined by the manufacturer's warranty.