surface scan test failure - error code hd535-2w (8326 Views)
Student
teddy249100
Message 1 of 9 (8,326 Views)

surface scan test failure - error code hd535-2w

product hp pavilion a 633 of PC. Windows vista. My system ran the usual test and it failed the surface scan test. An error code was supplied - hd 535 - 2w. What does this mean and how do I correct the problem? I'm not very good with computers. Any help would be appreciated. Have a great day. Thanks for your time. Pam

Regents Professor
Hanspuppa
Message 2 of 9 (8,306 Views)

Re: surface scan test failure - error code hd535-2w

[ Edited ]

teddy249100 wrote: product hp pavilion a 633 of PC. Windows vista. My system ran the usual test and it failed the surface scan test. An error code was supplied - hd 535 - 2w. What does this mean and how do I correct the problem? I'm not very good with computers. Any help would be appreciated. Have a great day. Thanks for your time. Pam

Hello teddy249100, This message appears to be a warning that the hard drive is failing.

I would backup my data as soon as possible. You should also have a set of HP Recovery Restore disk, since if the hard drive fails, you would need these Recovery disk set to reinsatll the operating system and all your software that came with the HP system.

Here  is a link that has some information on this issue.

Please click the White Kudos star on the left, to say thanks.

Please mark Accept As Solution if it solves your problem.

Provost
DavidPK
Message 3 of 9 (8,298 Views)

Hi Pam,

The test result would indicate that you need to replace the Hard Drive.

The product number you mention ( a633 ) may not be complete, are there any more numbers, letters etc?

Regards,

DP-K

---------------------------------------------------------------------------

****Click the White Kudos star to say thanks****
****Please mark Accept As Solution if it solves your problem****
****I don't work for HP****

Microsoft MVP - Microsoft Windows Expert - Consumer

Student