Question

Honor Student
vickirogers1
Message 1 of 12 (10,613 Views)

Echo sound from speakers

Hi. I'm a computer novice but the sound situation from my PC is driving me mad so I'm hoping someone here can help :smileyhappy: I have an HP Pavilion a1525a running Windows XP. The sound used to be fine. Then it suddenly started being 'echoey' and it sounds like the person you're speaking to is in a submarine or toilet! We have Logitech speakers but they are not the problem as we get the same echo effect from the Genius speakers we tried. I have uninstalled the Realtek driver and rebooted the PC but the problem remains. Could it be something to do with the Legacy driver? Not sure what the Legacy driver is (maybe the in-built driver or something?) Any assistance would be gratefully received. Have I provided enough info? Thanks.

Provost
old_geekster
Message 2 of 12 (10,603 Views)

Re: Echo sound from speakers

Vicki, you did a good job of explaining your problem.  Let's hope that we do as well solving it. :smileywink:

Have you gone into the Control Panel/Sound?  Sometimes there are settings that change the sound of the speakers.  I suggest checking to see if something bacame inadvertently checked.  Let us know what you find.

HP Split 13 x2
- 1.6 Ghz; 4 GB memory; SSD 128 GB; Win 8.0

HP Phoenix ENVY 810-135qe
- i7-4770K (liquid cooled); 8 GB memory; GT 640 (4 GB), SSD (Samsung EVO 840-500 GB); 600W PSU; Win 7 Ultimate

HP Photosmart 7520 AIO

++++++++++++++++++
**Click the Thumbs Up on the left to say 'Thanks'**

Intelligence is God given; Wisdom is the sum of our mistakes!

Message 3 of 12 (10,586 Views)

Thanks for replying 'old geekster' :smileyhappy: