Post new question
Question
Using HDMI on 2311x Monitor
Replies (20)
Reply
 
Provost
Posts: 25,870
Member Since: ‎07-17-2009
Message 11 of 21 (6,764 Views)

Re: Using HDMI on 2311x Monitor

[ Edited ]

Hi,

 

You don't typically have to worry about "high speed" HDMI cables unless you are running ultra high resolution and/or 3D.

 

There is no guarantee that poorly manufactured HDMI cables stamped "high speed" means that the cable will work in every situation.

Top Student
Posts: 6
Member Since: ‎12-02-2011
Message 12 of 21 (6,759 Views)

Re: Using HDMI on 2311x Monitor

Hi,

 

I absolutely agree.  However, I think that we are getting away from the topic "HDMI vs HP 2311x".  I found my own solution before getting on this forum and I have not seen any solution yet; therefore, I posted my experience in solving the problem so that others can try on.  I am going to sign off this topic.

 

Regards.

Provost
Posts: 25,870
Member Since: ‎07-17-2009
Message 13 of 21 (6,733 Views)

Re: Using HDMI on 2311x Monitor

Hi,

 

The solution was posted earlier.

Top Student
Posts: 7
Member Since: ‎08-05-2010
Message 14 of 21 (6,698 Views)

Re: Using HDMI on 2311x Monitor

[quote]The solution was posted earlier.[/quote]

 

So which answer is the correct one then?  The one that says I need to call HP Support for some unclear reason or the one that says I need to buy an expensive HDMI cable?

Provost
Posts: 25,870
Member Since: ‎07-17-2009
Message 15 of 21 (6,695 Views)

Re: Using HDMI on 2311x Monitor

Hi,

 

Contact HP Support.  I have asked HP to have an engineer look into the HDMI issues with HP 2x11x monitors.

 

There is not a requirement to the HP 2x11x monitors to use "high speed" cables knowing that many of the video cards are not perhaps supportive to the full extent of HDMI 1.3 and higher. Even then you would need to be running a high resolution and perhaps even 3D.  But if you can't even get the monitor to work well with Windows then that would also indicate basic interface issues.

 

A small impedance change between different HDMI cables might make a difference that will allow you to circumvent the issue. 

 

BTW, Most of the older HDMI category 1 cables will qualify to the category 2 standard (340 mhz, 10.2 Gbps) which is HDMI 1.3.

Top Student
Posts: 6
Member Since: ‎12-02-2011
Message 16 of 21 (6,685 Views)

Re: Using HDMI on 2311x Monitor

Hi,

 

I would say by now HP Tech. Support should provide us a recommendation of what HDMI cable should be used with HP 2311x.  I am not a big fan of buying an expeinsive cable for a small job like this.  Even though my HDMI cable is high speed but I bought it only for $5.99; I have seen it in a national-chain store with $15.  The major problem is not all cables are tested up to their market labels.  It is up to your comfort zone.  Also what make HP 2311x different from other monitors is its DVI/HDMI ports with requirement of HDCP compliance.

 

Below is the cable types under HDMI 1.4 specification and the information can be found on wikipedia website

    Standard HDMI Cable – up to 1080i and 720p

    Standard HDMI Cable with Ethernet

    Automotive HDMI Cable

    High Speed HDMI Cable – 1080p, 4K, 3D and Deep Color

    High Speed HDMI Cable with Ethernet

 

My current settings are

    Sony Laptop connected to VGA port of HP 2311x (main display)

    HP pc with AMD Phenom II X4 940T CPU and MSI R5450 graphic card connected to

            HDMI port of HP 2311x

            DVI port of ViewSonic LED 24" (main display)

 

I can turn any of them on or both and depending on who does the handshaking first will own the HP 2311x monitor.

 

The problem may not be the monitor (unless it is defective) but might be the graphicard and/or HDMI cable.  By the way the HDMI cable which I pulled out from my blue ray dvd player which did not work om PC/HP 2311x connection is labelled as HDMI 1.3 cable.

 

Provost
Posts: 25,870
Member Since: ‎07-17-2009
Message 17 of 21 (6,682 Views)

Re: Using HDMI on 2311x Monitor

Mtnu4,

 

You are not the only one having HDMI issues.

 

HDCP is nothing new.  My two year old HP 2159m is HDCP.  HDCP only comes into play with commerical Blu-ray DVDs and protected TV broadcasts.

Top Student
Posts: 6
Member Since: ‎12-02-2011
Message 18 of 21 (6,645 Views)

Re: Using HDMI on 2311x Monitor

[ Edited ]

Hi Dawn,

 

I have read the threat "HP2311x LED Monitor having HDMI problems" initiated from Aesir on 11-17-2011.  Both Aesir and SHORTYUK have been able to make it to work and Aesir also claimed that it worked even for his old cable.  Since I have my monitor working with the new cable, I have tried to plug in my old cable but it did not work.

 

It turns out that we have to do it in a right sequence which described below

 

1) Make sure that the PC/Laptop works with HP 2311x via DVI cable (or VGA but I have not test this scenario).

2) While the PC/Laptop is running, make HDMI as the Default Source and change Auto-Switch Source to "Off".  Save and exit.

3) Shutdown the PC/Laptop and wait for a few minutes (You may have to unplug the power source of both PC/Laptop and monitor; I do not think it is neccesary)

4) Unplug the DVI cable from the monitor and plug in the HDMI cable to both PC/Laptop and monitor.

5) Power it on

 

I hope that it would work and you do not have to buy a new cable.  I have tried on mine already.

 

 

IMPORTANT NOTE:  I have to take it back the VGA scenario in 1 due to not being tested.  My original settings are:  Default Source is DVI and Auto-Switch Source is "On".  After the setup to work with HDMI, please do not switch to other type of cables (VGA or DVI); you may run into the display problem because "Auto-Switch Source" option is set to off and the Default Source is set to HDMI.  After this post, I started to switch the cables around to meet my monitors sharing with 2 machines and I ran into problem with 2311x.

Student
Posts: 1
Member Since: ‎12-28-2011
Message 19 of 21 (6,446 Views)

Re: Using HDMI on 2311x Monitor

I didn't believe it till I tried it. I was trying to connect with some ordinary HDMI cables.  They didn't work.  I had some nice ones from Monoprice so I tried those to see if my HP 2311x monitor would start working.  Viola.  That did the trick. Unbelievable.  Such a simple solution.

Top Student
Posts: 5
Member Since: ‎09-10-2015
Message 20 of 21 (852 Views)

Re: Using HDMI on 2311x Monitor

I tangled with this headache after buying a base station for my Thinkpad notebook computer.  This added a displayport option, so I thought it an easy 'upgrade' from standard VGA.  I purchased a displayport to HDMI cable and that's when the dreaded "check cable" message haunted me.  I tried EVERYTHING suggested here and NOTHING would work.  Then, I realized that the monitor was showing that HDMI connection was active but, for some reason, couldn't switch (either forced or manual).  No amount of resetting made any difference.  Then, I tried something that I was sure would NOT work:  I plugged in BOTH the HDMI and the VGA at the same time.  Then, I just unplugged the VGA...viola! Has worked flawlessly for the last few days, so thought I would post it here and save someone countless hours of frustration.  

† The opinions expressed above are the personal opinions of the authors, not of HP. By using this site, you accept the Terms of Use and Rules of Participation