Post new question
Question
Reply
 
Tutor
Posts: 16
Member Since: ‎10-15-2016
Message 1 of 9 (1,488 Views)

Why is my monitor not working it comes on for a moment and says no HDMI or VGA input, ?

Operating System: Microsoft Windows 7 (64-bit)
I have a HP pavilion and I am trying to hook it up to my monitor, I have the big PURPLE cable plugged in to both the tower and the monitor, but when I try to turn on monitor it comes on for a moment and says that There is no HDMI or VGA input connection ????....... What am I missing ?
Any help would be greatly appreciated !
Thanks !!
Reply
0
HP Support Agent
Posts: 4,970
Member Since: ‎08-11-2014
Message 2 of 9 (1,455 Views)

Re: Why is my monitor not working it comes on for a moment and says no HDMI or VGA input, ?

 

@Abigdog1959

 

Welcome to HP Forums, this is a great place to get support, find answers and tips,
Thank you for posting your query, I'll be more than glad to help you out Smiley Happy

As I understand the monitor isn't getting detected though the cables are connected properly,

The message - "No Input Signal" is normal when the computer truly goes into sleep mode or loses the video signal (such as when the computer is turned off). However, if the monitor displays any of these messages when the computer should be displaying video, something is wrong.

Check with an alternate video cable (HDMI or VGA)
If the issue persists, try the below steps:

 

The displays resolution used by Windows has probably been set to a resolution that cannot be used by the monitor. Use the following steps to see if the monitor can display screens from safe mode:

  1. Cycle the power on the monitor as follows:

    1. Turn off the monitor. The power light on the monitor should be off. Leave the computer turned on.

    2. Unplug the power cord.

    3. Wait 5 seconds.

    4. Plug in the power cord.

    5. Press the power button on the monitor to turn on the monitor.

      One of two things happens:

      • The image from the computer displays on the monitor and you can use the computer again. This indicates that the monitor was unable to detect that the computer had awakened from suspend mode. Turn the monitor off when it is not being used or disable suspend mode on the computer. For some computers, updating the BIOS can correct these types of suspending problems.

        OR

      • The power light on the monitor comes on but the screen displays one of the messages again. The monitor is not receiving a video signal from the computer that it can detect and use. Continue using these steps.

  2. If the computer is on, wait until the hard drive activity light on the computer is not lit and then press and hold the Power button on the computer case until the computer turns off.

  3. If the monitor has a factory reset or restore options, set it. Press the Menu button on the front panel and select Factory Reset.

  4. Wait 5 seconds and then turn on the computer by pressing the Power button again.

  5. Adjust the Windows display resolution to a setting that is compatible with the monitor.

For more steps, Click here

 

Let me know how that pans out,
I hope you have a good day ahead,
And Feel free to ask your queries as this forum has some of the best people in the world available and ready to help.
Regards,

Riddle_Decipher
I work on behalf of HP

If you found this post helpful, you can let others know by clicking the Accept as Solution button. You can also show your appreciation, with a kudos, by clicking the Thumbs up" button!

Tutor
Posts: 16
Member Since: ‎10-15-2016
Message 3 of 9 (1,448 Views)

Re: Why is my monitor not working it comes on for a moment and says no HDMI or VGA input, ?

Thanks for your help !!!
When I get home, I will try those steps you suggested.
I will let you know how it goes !
Again thanks !!!
HP Support Agent
Posts: 4,970
Member Since: ‎08-11-2014
Message 4 of 9 (1,432 Views)

Re: Why is my monitor not working it comes on for a moment and says no HDMI or VGA input, ?

 

@Abigdog1959

 

Thank you for replying,

Please take your time,
I hope it all works out well for you
And I would appreciate if you could keep me in the loop,

 

Regards,

Riddle_Decipher
I work on behalf of HP

If you found this post helpful, you can let others know by clicking the Accept as Solution button. You can also show your appreciation, with a kudos, by clicking the Thumbs up" button!

Tutor
Posts: 16
Member Since: ‎10-15-2016
Message 5 of 9 (1,421 Views)

Re: Why is my monitor not working it comes on for a moment and says no HDMI or VGA input, ?

Yes, hi !
I am the guy that was having problems with my HP pavilion Tower model number q6700f andHP monitor HP w2408h
Before All I was getting on the monitor was no input signals
I tried what you suggested and unplug the monitor and then turn it on and press the menu button on the monitor,
Now all I get is the screen just flashes white, rad, green, blue, black and just repeating those actions.
Question ? If I am just trying to get the internet through the WI Fi in my house doe's the yellow internet cable have to be connected to anything ?
And if so then what ?
I only have the VGA cable and the blue cable with the screws hooked up from the computer to the monitor and the keyboard hook up as well.
I think I am just over looking or not doing the most simplest thing !
I was just using this computer and monitor 6 months ago !
If you were going to rehook this computer and monitor and keyboard up just to receive the internet through the WI Fi system in your house,
How would you go about it, Step by step ???
Thanks !
Tired and confused !
Abigdog1959
HP Support Agent
Posts: 4,970
Member Since: ‎08-11-2014
Message 6 of 9 (1,411 Views)

Re: Why is my monitor not working it comes on for a moment and says no HDMI or VGA input, ?

@Abigdog1959

 

Thank you for replying,

 

I remember you as I had been waiting to know if the issue has been fixed,

 

Considering it hasn't, I would recommend you to take one step at a time,

That said, let's begin with ensuring the computer turns on and then we can work on setting up the internet.

 

Please try an alternate monitor to understand if this is either a hardware or a software failure,
if the display does not appear on the alternate monitor (try an alternate cable as well) contact HP for a hardware service as this could be a hardware issue,

the VGA cable is blue in color with the two screws, make sure you only use one cable at a time.

 

Keep me posted,

Regards,

Riddle_Decipher
I work on behalf of HP

If you found this post helpful, you can let others know by clicking the Accept as Solution button. You can also show your appreciation, with a kudos, by clicking the Thumbs up" button!

Tutor
Posts: 16
Member Since: ‎10-15-2016
Message 7 of 9 (1,400 Views)

Re: Why is my monitor not working it comes on for a moment and says no HDMI or VGA input, ?

I have tried what you suggested,. Unplugging the monitor and then plugged back in and push the menu button.
I did that and now I just get the screen comes on and goes from black to white, green,. Blue,. Red,. Ect...
And keep's on repeating this series of color's.
I am just trying to hook it up and get it going using the WI Fi in the house.

I feel like I am over looking the most simplest thing !

I think I just need to start from the beginning and if someone can help and take me step by step how to get this up and running I would be SO great full !!!

Tired and confused;
Abigdog1959
HP Support Agent
Posts: 3,304
Member Since: ‎08-03-2016
Message 8 of 9 (1,381 Views)

Re: Why is my monitor not working it comes on for a moment and says no HDMI or VGA input, ?

Hi@Abigdog1959,

 

I thank you for the reply.

 

Please follow the steps from the link below and check if that helps.

 

http://hp.care/2eOHWVg

 

Let me know for more.

 

Happy posting.

 

Resolv_S

 

Glad to help you. I work for HP

Please click Accept as Solution if you feel my post solved your issue, it will help others find the solution.
Click the Kudos Thumbs Up" to say “Thanks” for helping!

Student
Posts: 1
Member Since: ‎02-07-2017
Message 9 of 9 (585 Views)

Re: Why is my monitor not working it comes on for a moment and says no HDMI or VGA input, ?

My monitor can't find a signal but the VGA is in all the way and it's not lose or broken but it still says no signal I'm so sad someone please help me
† The opinions expressed above are the personal opinions of the authors, not of HP. By using this site, you accept the Terms of Use and Rules of Participation