Question
Reply
 
Tutor
jussnf
Posts: 10
Member Since: ‎11-26-2011
Message 1 of 8 (17,098 Views)
Accepted Solution

How do I find my computer's maximum ram speed?

[ Edited ]

I just got my HP dv6 6117dx laptop today :smileyhappy:

I love this laptop. One thing I love is that it has 4GB of DDR3 memory. Another thing I love about it is that I can upgrade it to a whopping 16 GB.

 

However, if I want to upgrade, how do I find the maximum speed DDR3 RAM that my computer will support? (i.e. 1333MHz, 1066MHz) I'm not sure how to interpret the readings that CPU-Z gives me; any help on that or alternative methods to find out?

cpuz1.pngcpuz2.png

Provost
banhien
Posts: 32,445
Member Since: ‎01-29-2009
Message 2 of 8 (17,095 Views)

Re: How do I find my computer's maximum ram speed?

Hi,

 

You can use CPU-Z to check. The very quick way is go to www.crucial.com and enter info of your machine, it will popup the results for you. You can buy RAM from there or use the info to buy elsewhere.

 

Regards.

BH
***
**Click the KUDOS thumb up on the left to say 'Thanks'**
Make it easier for other people to find solutions by marking a Reply 'Accept as Solution' if it solves your problem.
Tutor
jussnf
Posts: 10
Member Since: ‎11-26-2011
Message 3 of 8 (17,093 Views)

Re: How do I find my computer's maximum ram speed?

Well I did post screenshots of CPU-Z in hopes that you could tell me my max supported ram speed in MHz, but I think crucial gives me enough information to purchase RAM. However crucial still does not tell me the maximum speed. From the suggestions the website gave, I assume that it is 1333MHz. Can anyone confirm this?

Provost
banhien
Posts: 32,445
Member Since: ‎01-29-2009
Message 4 of 8 (17,091 Views)

Re: How do I find my computer's maximum ram speed?

[ Edited ]

Hi,

 

Because I can not see the images. I can not find your machine, this is the similar machine:

 

   http://www.crucial.com/store/listparts.aspx?model=Pavilion%20dv6-6118nr&Cat=RAM

 

Regards

BH
***
**Click the KUDOS thumb up on the left to say 'Thanks'**
Make it easier for other people to find solutions by marking a Reply 'Accept as Solution' if it solves your problem.
Tutor
jussnf
Posts: 10
Member Since: ‎11-26-2011
Message 5 of 8 (17,088 Views)

Re: How do I find my computer's maximum ram speed?

Thanks for your help so far. Another question: since I already have one 4GB module installed (of unknown brand), would an additional 4GB module with the same specifications from crucial work without problems (for a total of 8GB) or do I have to buy an entire 8GB kit from crucial? Will my old ram in slot 1 work with a new ram in slot 2 of a different manufacturer if it has the same specifications?

Provost
banhien
Posts: 32,445
Member Since: ‎01-29-2009
Message 6 of 8 (17,083 Views)

Re: How do I find my computer's maximum ram speed?

Hi,

 

CPU-Z should show you (sorry I can't see the images) how many slots are being used. Currently it can be (a) 4GB x 1 or (b) 2 GB x 2 (most likely).

 

  • If (a) you only need to buy 1 more 4GB stick to make 8GB
  • If (b) you have to buy 2 x 4GB to make 8GB and throw away 2 x 2GB sticks.

You don't need to buy the whole kit. By the way, buying maximum speed RAM does not mean RAM will run at maximun speed. A racing car can not run its maximum speed say 280km/h if the road (and the laws) is for normal cars which run only say 120km/h.

 

Regards.

BH
***
**Click the KUDOS thumb up on the left to say 'Thanks'**
Make it easier for other people to find solutions by marking a Reply 'Accept as Solution' if it solves your problem.
Tutor
jussnf
Posts: 10
Member Since: ‎11-26-2011
Message 7 of 8 (17,081 Views)

Re: How do I find my computer's maximum ram speed?

Mhm. I just wanted to make sure that my computer had the best ram and that the new stick RAM speed would match the RAM speed of the 4GB stick I have installed right now. 

 

A new computer will most likely have the highest speed RAM it can support right?

Provost
banhien
Posts: 32,445
Member Since: ‎01-29-2009
Message 8 of 8 (17,077 Views)

Re: How do I find my computer's maximum ram speed?

Hi,

 

  • CPU-Z (SPD tab, max bandwidth) should show you the RAM speed
  • Not really, it depending on the chipset of the motherboard or system board

Regards.

BH
***
**Click the KUDOS thumb up on the left to say 'Thanks'**
Make it easier for other people to find solutions by marking a Reply 'Accept as Solution' if it solves your problem.
† The opinions expressed above are the personal opinions of the authors, not of HP. By using this site, you accept the Terms of Use and Rules of Participation