Question
Reply
 
Honor Student
Tiger-Fan88
Posts: 1
Member Since: ‎06-28-2012
Message 1 of 7 (8,082 Views)

ProBook 4730s RAM Upgrade

I recently purchased a ProBook 4730s and wanted to upgrade the standard 4GB to 16GB (using 2x8GB RAM chips) however when I did this it made the machine run extremely slow (4+ hours to install a simple Windows 7 OS).

 

Removing the RAM and replacing with the original 4 GB corrected the problem, however researching online there are several memory upgrades available from retailers indicating that the 16GB kit should be compatible with this model.

 

I also found some mentions of an 8GB limit, however when I replaced the 4GB chip with an 8GB one I got the same issue, so I have 3 questions:

 

What is the absolute limit for memory in the ProBook 4730s?

Why would adding an 8GB stick cause the issue when apparently it should support 8GB, can this only be in the form of 2x4GB?

Can I upgrade the BIOS to allow the hardware to utilise 16GB of RAM?

 

The BIOS recognises all the installed RAM when I have 16GB in, and reports the 16GB accurately, so I'm unsure why it doesn't work, but haven't been able to find any reliable information on the memory manufacturer or HP sites that can give me a definitive answer.

Provost
banhien
Posts: 35,474
Member Since: ‎01-29-2009
Message 2 of 7 (8,079 Views)

Re: ProBook 4730s RAM Upgrade

[ Edited ]

Hi,

 

Please check the following link, looks like max is 8GB:

 

   http://www.crucial.com/upgrade/HP+-+Compaq-memory/HP+Business+Notebooks/ProBook+4730s-upgrades.html

 

You can buy from them or use the info to buy elsewhere.

 

The following link also shows 8GB max:

 

  http://h10010.www1.hp.com/wwpc/us/en/sm/WF06a/321957-321957-64295-3929941-3955552-5060893.html?dnr=1

 

Good luck.

BH
***
**Click the KUDOS thumb up on the left to say 'Thanks'**
Make it easier for other people to find solutions by marking a Reply 'Accept as Solution' if it solves your problem.
Honor Student
bootgmv76
Posts: 3
Member Since: ‎07-20-2012
Message 3 of 7 (7,974 Views)

Re: ProBook 4730s RAM Upgrade

  I have found conflicting answetrs on this on the hp website where in 1 spot it says that you can put in either 2 ddr3 pc3-10600 or ddr3 pc3-12800 or whatever it is called here is the link I am talking of like here if u scroll down to the bottom of the page they sell 8 gig sticks of ddr3 pc3-12800 for the unbelivabley outrageous price of $199.00 here is that link http://h10010.www1.hp.com/wwpc/us/en/sm/WF08a/321957-321957-64295-3929941-3955552-5060893.html?dnr=1  here is another link saying it is compatiable and it lists the hp probook 4730s by name  http://h10010.www1.hp.com/wwpc/us/en/sm/WF32a/A10-51210-64186-3924237-64186-5260427-5260428-5264273....   but here is a link where it vaguely kinda says it isnt by not having the 4730s named  http://h18006.www1.hp.com/products/quickspecs/13381_div/13381_div.HTML   I would really love to be able to upgrade to 16 gb of ram as I already have upgraded everything else and that would be the best upgrade I can do now , other then the soolid state drive I just installed which now my laptop blows away any mac or samsung series 9 I have came acrossed it boots up in under 9 seconds and is ready to go . I have talked to a few tech guys from hp and they all say 8 gigs is the max . I am wondering what the exact type of ram you have used in yours that way if I do decide to waste some $ and try an 8 gig stick that I dont try the same kind that you used , I am hoping you tried the ddr3 pc3-10600 and not the ddr3 pc3-12800 which it kinda says is compatible, but then kinda says it isnt , I would say lol but it is not that funny ,more frustrating then funny they should just make us a bios so that our laptops can support 16 gig o ram and make us happy. 1 side note to any one thinking of getting an hp product, DO IT , I had a problem with my hdd and I called hp @ 12:30 pm on a tuesday and had a new hdd @ 10 am that next wednesday that was less then 1 day . I have never seen such great support for any product anywhere in all of my 36 years, I am an old fart , and now I recomend HP to all my family and friends

Honor Student
Mr_0x00
Posts: 3
Member Since: ‎09-29-2012
Message 4 of 7 (7,755 Views)

Re: ProBook 4730s RAM Upgrade

I have tried a 2x8GB upgrade on my HP ProBook 4730s, and it works, but it slows down the computer. The whole point of having an upgrade is to make your computer run faster, not slower...

 

Here are a few details from cpu-z (v1.61 64bit)

processor Intel Core i5 2410M, Sandy Bridge

 

BIOS:

     vendor Hewlett-Packard

     version 68SRR Ver. F.28

     date 06/26/2012

 

I have the latest BIOS version, as noted on the HP official driver download page for ProBook 4730s: http://h20000.www2.hp.com/bizsupport/TechSupport/SoftwareIndex.jsp?lang=en&cc=us&prodNameId=5060895&...

 

The original 1 x 4 GB RAM runs as follows:

Memory Type DDR3

Memory Size 4096 MBytes

Channels Single

Memory Frequency 665.2 MHz (1:5)

CAS# latency (CL) 9.0

RAS# to CAS# delay (tRCD) 9

RAS# Precharge (tRP) 9

Cycle Time (tRAS) 24

Command Rate (CR) 1T

 

 

Memory SPD  

DIMM # 1

     SMBus address 0x52

     Memory type DDR3

     Module format SO-DIMM

     Manufacturer (ID) Elpida (7F7FFE0000000000)

     Size 4096 MBytes

     Max bandwidth PC3-10700 (667 MHz)

     Part number EBJ41UF8BCS0-DJ-F 

     Serial number E20E0EB4

     Manufacturing date Week 18/Year 11

     Number of banks 8

     Nominal Voltage 1.50 Volts

     EPP no

     XMP no

JEDEC timings table CL-tRCD-tRP-tRAS-tRC @ frequency

     JEDEC #1 5.0-5-5-14-19 @ 380 MHz

     JEDEC #2 6.0-6-6-17-23 @ 457 MHz

     JEDEC #3 7.0-7-7-20-27 @ 533 MHz

     JEDEC #4 8.0-8-8-22-30 @ 609 MHz

     JEDEC #5 9.0-9-9-25-34 @ 685 MHz

     JEDEC #6 10.0-10-10-28-38 @ 761 MHz

 

The upgrade to  2 x 8 GB RAM, with Crucial CT102464BF160B (1600 MHz) runs as follows:

Memory Type DDR3

Memory Size 16384 MBytes

Channels Dual

Memory Frequency 665.3 MHz (1:5)

CAS# latency (CL) 9.0

RAS# to CAS# delay (tRCD) 9

RAS# Precharge (tRP) 9

Cycle Time (tRAS) 24

Command Rate (CR) 1T

 

DIMM # 1

     SMBus address 0x50

     Memory type DDR3

     Module format SO-DIMM

     Manufacturer (ID) Crucial Technology (7F7F7F7F7F9B0000)

     Size 8192 MBytes

     Max bandwidth PC3-12800 (800 MHz)

     Part number CT102464BF160B.M16

     Manufacturing date Week 25/Year 12

     Number of banks 8

     Nominal Voltage 1.28 Volts

     EPP no

     XMP no

JEDEC timings table CL-tRCD-tRP-tRAS-tRC @ frequency

     JEDEC #1 5.0-5-5-14-19 @ 380 MHz

     JEDEC #2 6.0-6-6-16-22 @ 457 MHz

     JEDEC #3 7.0-7-7-19-26 @ 533 MHz

     JEDEC #4 8.0-8-8-22-30 @ 609 MHz

     JEDEC #5 9.0-9-9-24-33 @ 685 MHz

     JEDEC #6 10.0-10-10-27-37 @ 761 MHz

     JEDEC #7 11.0-11-11-30-41 @ 838 MHz

   

DIMM # 2

     SMBus address 0x52

     Memory type DDR3

     Module format SO-DIMM

     Manufacturer (ID) Crucial Technology (7F7F7F7F7F9B0000)

     Size 8192 MBytes

     Max bandwidth PC3-12800 (800 MHz)

     Part number CT102464BF160B.M16

     Manufacturing date Week 25/Year 12

     Number of banks 8

     Nominal Voltage 1.28 Volts

     EPP no

     XMP no

JEDEC timings table CL-tRCD-tRP-tRAS-tRC @ frequency

     JEDEC #1 5.0-5-5-14-19 @ 380 MHz

     JEDEC #2 6.0-6-6-16-22 @ 457 MHz

     JEDEC #3 7.0-7-7-19-26 @ 533 MHz

     JEDEC #4 8.0-8-8-22-30 @ 609 MHz

     JEDEC #5 9.0-9-9-24-33 @ 685 MHz

     JEDEC #6 10.0-10-10-27-37 @ 761 MHz

     JEDEC #7 11.0-11-11-30-41 @ 838 MHz

 

 

The upgrade to  1 x 4 GB (original) + 1 x 8 GB RAM, with Crucial CT102464BF160B (1600 MHz) runs as follows:

Memory Type DDR3

Memory Size 12288 MBytes

Channels Dual

Memory Frequency 665.3 MHz (1:5)

CAS# latency (CL) 9.0

RAS# to CAS# delay (tRCD) 9

RAS# Precharge (tRP) 9

Cycle Time (tRAS) 24

Command Rate (CR) 1T

 

Memory benchmarks for 2 x 8 GB RAM, with Crucial CT102464BF160B (1600 MHz):

1,2,3

 

1_Memory Bandwidth-run1.jpg

 

2_Cache _ Memory Latency-run1-p1.jpg

 

3_Cache _ Memory Latency-run1-p2.jpg

 

As you can see, SiSoftware Sandra Lite 2012.SP5c reported that the memory bandwidth and latency for my system (in red) are competitive with other Sandy Bridge based systems.

 

If my ProBook 4730s had more than 8 GB RAM, as in 8+4 and 8+8 setup, the system would freeze, if I tried to play a H.264 video with Windows Media Player. It would also freeze in GPU part of Windows Experience index (using Windows 7 x64).

 

Real World Benchmark (m:ss) with 4GB RAM

Computer turned on: 0:00

Windows logo disappears, screen black: 0:40

Screen turns blue: 0:55

Logged in: 1:04

Sound with icons: 1:58

HD Sentinel Window: 2:47

HDD activity ends: 4:26

 

Real World Benchmark (m:ss) with 16GB RAM

Computer turned on: 0:00

Windows logo disappears, screen black: 1:55

Screen turns blue: 2:05

Logged in: 2:15

Sound with icons: 3:05

HD Sentinel Window: 5:35

HDD activity ends: 8:05

 

As you can see, the system is noticeably slower with 16 GB RAM. I get a similar slowdown with any above 8 GB setup. I have also tried with 1x8GB setup, and I think it works fine, since WMP wouldn’t freeze, but I’d suggest you to rather run a 2x4GB dual channel setup.

 

Yes, the processor itself and its built-in memory controller support 16 GB RAM, as per Intel specs: http://ark.intel.com/products/52224/Intel-Core-i5-2410M-Processor-%283M-Cache-up-to-2_90-GHz%29

 

But there is obviously a problem in a way the built in GPU runs. I tried to play with BIOS settings, but you cannot get it to run on ATI graphics alone. The system would simply freeze. I have also tried to update the chipset drivers (you can use version 9.3.0 from some newer models, such as  http://h20000.www2.hp.com/bizsupport/TechSupport/SoftwareIndex.jsp?lang=en&cc=us&prodNameId=5257513&...  ). Memory mappings, as reported by Windows, look fine. I guess it is a deep motherboard issue in the way it runs the integrated GPU, that is not compatible with memory sizes above 8 GB.

 

If you would like to speed up this system, do the following:

Get 2 x Crucial 4 GB DDR3 1600 MT/s (PC3-12800) Notebook Module, CT51264BF160B

 

With this memory, my ProBook 4730s boots faster than with 4 GB only. It gets to sound with icons in 1:47 (1:58 with 4GB) and to HD Sentinel window in 2:36 (2:47 with 8GB). Now the system runs in dual channel, and I like to have two memory modules of the same kind.

 

Memory Size 8192 MBytes

Channels Dual

Memory Frequency 665.2 MHz (1:5)

CAS# latency (CL) 9.0

RAS# to CAS# delay (tRCD) 9

RAS# Precharge (tRP) 9

Cycle Time (tRAS) 24

Command Rate (CR) 1T

 

Get a fast and stable SSD (no BSODs). Intel 520 Series Solid-State Drive 240 GB SATA 6 Gb fits this description. The 240 GB version is the fastest in the 520 family, while with retail/BOX (*K5) version your warranty is not limited by how much you use your SSD (no media wear-out indicator E9 warrany limitation)

 

If you would like to retain your HDD, you can put the SSD in the optical drive bay, using Silverstone SST-TS06.

This is actually two products in one:

1. internal SATA tray with interface for 2.5" SSD to replace with DVD drive.

2. external USB 2.0 enclosure for removed DVD drive.

Read more about it: http://www.silverstonetek.com/product.php?pid=323

 

It’s a very neat solution. You still have access to your optical drive, if you need it. But you system gets a really nice speed boost. I would post the improved boot time with SSD, but I haven’t reinstalled Windows on the new SSD yet.

 

Top Student
WilliamShen
Posts: 7
Member Since: ‎08-20-2013
Message 5 of 7 (4,307 Views)

Re: ProBook 4730s RAM Upgrade

Good analysis. Same proble, Probook 4441s with i7

Student
ajcbutler
Posts: 1
Member Since: ‎10-29-2013
Message 6 of 7 (3,780 Views)

Re: ProBook 4730s RAM Upgrade

I have the same problem but I had 1x4GB and I added another 1x4GB.  It takes a long time to boot up and about 4 times a day I get the blue screen of death and then it restarts.

 

Are there any updates that need doing?

HP Support Agent
TwoPointOh
Posts: 4,403
Member Since: ‎08-31-2013
Message 7 of 7 (3,765 Views)

Re: ProBook 4730s RAM Upgrade

I am sorry, but to get your issue more exposure I would suggest posting it in the commercial forums since this is a commercial product. You can do this at http://h30499.www3.hp.com/hpeb/ .

I hope this helps.

TwoPointOh
I work on behalf of HP



Please click “Accept as Solution ” if you feel my post solved your issue, it will help others find the solution.
Click the “Kudos, Thumbs Up" on the bottom to say “Thanks” for helping!
† The opinions expressed above are the personal opinions of the authors, not of HP. By using this site, you accept the Terms of Use and Rules of Participation