Question
Reply
 
Honor Student
Nelson93
Posts: 4
Member Since: ‎01-23-2012
Message 1 of 10 (9,108 Views)
Accepted Solution

Ram upgrade for HP G62

Hi I'm currently the owner of a HP G62 B25sa and I was wondering if it would be possible for me to upgrade my ram from the 4gb supplied to 8gb I would purchase from amazon. Within the specifications it says that I has a 4gb limit but I'm not sure if this applies to the capacity per stick or the total ram. Here are the pages about my laptop and the ram I am looking to purchase; any help would be greatly appreciated! Thanks for looking!!!!

 

Product specs: http://h10025.www1.hp.com/ewfrf/wc/document?docname=c02550752&tmp_task=prodinfoCategory&cc=us&dlc=en...

 

Ram link: http://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B0031GK3OI/ref=s9_simh_gw_p147_d0_g147_i4?pf_rd_m=A3P5ROKL5A1OLE&...

Provost
Paul_Tikkanen
Posts: 43,703
Member Since: ‎07-13-2010
Message 2 of 10 (9,095 Views)

Re: Ram upgrade for HP G62

Hi:

 

The service manual states you can upgrade to 8 GB of memory.

 

http://h10032.www1.hp.com/ctg/Manual/c02542102.pdf

 

Your notebook I believe, comes installed with one 4 GB chip, so you should only need to purchase another 4 GB PC3-10600 module.

 

Paul

Honor Student
Nelson93
Posts: 4
Member Since: ‎01-23-2012
Message 3 of 10 (9,093 Views)

Re: Ram upgrade for HP G62

Hi thanks for the response :smileyhappy:

My laptop currently has 2x2gb sticks of ram so if I was to purchase the 2x4gb of ram off the amazon link I provided would that be adequate.

Thanks for all the help!!

Provost
Paul_Tikkanen
Posts: 43,703
Member Since: ‎07-13-2010
Message 4 of 10 (9,091 Views)

Re: Ram upgrade for HP G62

[ Edited ]

Hi:

 

Yes, the 8 GB set you posted should work just fine, but it will only run at 1066 MHz per the service manual.

 

Paul

Honor Student
Nelson93
Posts: 4
Member Since: ‎01-23-2012
Message 5 of 10 (9,088 Views)

Re: Ram upgrade for HP G62

Thank you so much!!!!!
Provost
Paul_Tikkanen
Posts: 43,703
Member Since: ‎07-13-2010
Message 6 of 10 (9,086 Views)

Re: Ram upgrade for HP G62

You're very welcome.

 

See my edited post. The memory will only run at 1066 MHz, not 1333 MHz.

 

Paul

Honor Student
Nelson93
Posts: 4
Member Since: ‎01-23-2012
Message 7 of 10 (9,083 Views)

Re: Ram upgrade for HP G62

Yeah I assumed that because I used AIDA64 to see the speed of the ram/type :smileyhappy:

I've just ordered the ram; can't wait!

Thank you so much! :smileyhappy:

Provost
Paul_Tikkanen
Posts: 43,703
Member Since: ‎07-13-2010
Message 8 of 10 (9,080 Views)

Re: Ram upgrade for HP G62

You're most welcome.

 

I'm sure you will notice a nice boost in performance with 8 GB of memory.

Student
BigG_UK
Posts: 1
Member Since: ‎04-13-2013
Message 9 of 10 (8,134 Views)

Re: Ram upgrade for HP G62

Hello,

 

Just wondering if you managed to get this working? I got some RAM with the same specs from Ebay here here

 

I have installed the RAM and although I have a 64bit OS installed it will only see 4gb, also in BIOS it will only see 4gb :smileysad:

 

 

Any advise?

Distinguished Professor
anthony82
Posts: 2,800
Member Since: ‎02-19-2013
Message 10 of 10 (8,078 Views)

Re: Ram upgrade for HP G62

Hello BigG_UK,

 

You want to know about upgraded memory on your computer.

 

What is the model and product number on your computer?

You can find the information by hold the FN key and pressing the ESC key.

 

Please respond at your earlier convenience.

 

Clicking the White Kudos star on the left is a way to say Thanks!

 

Let me know how everything goes.

Have a good day.

† The opinions expressed above are the personal opinions of the authors, not of HP. By using this site, you accept the Terms of Use and Rules of Participation