can i upgrade my presario cq 57 processor? (9255 Views)
Reply
Honor Student
Kiryeen
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎11-25-2011
Message 1 of 12 (9,255 Views)

can i upgrade my presario cq 57 processor?

I have a Compaq Presario CQ 57 notebook and it has an AMD C-50 processor wtih 1 GHz speed and i was wondering if i could upgrade it to a 2.1 GHz processor from AMD?

Distinguished Professor
kamatr
Posts: 2,527
Registered: ‎07-21-2010
Message 2 of 12 (9,251 Views)

Re: can i upgrade my presario cq 57 processor?

Could you please post complete product/model number of your Notebook? You can use link below to find this info
http://h10025.www1.hp.com/ewfrf/wc/document?tmp_renderType=findModel&cc=us&dlc=&docname=c00033108&lc...

//Click on Kudos and Accept as Solution if my reply was helpful and answered your question//

I am an HP employee!!
Honor Student
Kiryeen
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎11-25-2011
Message 3 of 12 (9,247 Views)

Re: can i upgrade my presario cq 57 processor?

Its Presario CQ 57 Notebook PC serial number 4CZ1202HNY product number LW437UA#ABA

Distinguished Professor
kamatr
Posts: 2,527
Registered: ‎07-21-2010
Message 4 of 12 (9,165 Views)

Re: can i upgrade my presario cq 57 processor?

Refer Service Manual for list of  Processor upgrades

http://h10032.www1.hp.com/ctg/Manual/c02786367.pdf

//Click on Kudos and Accept as Solution if my reply was helpful and answered your question//

I am an HP employee!!
Honor Student
Kiryeen
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎11-25-2011
Message 5 of 12 (9,130 Views)

Re: can i upgrade my presario cq 57 processor?

I refered to the manual and it only said inel processors now I have a AMD processor and I didn't see a list could I put an intel processor in?
Student
jclovis3
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎11-30-2011
Message 6 of 12 (9,042 Views)

Re: can i upgrade my presario cq 57 processor?

I also have the LW437UA (or my son does) and would like to upgrade it from the AMD C-50 processor (1.0 GHz) to something a lot faster. Is there a compatable upgrade? Like the other guy said, the support material at http://h10032.www1.hp.com/ctg/Manual/c02786367.pdf only supports notebooks with an Intel processor. 

Provost
Paul_Tikkanen
Posts: 35,631
Registered: ‎07-13-2010
Message 7 of 12 (9,035 Views)

Re: can i upgrade my presario cq 57 processor?

Hi:

 

Unfortunately, these service manuals are not always 100% correct for each model.

 

The problem is they don't even have the processor you have in yours listed, so I am uncertain if you can upgrade to one of the 2 listed in the manual.

 

The do show support for AMD processors if you look at the first 2 listed.

 

AMD® E350 1.60-GHz processor

(dual core, 18-W)

 

AMD E240 1.50-GHz processor

(single core, 18-W)

 

Paul

Honor Student
Kiryeen
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎11-25-2011
Message 8 of 12 (9,031 Views)

Re: can i upgrade my presario cq 57 processor?

So im taking it there isn't a 2 GHz processor I can upgrade to
Provost
Paul_Tikkanen
Posts: 35,631
Registered: ‎07-13-2010
Message 9 of 12 (9,023 Views)

Re: can i upgrade my presario cq 57 processor?

Hi:

 

It doesn't look like it, but I can't say for sure.

 

Paul

Distinguished Professor
kamatr
Posts: 2,527
Registered: ‎07-21-2010
Message 10 of 12 (8,997 Views)

Re: can i upgrade my presario cq 57 processor?

 HP officially provides and supports the following AMD E-series processors in CQ57 Series (AMD option)

 

  • E350 (1.6 GHz, 18 W)—Dual core 
  • E240 (1.5 GHz, 18 W)—Single core

 

//Click on Kudos and Accept as Solution if my reply was helpful and answered your question//

I am an HP employee!!
† The opinions expressed above are the personal opinions of the authors, not of HP. By using this site, you accept the Terms of Use and Rules of Participation